Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites

Traveller (213)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 resorts in Crested Butte
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Horseback riding
Ski school
Skiing
Archery offsite
Board games / puzzles
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
809Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 351
  • 258
  • 91
  • 52
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nancy D wrote a review Oct 2020
Avon, Colorado82 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Grand Hotel is located at the base of the ski mountain in close proximity to the lifts. We visited the area in September for a one nights stay. The Grand was adhering to strict Covid rules, ie: social distancing, hand sanitizers, etc. We were traveling with our dog, so were assigned to a room designated for pets. The room was very clean and roomy, with a living room area that included a galley kitchen, tale, couch and chairs. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful! We will definitely stay at the Grand again in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmazingTravelConcier wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York32 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at the Grand Lodge! The king bedroom suites are awesome because the bedroom is separate and allows for privacy from the living and kitchen area. Its also so nice to have 2 TVs! The walk to the ski lifts is 3 minutes and there is a free ski check next to the ski lift so no schlepping. There is a handy convenience store next to the Grand Lodge where we bought eggs, bread, bananas and wine so we could do some meal prep in the room in the kitchen (stove top, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, but no oven). The pool and hot tub are awesome and very warm. When we went before 2pm we had it all to ourselves.

The shuttle to town is right in front and runs every 15 minutes. I don’t think there is any other slopeside property at a Vail resort with peak room rates under $300/night. This may be the best deal in Colorado! We paid double this rate for a horrible room in Telluride last week. Cannot wait to return to Crested Butte and will always stay at the Grand Lodge
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beth V wrote a review Feb 2022
Baltimore, Maryland9 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just got back from a 4 night stay on the 3rd floor of Grand Lodge. The location is excellent: 1 minute walk to slopes, 1 minute walk to free bus that stops at Clarks grocery, restaurants and town. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had no problem storing skis on the first floor. The hot tub was perfect, and everyone enjoyed it so much. The cleaning staff was always available for extra towels, etc. Having 2 TVs and a well stocked kitchenette in the room was so great. The upscale coffee shop and ski rental is also a block away. A small grocery store with great deli sandwiches and alcohol is across the street. We will definitely be back and stay at the Grand Lodge again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan S wrote a review Sept 2021
Dillon, Colorado11 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I admit I am a hotel snob so I do not tend to leave reviews but I felt I had to on this one. We had an absolutely lackluster stay at the Grand Lodge.

The good:
Hotel was reasonably clean on the surface
Location is great
Parking was easy
Pool looked nice – although we didn’t use it
Room did have a HVAC unit which helped drown out a little of the noise from the hallway by having a fan running the whole time

The bad:
Noise from the hallways was probably the worst I have ever had in a hotel. Maybe it is that we were unlucky on location of the room but when I asked to move the front desk attendant was not helpful. If you stay here and get assigned anything in the 105-110 room # range just straight up find another hotel. The doors are basically hollow and don’t go all the way to the ground which is a huge problem right next to the elevator, pool, spa, and staff / laundry space. It was basically as if people were in our room all the time and anybody even talking lightly returning at night echoed through our room.

The staff just didn’t seem to care. Our television didn’t work in our room. They admittedly sent maintenance pretty quickly but after being told they were going to get tools, we got a call 10 minutes later that TV was out in the whole building. This is 100% false. Walking past other rooms, they clearly had televisions on! Just absolute laziness from the staff. And, as previously mentioned, when asking for a new room they were borderline rude in the way they talked to us; no apologies, just a “you booked a dog friendly room so that’s all there is”. Lastly on the staff care, I don’t really care on masking policies of a hotel during COVID and follow whichever rules they tell us. But when you do have a mask policy when one of your front desk staff literally has theirs around their chin 100% of times you see them, it again just shows a lack of caring.

The shower didn’t drain properly. Ankle deep water in the tub during the shower. And also the shower curtains are actually too small for the height they are hung from, making it very hard to keep water in the shower.

Overall quality of accommodation seemed lacking- the bed didn’t have a dust ruffle or anything, just mattress with sheets on top of bare box springs (note different from the photos on website)

A very lackluster experience. Maybe most of it can be blamed on getting unlucky with the room assignment but I will not roll the dice on this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott P wrote a review Oct 2020
Denver, Colorado29 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't usually write bad reviews but this place was unusually terrible. First, they were out of the room we booked so they downgraded us to one half the size. They still charged us for the more expensive room defying logic and they wouldn't budge or refund and we had pre paid. I'm working with my credit card on that. The wifi wasn't fast enough to watch a YouTube video let alone do work, our thermostat didn't work as in it didn't turn on, and the toilet chain had to be fixed after every other flush. The staff made clear they don't enter rooms due to covid, and while that makes sense, there is no excuse for a room being in such bad shape. The one time I actually did try and call down the building fire alarm went off and we had to wait outside for an hour with the other guest. The walls are also paper thin and the humidifier had mold growing in it.

They also charge expensive hidden fees like a resort fee. Don't stay here. It's not worth it on any level.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites
Responded 5 Oct 2020
579scottp, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Grand Lodge in Crested Butte. I apologize that your experience failed to meet your expectations. I apologize that you were downgraded and the staff would not adjust your rate. I also apologize that the wifi was slow - the HOAs are working to upgrade the wifi before winter season. We have not been out of any unit types, and we certainly would have adjusted your rate to the unit type you were placed in were there an emergency that prevented us from placing you in the unit type you booked. Please contact me at the front desk so I can address this. I apologize that the fire alarm went off during your visit. This was entirely outside of our control. We worked to allow guests to access the building as soon as it was safe. We hope you will reconsider your opinion of the Grand Lodge. Best regards, Heather Leonard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scorenielsen wrote a review Jan 2022
Windsor, Colorado2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I visited Mount Crested Butte for our first time over the MLK holiday weekend. I booked a room at the Grand Lodge via a recommendation from Epic Pass. In three words I can describe our experience, we loved it. Our room was located on the 5th floor facing the mountain and was bathed in glorious sunshine each day. The room was a King Suite with more than enough room for all our ski equipment and gear. Located just off the elevator, we were able to conveniently come and go. We decided to keep our skis and poles in our vehicle in the parking lot to avoid any lines in the morning for checked skis. It was safe and convenient. After you get the lay of the land at the Grand, you'll realize just how lucky you are to be so close to the mountain. My final thoughts conclude with be careful which reviews you rely on in making your lodging decisions. Our trip was great. We had hot water showers, functional cable TV, and helpful staff. I hope this review eases some anxiety over the prominent negative reviews posted after mine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Grand Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the many wonderful features of our property. We hope you return to stay with us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark C wrote a review Jan 2020
9 contributions23 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to a cancelled flight, I wasn’t able to make the first night of my booking. The hotel staff were less than helpful in refunding me for that night as I had purchased the travel insurance. They either don’t know what they’re doing or they just don’t care.
The door to the rooms that we had were difficult to access. The key cards would work but the doors would stick as though they were locked from the inside. WTF?
I wanted to book a massage with their on-site spa as they offer services 365 days of the year but when I called the number listed I was prompted to leave my info for a call back. The call back never came. Disappointing.
Also, one of my friends left a bottle of wine in the refrigerator when we changed rooms. When she went back to get it, it was gone. She asked the staff at the front desk to track it down and they did nothing for her. The little things go a long way. Don’t think I’ll stay at this hotel again. Next time, I will book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GLGeneralManager, General Manager at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites
Responded 26 Feb 2020
W5533MTmarkc, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Grand Lodge on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry that we were not prepared to be able to direct you to the appropriate person to address your travel insurance claim. We do care. We don't handle travel insurance payouts. However, we should have bene able to direct you to someone who could address your questions. Please let me know if you need assistance with this. We are in the process of upgrading and replacing all locks in the building. This project is overdue. We hoped to have completed it prior to ski season but were delayed for various reasons. We will be completing this project prior to the start of summer season, and this will resolve door lock issues. Thank you for letting us know that the spa did not return your call. We will be passing this feedback on to them so that this does not continue to happen. I'm so sorry that the front desk team did not offer to replace the wine left in your original room. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of any additional assistance. Best regards, Heather Leonard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue H wrote a review Oct 2020
Denver, Colorado1,494 contribution392 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Grand Lodge for one week in late September/early October 2020 (during Covid). Frankly I was appalled at the condition of the room. I've attached a couple of pictures so you can see what I mean. The shower curtain was revolting - moldy and full of rust stains and the seal around the bathtub had lots of mold. The furniture reminded me of 1960's era "seen better days" castoffs. I stayed in what they call a condo with a kitchenette. The microwave worked fine as did the mini fridge. But there was only one burner and it took forever to heat. The bed was too soft and the baseboard heater made clicking noises all night. The towels were a highlight though. They were thick and fluffy.

Customer service was sluggish and unhelpful for the most part. When I checked in I was 30 minutes early and they said the room I reserved was managed by a different company, and since there was no coordination between the hotel staff and whoever manages this room I couldn't check in early, nor could I ask the front desk for anything. (None of this was known to me when I made the reservation.) I did need an extra blanket (the room was uncomfortably cold and there was no spare blanket in the room) as well as bar soap (only one small sliver was provided for a week), and it took 3 phone calls and 12 hours to obtain those items. The young guy that delivered these items was very cheerful so my interaction with him was as good as customer service ever got.

The entry to the double doors into the lobby are slanted and very uneven and this made it quite frustrating to load my personal belongings on a cart and get that cart up to the room. There is also a fireplace in the lodge and I asked them to turn it on - they promised they would but never did. The internet was slow and kept cutting out, especially on the weekend.

The location in Mt Crested Butte was great. Just up the road is Gothic road with lots of hiking, mountain biking, and 4WD opportunities. But with all of the choices in Crested Butte I can't help but think you can do better than the Grand Lodge. I certainly won't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
denny w wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of three stayed in unit# 451. It is a corner room with plenty of space and offers more windows with great views. Hopefully when we make it back there we can get the same unit, highly reccomend!!! The hotel itself is in a great location with easy acces to slopes (basically a 3-4 minute walk in ski boots. There is ski/board storage at base of mountain (free of charge) so you do not have to carry them back with you. Shuttle service to downtown area right outside of lodge. Hot tub, gift shop, coffee shop, free parking. The staff could not have been more helpful or professional, from storing some ski equipment for us that arrived before we did to extra coffee, linens etc. Overall I give it 5+ stars!!!! Will definetly be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerry O wrote a review Aug 2022
Denver, Colorado2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all Crested Butte is a lovely town and perfect for biking and hiking.

1) Vail only manages the facility and does not own the individual units. This is important because the owners are responsible for capital funding for room improvements. We found this out because we were traveling and needed a pet friendly room. Only the 1st and 2nd floors are pet friendly. Room 275 faces the maintenance and garbage area.

Room 271 was where we moved to on day 2. Better view and a little nicer room.

2) apparently there was water damage and many rooms were damaged which is why we had a wait till the next day to changes rooms.

3) I overheard the workers doing the repairs of the damaged rooms while I was waiting to get my new room. ******* They we’re talking about reusing mattresses that were damaged by the water leak*******.

4) Finally, everything that is being built in crested butte is expensive. The owners of this property are cheap and personally it hurts Vale reputations. Use VRBO or Airbnb. The owners at least pictures.

In the summer, restaurants have limited days of operations. Wednesday through Sunday are the best days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jrmlcow asked a question Jul 2021
Grand Rapids, Michigan1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do they have air conditioning?
JimmyMSY asked a question Oct 2018
New Orleans, Louisiana23 contributions11 helpful votes
Some rooms say they have a fireplace. What type of fireplace is it? Wood burning? Gas?
Answer from Kris O
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States41 contributions32 helpful votes
I believe gas, but I never turned it on because we were there in July.
Show all answers
KKay87 asked a question Sept 2018
Des Moines, Iowa60 contributions15 helpful votes
Is the pool open year round?
Answer from skiboyer
Englewood, Colorado6 contributions
Yes, the pool is open year round!
Show all answers
David R asked a question Sept 2017
Denver, Colorado11 contributions10 helpful votes
Do you accept pets? We are traveling with a dog.
Answer from A C
Colorado Springs, Colorado32 contributions10 helpful votes
They do accept pets. Just talk to the front desk.
Show all answers
Answer from Cheryl S
São Miguel, Portugal32 contributions3 helpful votes
There is onsite parking. When you check in, they will give you a parking pass to place in your vehicle. No resort fee.
Show all answers
Jay S wrote a tip 12 Feb
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Let's start with the most horrendous: No HOT WATER to shower! Why? Well, according to the Grand Lodge...We only have 1 boiler..."
Read full review
Jason D wrote a tip Dec 2023
Denver, Colorado3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Careful what you book, you might not get it. "
Read full review
Rhonda Z wrote a tip Sept 2023
6 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid Summer- No AC- It was 94 degrees in our room."
Read full review
Skicrazy wrote a tip Aug 2023
Boston, Massachusetts7 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No air conditioning, you will have to ask for extra pillows, bed is very soft (too soft). "
Read full review
mesarider wrote a tip Aug 2023
8 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT get a pool side room due to a bus stop every 20 minutes minutes. VERY LOUD"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crested Butte area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,684 - ₹24,374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand lodge crested butte hotel crested butte, grand hotel crested butte, grand resort crested butte
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoCrested Butte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
226
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND LODGE CRESTED BUTTE HOTEL & SUITES - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Crested Butte Mountain Resort (0.2 km), Gothic (6.7 km), and Crested Butte Nordic Center (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Secret Stash, Camp 4 Coffee, and Teocalli Tamale.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.