We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayside Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayside Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 126: English reviews
Start your review of Bayside Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Chichester, West Sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a lovely time at Bayside, we didn't want to leave! We were given such a warm welcome by Janine (who I might add also cooks a lovely breakfast!) Our room was lovely, comfortable and spacious with all the facilities you would expect in a 5 star hotel - I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay Q
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first weekend in Port Elizabeth and we stayed in the Bayside. First impressions were of an aesthetically pleasing guesthouse. When we arrived (early) Janine greeted us very warmly and showed us to our room and explained the layout of the guesthouse. The guesthouse is well appointed, with a swimming pool and our little room was in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May04
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hosts have been very helpful. It was our first day in South Africa and they made the first day perfect. The rooms are nice and lovely furnished. Breakfast exactly what you need. Highly recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boris v
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Boris, Thank you very much for your sweet review. We are so happy to hear that, thanks to us, you had a great first day in South Africa :-) It was a pleasure meeting you both and having you as our guests. We hope you had a wonderful time in SA and are planning another visit soon. All the...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 5 days in Bayside Guesthouse in Summerstrand Port Elisabeth and enjoyed every single day. Very friendly and helpful "Ladies" and of course Max and Caessey . Great place for daytrips to Sardinia Bay and Jeffreys Bay and of course Addo Elephant Park. Great for us: next to a superb golfcourse Humewood. The breakfast is fantastic and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ConnieLee17
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We really loved having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit. We hope the weather is improving a bit now that spring has begun. Warm regards, Janine

Cape Town
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I travel to PE on a monthly basis and have stayed in 6 different B&B's in Summerstrand. Having found and stayed at Bayside on two occasions now, I will continue to use them in the future, should they have accommodation available. The facility is well designed, neat, beautifully appointed and spotless. The owners and staff are accommodating, friendly and on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phardside
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for the lovely review! We've enjoyed having you as much as you enjoy staying here and look forward to your monthly visits. You've only gotten to try 2 of our rooms, you still have 5 to go, but we'll get there. Stay well until your next visit. Janine, Stephanie and the Bayside staff.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Bayside. Friendly people and lovely rooms in a beautiful setting. The breakfast was scrumptious and the extras really reasonably priced. When I am PE again I will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marietjie7889
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi you two, Thank you for the great review! You forgot to mention the 4-legged companion that was so in love with you, we're sure he'd be just as glad as us, to see you both again. Thank you also for the lovely morning chit-chats, we look forward to more of them in future. Kind regards, Janine, Stephanie and all...

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, and enjoyed every minute of it. Stephanie made us feel so welcome and gave us lots of great tips upon arrival. Breakfasts were gourmet and delicious, the best we've had in Africa! Rooms were super comfy and clean. It was nice having our own little mini kitchen. Their location is close to restaurants, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittykattt
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for your amazing review! It is always nice to hear that we have happy guests who enjoyed their time with us :-) We absolutely loved having you both and wish you could have stayed longer. Please come back soon... Stephanie & the Bayside Team

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Needing a B&B for and overnight stay prior to moving on to a game park, I was fortunate enough to be able to book this wonderful oasis in a very upmarket area of Port Elizabeth near to the beach and shops. We had a very nice room for our family of four, with separate rooms within the same accommodation. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Anthony, It was such a privilege to be part of your family holiday, and thank you for the lovely review. We hope that the rest of your holiday was memorable and that it will be a holiday to remember for years to come. Max was certainly spoiled with love and affection, the poor pup has his heart broken every...

UK
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stephanie and Cliford were very welcoming, the accommodation was excellent - clean, modern, comfortable and safe. Breakfast was super with any choice individually cooked when ordered. The area was wonderful and the beach and services were close by and Cliford is a paramedic!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rainsford
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. We hope you had a fantastic time on the rest of your trip to SA and that you have started planning for your next adventure. Clifford was only too happy to help...he (thankfully)...

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely guesthouse, lovely people. The best choice in PE. Quiet place near to the beach. Breakfasts are amazing. I told them that I cannot eat dairy products and they buy for me milk and butter without lactouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ismael M
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Ismael, Thank you for your very sweet and kind words. We absolutely loved having you as our guests and the purchase of the lactose free items was only a pleasure. We are glad we could make your long work stay wore enjoyable. We hope you have recovered from your heath issues and planning your next trip to PE soon....

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.4 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
322 reviews
0.3 km away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
168 reviews
0.4 km away
Singa Lodge
Singa Lodge
#5 of 13 in Summerstrand
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the upmarket beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, Bayside Guesthouse offers 4 star comfort 400 metres from the popular Pollock Beach with easy access to the Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment complex, and the airport only 6 kilometres away. Various styles of rooms offer a choice of privacy, family and limited self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayside Guesthouse

Address: 6 Tiran Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: ₹ 4,431 - ₹ 6,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Bayside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayside Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles May04, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think we had room 4 or 2 - fine”
 of 5 bubbles borisv368, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“some rooms go to the pool, some are in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnieLee17, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles phardside, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have their own outside area.”
 of 5 bubbles Rainsford, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5