We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mansfield Center
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 October 2016

My goal was to find one chair, bed, or couch that was comfortable to sit in or lay on. Unfortunately I was unable to complete my quest. It appears the furniture was chosen for aesthetic value instead of comfort. An entire house of uncomfortable furniture is quite a feat, I am impressed! I was so impressed that it ran through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A P
Mia M, Owner/Inkeeper at The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you weren't able to find any comfort during your stay with us. Since our re-opening in August, I continually search for pieces that are comfortable and also reflect the history of the home - not always an easy task. A suggestion specifying the type of chair you prefer or location for the addition of a...

Westchester County, New York
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We were one of the first people to stay at the Fitch House after its re-launch this summer. My husband and I were driving down from Boston to go back home to New York and decided to enjoy a summer day/night in Connecticut's "quiet corner." Mia responded to our spur of the moment telephone call with great enthusiasm. She recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GayleB10533
Hampstead, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The Fitch House is an outstanding place to stay. Mia and Glenn are two of the nicest people you could meet, and they make their guests feel very comfortable. The house is beautiful, offering a nice alternative to the usual hotel experience. It is also very peaceful and quiet in the house and the surrounding area, ensuring a good night's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikewkf8
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We rented two bedrooms for the weekend of our daughters wedding. We planned to have the wedding party prepare there and the newly married couple spend their wedding night there. Three days before the outdoor wedding was to take place at our home, we realized the weather was not going to cooperate. We frantically looked for another venue to host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurieMcMorrow
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Our experience at the Fitch House was just fabulous. It could not have been better. We were bicyclist traveling through the area with a need for a place to stay. Mia was wonderful! She made us feel special from the start. She offered us a safe place to store our bikes, which was extremely important to us, prepared gluten free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dstlaurent5
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewed 21 May 2012

After reading the reviews here, we booked the Fitch room for a May weekend. This B&B is a polished jewel encased in charm and history. The place was very clean, the bed comfortable & the breakfast superb with fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, juice, coffee & range of teas from Earl Gray to raspberry or mint served in a bright sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank widmerww
Denville, NJ
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Fitch House Is without doubt a rarity among B&B's It is an historic jewel of a house dating from 1836 with later additions. The house is filled with period furnishings and many interesting pieces. The rooms themselves (2, 3 with family) are extremely comfortable and make for an intimate stay. The hosts, Kay and Tony are a delight splitting...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Logistics
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2011

A lovely historic house with spacious bedrooms, a very comfortable 4-poster in the Golding room, with an unusual period bathroom which we loved. The hosts were welcoming and generous. After a long drive we would have preferred an opportunity to freshen up and refreshments before a tour of the house, of which they were obviously proud, and with good reason....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David343
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 October 2011

While visiting UCONN and needing only one night, I decided to try a B&B instead of the Best Western or the Nathan Hale Inn. I discovered the Fitch House and have to say why didn't I try this before!! This place is simply outstanding. The "bang for the buck" is probably the best I have had in a long time....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank HK87
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I decided a little to late to book accommodation for our trip to visit the Brimfield Antique Fair in Mass. and was forced to look a little further afield but this was worth it. At night, the drive was about 40 to 45 min. This elegant, historic home is full of charm and interest with it's hospitable hosts, Kay and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Torontolyn

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield Center
5.8 km away
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
26.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Storrs
BEST WESTERN Storrs
#1 of 1 in Mansfield Center
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Passport Inn & Suites Chaplin
25.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elegant 1836 Greek Revival mansion, located in Storrs near the University of Connecticut, noted for its antique charm with modern amenities: queen beds, private or shared bath, A/C, free wireless internet access and breakfast each morning. Beautiful common rooms and outside patio where guests can relax if they're not out hiking on local trails. Other attractions include: Eastern Connecticut State University, Mansfield Hollow State Park, Mansfield Drive-In Theater, UConn Dairy Bar, antiques shops, museums, live theaters, golf, wineries and great restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 563 Storrs Rd, Mansfield Center, Mansfield, CT 06250-1224
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Mansfield Center
Price Range: ₹ 8,379 - ₹ 9,720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fitch House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with an AC and private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles dstlaurent5, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“As the rooms are few in number, book early.”
 of 5 bubbles Logistics, 15 Nov 2011 | Read review
“The Golding Room has a private bathroom. The Fitch Room shares a bathroom with another.”
 of 5 bubbles HK87, 1 Oct 2011 | Read review
3 of 3