We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Donner Lake Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Donner Lake Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is such that the "resort" ( which needs to be dropped from its sign until they overhaul it!), would be paid back in spades if they bit the bullet and spent the money and time to start over. I personally would refer to it as a 2-star motel, but the location and view bumps it up to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusanWPetaluma
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

the lake its no so big, good for smimming and phising. its perfect in july, also the beach its very crowdy. you can rent small boat or you can do watersports. or just lying on the beach bad enjoy the mountain sun

Helpful?
Thank ciprisam
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

There are pro's and cons to Donner Lake Village Resort. Pro's: right on the lake. Watersports equipment rental on site. Comfortable room. Small private beach. Close to Truckee. Con's: outdated rooms and fixtures. $114 per night for room over looking parking lot. Coffee maker leaked all over. Towel rack fell off of wall. Overall...I liked the place. Staff was nice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, thank you for highlighting our beach, great location and easy access to watersport rentals. I was very sorry to hear about your towel rack falling and the coffee mishap. I hope that you notified the front desk so they could send someone to fix things while you were still with us. We hope you return to see us... More 

San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

No, not the adult diapers! Everything about your time at this place depends on a few things. We've stayed here 4 times this past year and in general it's a pleasant experience. It doesn't reach a good or bad extreme. The first "depends" consideration is the room. Every room here is actually a privately owned condo. So every owner decorates... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duke363
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Dear Duke, thank you for your comments about the unique and scenic location at Donner Lake Village. You are correct that the lake view rooms are the best, however as you noted, even if your room is not a lakeview, there is easy access to the lake from any room on the property. I did want to let you know... More 

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We have been staying at these condo's off and on for the last 15 years and the location is really special and breath taking at times. This visit was a last minute overnight stay and BEFORE we exited our car the manager was telling us we couldn't park there if we weren't staying there...We indicated to the Manager that we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nvlandguy
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your long-term loyalty to Donner Lake Village. I was sorry to read about your recent encounter and would love to speak to you directly about it. Please contact me at dant@gpeak.com . Again, we are very sorry about your experience and are working hard to make important improvements at Donner Lake Village. Sincerely, Dan Tester More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We came here last year and stayed in a Lodgette room which was not what we expected, we were very disappointed. This year we booked a room in an updated studio closer to the lake (away from highway noise) and we had a great time! It came with a kitchen, balcony, comfy bed and places for 2 girls to sleep.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TimandSamC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here since the early 90's and always enjoyed our time here. In May, I reserved our lakefront place and requested the ground floor because of an ankle tendinitis. Their cancellation policy is refund if done 7 days prior to arrival. We arrived at 4 pm to discover that there we would be on the second floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Srbellee
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Dear Srbellee, Thank you for your comments about your follow up. We were very sorry we could not move your room as others had already checked into the hotel. We were concerned and sorry when we read your online comments I am pleased we were able to discuss your stay personally. Sincerely, Dan Tester More 

Travellers are raving about these Truckee hotels

Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Donner Lake Village. The location is amazing, right on the water and next to water sport rentals. The little market down the road is amazing! Our unit (143) was clean and well equipped and being able to walk out the sliding door to the water was terrific. Kid friendly!

Helpful?
1 Thank shollandnapkin
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Donner Lake Village. Summer along the shores of Donner Lake is pretty epic, and we’re glad you got a slice of it while staying in Unit 143! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Dan Tester More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

My husband and I have stayed here fairly regularly for about 30 years - first as newlyweds, then with our young children and now with grandchildren. The location is beautiful! It's nice to be right on the lake and not have to pay the public beach fee. Views of the lake are awesome. It is also easy to get to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rkimberlie
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your seasoned years of staying at Donner Lake Village – wow, 30 wonderful years! We’re happy we continue to meet your vacation needs in the Truckee-Tahoe area. We appreciate your perspective as Donner Lake Village offers serene lodging at a great value, especially as we work to upgrade various amenities and unit accommodations. Please come again... More 

1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2016

My wife, son and I had a great stay at the Donner Lake Village. The location was stunning with a beautiful view across the lake directly from our room and balcony. We found Lake Donner more interesting and accessible than the much larger and more commercial Lake Tahoe. The property had a water sports rental facility in the grounds where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick D
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Donner Lake Village – we too think it’s a gem tucked away from the bustle of Lake Tahoe. We’re pleased Donner Lake Watersports & Marina met all your watersports rental needs. We hope you had a chance to see Donner at dawn when the lake is glassy (a must-do!). We also appreciate your... More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
15.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,461 reviews
15.1 km away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
6.5 km away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 14 in Truckee
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Price Range: ₹ 6,498 - ₹ 18,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donner Lake Village 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Donner Lake Village staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Donner Lake Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to get a Lake-View room.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanWPetaluma, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The water front rooms are the way to go. Ours was downstairs and we had no issues.”
 of 5 bubbles shollandnapkin, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lake view rooms are great.”
  • View from room.
 of 5 bubbles T2701DGnickd, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles cowboy45Muldrow_OK, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“best fireworks, great location, marina onsite, motor sports rental.”
 of 5 bubbles aliesem, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay