We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spruce Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spruce Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spruce Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 23 July 2016

When we arrived about 90 minutes before the 3:00 check-in time, the office door was locked, so I called the on-site owner to ask her for a very small favor that only took about 3 minutes away from what she was doing. She made no bones about the fact that she was very annoyed by my request. Not good customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goodeye67
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Your simple request that only took 3 minutes of my time could have cost us our restaurant license FOREVER. No, I can NOT put that bottle of breast milk in our restaurant refrigerator. I will not. If the health inspector saw that we would be shut down on the spot. You would not take no for an answer so I...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

They are Nice people. The room was Definitely clean. It was A little dated but worth the money we paid . Our TV never worked but they did try to get it repaired. Breakfast not as good as advertised but adequate. Colorado is beautiful. We had a good time camping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernita S
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Berinta, Thanks for letting us know about the TV. We purchased another one the next day and all is well. We ARE overwhelmed. Summer is very difficult and most people are not very understanding of that. Please come see us in the Fall when things slow down. We'll buy you breakfast and have time to sit down and chat....

Salida, Colorado
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Charming setting and cool old rustic Lodge. We stayed in the Galbraith upstairs in the main Lodge. Staff was friendly and helpful. The stairs going up resonated with some major creaking and groaning. Upstairs hallway floor also very creaky and sway backed from the years. The floor in the room was also old and unlevel due to the age of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don G
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Don, Thanks for your review. It was nice having you here for a few days. We also like the creaky old floors and historic feel of the Lodge. It took a lot of thinking and planning to get modern renovated bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs into an old building without changing the feel of the place. There are only a...

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I pulled in late to the lodge last night. Not only was Dee great on the phone, when we called, but Marie was awesome at check in. She even dropped by to make sure we had items to make sure our family stay was comfortable. The rustic charm was just what we needed to relax for another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twstr18
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your very nice review. It was nice having you all here. Breakfast at the Lodge IS amazing if one takes the time to enjoy it. Please come see us again!

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit. The first visit was marred by a health scare, but the stay was just as good! We love the cabin we have been assigned. They have made updates to the furniture and bedding. There is a box fan in the room which I love just for the white noise! It is very reasonably priced, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TIna D
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for coming back! It's always nice to see a friendly, familiar face. Come see us in September, we'll have a chance to sit down and chat. Have a wonderful day!

Owasso, Oklahoma
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Recently my family (and sister's family) stayed here for two nights, each in our own rooms. The second night we went to give the kids baths and saw the tubs were thick with scum and grime in both rooms. We weren't expecting anything fancy. Just wanted some place clean and with indoor plumbing. My brother in law went to let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Consalvi2
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Every guest is given the owner's personal cell phone number at check in with specific instructions to call 24 hours a day if they need ANYTHING. You stayed 3 nights in two rooms with four kids and complained about dirty bathtubs at checkout. There were ample opportunities for you to tell us the bathrooms were unsatisfactory including each morning during...

Seminole, Texas
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with this place, for 98 dollars a night, we had a huge dead bug on the floor, the vinyl floor was sticky, the room didn't smell good, there were no drinking cups, the cabinets were nasty, we had to share shampoo with the neighbors, because they were out at the office , NOT a good experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

I'll bet most Trip Advisor folks don't realize that there are people who travel like this on purpose. They book rooms, stay for several days and then complain at checkout about something we can't prove happened or didn't happen. I can't prove there wasn't a dead bug on the floor when they checked in, it's a cabin in the mountains...

Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 2 June 2016

When we pulled up the kids were not impressed. But once Tuesday, the dog greeter arrived life at the lodge got better :-) we checked in late but the concierge service was happy to see us and very accommodating! We got to our room which was huge, super cozy and inviting! There was a refrigerator, microwave, box fan, and super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cbratten
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Tuesday, our yellow Lab is a wonderful greeter. Occasionally, if you are lucky, you will be greeted by a chicken, a cat, or even a bear! Our rooms are neat. A lot of people don't like them, but we do! We are glad you get our style. Please come see us again!

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Not knowing the Alamosa area, we needed to find lodging somewhere around Alamosa and landed on the much better-priced town of South Fork -- a beautiful location a half-hour from Creede. We were given a two-queen room with really nice European-style comforters (a micro and fridge were useful too). There was a staffer subbing for the owners so we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OregonDayhiker
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The location is great, if what youre looking for is remote, which we didn't mind. Just wanted a quiet, relaxing weekend, and thats what we got. The size of the cabin was great, and they were uniquely decorated. The one we stayed in had a "western" and "golf" theme, but was really cute. The negatives about it weren't too bad,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbo827

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
1.7 km away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
241 reviews
2.2 km away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in South Fork
142 reviews
2.4 km away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 15 in South Fork
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
2.6 km away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
0.4 km away
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
#8 of 15 in South Fork
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Price Range: ₹ 4,188 - ₹ 7,788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spruce Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't skip breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 954savannahs, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fall and Spring are the slower times. It's packed in summer and winter. FALL IS SPECTACULAR! 48 hour cancellation. RV parking.”
  • GOLDEN autumn leaves and quaint view across the road.
  • My cat met one of the local chickens when we checked in
  • Two crisp white beds for just me and the cat. Warm cabin feeling,
  • My room with cat looking for me. Two chairs, small porch and Grill for general use.
 of 5 bubbles iamdjstar, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one on the end to avoid noisy neighbors”
 of 5 bubbles OregonDayhiker, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“The Lodge is good for couples, but families might want to stay in the other buildings or cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles LL_Jimbo, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I would come back!”
 of 5 bubbles 767maryn, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5