We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express across the July 4th weekend days. When we got there just after check in time our room wasn't ready but they said it should be in 20 minutes and once we returned it was ready. We had a standard King room, and it was basically what you'd hope from a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlutzky
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear jlutzky, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang.

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We usually stay at the Pea Soup Anderson's Inn in Buellton, but it was booked up so we tried this Holiday Inn Express instead. Like Pea Soup Anderson's, this motel is not inexpensive but a good price for the Solvang area. We were pleasantly surprised by this motel. It was surprisingly quiet, had plenty of underground parking and was located...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom F
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Tom F, Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We hope to accommodate you again when you return to the area in the future.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Booked a room during Memorial Day weekend, and of course was prepared to pay the inflated rate. Had a great day tasting, and returned via cab at 10:30pm quite intoxicated. Walking in the door, the young girl at the front desk immediately admonsihed us to be quiet, and we replied that we were just trying to go to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sam F
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Saminam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We usually always stay at a HEI on our "drive" trips, but this one was not a good experience. Check in was fast, no problem but while walking into the other building where our room was located we noticed a smell. We just looked at each other & continued to our room. When we walked into our room it was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bijou69
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Bijou69, Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Nevada
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I've been going to Solvang for 35 years. I've stayed at most of the hotels over the years and found this hotel a great value for money. The check-in process was both easy and quick. All the staff I encountered were pleasant and friendly. Plenty of underground parking in both buildings. This stay was in the east building, third floor....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CaptainHollywood
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear CaptainHollywood, Thank you very much for your outstanding review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear you chose our hotel to stay in to visit Solvang in 35 years. I will share your review with our hotel staff and we look forward to book your next visit! Thank you,

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Very pleasantly surprised - lovely room - very clean - lots of room amenities - perfect place to stay in Solvang - easy walk all over town - very pretty view of landscape from third floor room - lots of free parking - nice choice of breakfast foods - one of the freebies - would definitely return - oh, there's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana H
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Diana H, We appreciate you writing such a postive review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and the comfortable lovely room you stayed in. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed a night over UCSB's graduation weekend. It was a reasonably short drive to UCSB as everything was sold out. The buildings are built into the side of a hill on a slop. The parking is below the rooms, there is a driveway down to the parking and an elevator that takes you upto the appropriate floor. You may...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SharkeyMilo
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear SharkeyMilo, Thank you for leaving us such a great review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your free upgrade to one of our spacious loft rooms overlooking the Hans Christian Andersen Park. We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Rye, NY
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Beautiful - that's what we said when we entered our room and looked through the balcony door to the mountain view. The room was quite large with lots of storage and comfortable seating. Solvang is small, so the property is within walking distance of everything. The design allows the hotel to blend into the countryside, and the interior is beautiful;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jj435Rye
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear jj435Rye, Thank you so much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel to the fullest including our large rooms equipped with balconies overlooking the Hans Christian Anderson Park, our lovely fireplace in the lobby as well as our helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to welcome...

Philadelphia, PA
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you've ever stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, you'll know what to expect here. And, overall, I would say this is a slightly-above average Holiday Inn. The place is attractive to look at (they have some faux Danish architecture outside), and my room was large and in good shape. The hotel is somewhat unusually laid out, but it's no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave's_reviews
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Dave's reviews, Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that we could meet your expectations. We are proud of our larger than usual rooms and are glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and we are looking forward...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last year. It is clean, has plenty of parking, and it is close to the center of town. Parking is free and they offer free Wi-Fi. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Some general maintenance needs to be done but over all it is more than adequate. The breakfast was more than I expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Joe T, Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
696 reviews
0.3 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
230 reviews
0.3 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
195 reviews
0.1 km away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range: ₹ 7,851 - ₹ 16,785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Solvang staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Solvang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the back are away from street and have a view of many trees.”
 of 5 bubbles Daphne1229, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the valley instead of the road”
 of 5 bubbles cali-golfer, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Might be better facing front of hotel and higher floor in main building”
 of 5 bubbles 395JulieH, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a balcony on the second floor, but the view was blocked by trees. Suggest you ask for a balcony on the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Azorean58, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pay more and get a better room. You get what you pay for in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dawng155, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay