We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
222 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6701
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$144
View deal
Expedia.com
$126
View deal
Trip.com
$124
View deal
Travelocity$126
Priceline$162
Hotels.com$126
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (1)

About

#11 of 29 hotels in South San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Hotel V – A boutique hotel located in San Francisco near SFO international airport. Our rooms offer a relaxing and fun stay to guests who are visiting San Francisco for business or leisure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
63Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
715Reviews2Q+A83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 196
  • 222
  • 153
  • 62
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vicky N wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Clarion choice hotel in Nashville was a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and comfortable along with great service. Justin the bartender at the hotel bar was entertainment all by himself. He made us laugh every time we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear Vicky, We're so happy to hear that our amazing accommodations impressed you at Hotel V, as well as our attentive service. Please come back and see us again in the future.
Read more
Jarko2015 wrote a review Oct 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1748 contributions3136 helpful votes
The Hotel V is a very basic airport motel, sandwiched in between Highway 101 and the very busy airport road leading into SFO. Both are very noisy roads, with heavy traffic 24/7. Yet... this property's rates and policy is to charge and describe the motel as a 'resort'. For which, they charge 'resort' fees. It's a clever way of appearing to be the cheapest option in the area, adding in all the 'resort' fees at check-in. It's not illegal and since it's pointed out when you book - even through a third party - that the charges will be added - it's not an outright deception; but is it honest? Is it legitimate? You decide! The basic nature of the property is apparent as soon as you arrive. Sitting next to a gas station, the rooms are on two floors, with no elevator. There is parking, but that's an extra cost, too. There is a small lobby for check-in, but it's only operational at certain times and there is nowhere to store luggage at all. The staff will show you a printed list of what comes with your two extra fees - one is for the 'resort' and one is for 'service' - but you won't actually get many of these things even after you pay up. For my stay, the hotel is not providing daily housekeeping, despite the daily service fee on top of the room rate. If you want clean towels, if you want your room cleaned, if you want to empty the trash, it's all down to you to arrange and you have to give 24 hours notice. As of September/October 2021, the hotel has run out of soap and only has limited supplies of toilet paper and a very cheap, almost useless shampoo. So much for the service charge. A hotel that can't provide soap or toilet paper is pretty much not a hotel. As part of your 'resort' fee, there's a coffee maker, a microwave and a fridge, but getting coffee is tricky as there's no service. Despite the 'service' fee. It's all pretty dishonest frankly and yet the staff will not budge on the charges, You pay them when you check-in and don't even waste your breath asking or debating about what you didn't get for your money. There will be no discussion and certainly no refund. The rooms are basic and shabby. Torn and worn linens, but basically clean. Battered old wooden furniture. A small table and a couple of wooden chairs with dirty cushions. There is good WIFI, I didn't use the TV, so I don't know what's on offer, and place for your clothes. There's a battered ironing board and an old iron. No safe. No real security as the lock bolt was very loose. Noise is a major issue. Apart from all the traffic, the low rates seem to attract the worst kind of selfish, noisy guests who couldn't care less. Despite the non smoking rule, there is an almost continuous odour of marijuana being smoked outside the rooms. Bathrooms are tatty and need a make over. Peeling bath tubs, old, worn towels. Relatively clean, when you can get fresh towels of course. No soap. Cheap, useless shampoo that isn't replenished. Cracked and broken toilets and sink, but good hot water pressure. You get what you pay for. The room rate itself is the lowest in the area, but once you've added in all the bogus fees, you're paying the same price as all the competition. More in some cases. It may be legal, it may not be strictly dishonest but it sure as hell is misleading. Resorts come with a pool, a bar, a cafe, a restaurant, amenities. You won't find anything like that at Hotel V. Just a basic, noisy room. Make sure to bring your own toileteries including soap.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There is no such thing as a quiet room and there is no elevator to the upper floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 5 Oct 2021
Thank you for offering feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. Cleanliness is an aspect our guests can expect to find when they visit with us and we're glad we met your expectations. We are sorry you were disappointed with many features of your stay. Guest comments are important to us and we will use yours as we are continually working to improve our accommodations and service. Kind regards and safe travels.
Read more
Annadine B wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
It was not bad for the price. The water pressure in the shower was great! The room was clean and smelled fresh. The front desk let us check in early and out late with no additional charge. We will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Dear Annadine, Thank you for allowing us to host you and for providing feedback regarding your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed our seamless check-in and check-out process and hope you had a restful stay. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Sham-nanigans wrote a review Feb 2021
Fairfield, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
Very clean...Our remote didn’t work for our tv...and we were given the option...to move into a room with a better tv... on the 1st floor... Quick check in process...Easy parking... Not crowded... will return again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Dear Sham-Nanigans, An incredible stay often starts with a seamless check-in, and we're thrilled to hear that this was the case for you! We're also glad that we could accommodate you with an alternate room after the issues you encountered. Your thoughts will be kept in mind as we continue to improve, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit us at Hotel V.
Read more
Jennifer F wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Overall, I had a good experience. However, I don't like feeling mislead, and calling this a boutique hotel is definitely misleading. It is a roadside motel, plain and simple. Earplugs were thoughtfully supplied given that it is surrounded by well-trafficked roads.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Jennifer, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Our team was saddened to learn your visit didn't fully meet your expectations, and we apologize for any inconvenience from outside noise. Your feedback helps us to continually improve, and we would be delighted to deliver an even better experience should your travels bring you back our way.
Read more
Phil wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Hotel V rooms are all accessible by car on the ground floor. They are a little dark so you need to use the lights internally. They are great for an overnight having just arrived at the airport or if you only need a room. Dennys is around the corner and there are other fast food options. There is also a bus outside. For the price it is fine but I would not want to spend a lot of time in the room or in the area. Hence basic and functional
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Phil, Thank you for joining us in your travels. We're glad that you liked our great rates and convenient location. We hope to deliver a much better stay for you in the future.
Read more
raytg89 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Has everything you need for a relaxing stay. The rooms are well kept, the bed comfortable, the staff are very helpful and is Walking distance to so many dining options. Simply put .. Low cost, but excellent service, location and accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear Ray, What a great review to read, thank you! It's always a privilege to hear when our guests have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. We're delighted that you appreciated our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our convenient location. It's also good to now that you found our rates affordable. From all of us at Hotel V, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Sandra B wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I would not recommend this place. Pictures are deceiving. Terrible customer service. Too 1/2 hour to check in at 12 am because of shift change. Man argued with woman after she said she would complete the transaction and then leave. He would not let her finish. We were told we would be getting an upgraded room. The desk chair was ripped all over and should be in the garbage. I would consider this place a "NOTELLMOTEL"
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear Sandra, Our front desk team does everything in their power to check-in our valued guests as smoothly and efficiently as possible. However, we are sorry that this was not the case for you. Please know that we will investigate this further and act promptly. Know that your concerns regarding the aspects of your room will be kept top-of-mind to ensure we uphold our commitment of providing a refreshing experience to our valued guests. It would be a privilege to welcome you back and turn your experience around. We hope you give us another shot and safe travels.
Read more
MaryArthur wrote a review Feb 2020
Portola, California2 contributions6 helpful votes
Once I got the directions correct, there was no problem!! Friendly and helpful staff! Patient with unexpected delays! Clean, comfortable rooms!! Really good water pressure with lots of hot water!!! A hotel I stayed at last year ran out of hot water since a lot of guests were vendors trying to get ready for work! A great bargain for the area!! Almost $40 less expensive than the surrounding hotels. Wonderful online or in person booking services. I did use both with absolutely no problems I am definitely staying there again!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Mary, We love being commended for our cozy rooms and top-notch service. Thank you for choosing Hotel V during your time in San Francisco, and we're excited for your next stay!
Read more
Sue B wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom35 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed at Hotel V before flight back to uk. Reasonable price and we happy with room which was clean and warm with HUGE TV.Felt like our own little studio, not big corporate hotel room. Receptionist helpful and hotel close to a few places to eat dinner/breakfast (Hoollihans, Wendys, IHOP). Also good shuttle service to airport. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel V
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Sue, With all the hotel options in the area, we're honored you decided to stay with us at Hotel V. We will be sure to pass along your kind compliments to our attentive staff. Should your travels return you to the area, we hope to provide you with a stay you'll love even more.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson express hotel south san francisco, howard johnson hotel express, south san francisco howard johnson, howard johnson south san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSouth San Francisco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel V
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel V?
Nearby attractions include K1 Speed San Francisco (1.0 km), rissetto / 49 Square Miles Outlet Store (1.0 km), and The Wine Vault (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel V?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and shuttle bus service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel V?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hotel V?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel V?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buon Gusto Ristorante, Sodini's Bertolucci's, and Di Napoli Pizzeria & Ristorante.
Does Hotel V have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel V offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel V have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel V offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel V?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mission Dolores (13.0 km), Painted Ladies (14.3 km), and Grateful Dead House (13.8 km).
Is Hotel V accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.