We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 238: English reviews
ENOCH
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank coreybybee
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 30 June 2016

When booking, we had requested a first floor room due to a medical issue. When we arrived, we were assigned a second floor room. After much discussion, we were reluctantly (on the part of the desk person) given a 1st floor room. However, the room was so small that there was no place to even put a suitcase and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard A
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Dear Bernard, Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with flawless service and product delivery. Our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. We were very distressed to learn of your impression of the hotel. As a guest, you...

Arizona
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petlover86322
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Van Nuys, California
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y1276RObarbarap
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Apple Valley, California
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Some cosmetics were missing when I left. Everything else was good! Would visit again if going back to the area. Thanks!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bettyp742
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Glad you had a wonderful stay with us. We are also delighted to hear that you'll be staying with us again in the future. We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnjR6080HT
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Stockton, California
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The place is a bit older. We did not have any problems. The room was clean. Location was nice. It's a short drive to Monterey, Carmel, 17-mi drive or to the beaches. Breakfast was not so great. I've been to other Howard Johnsons where there was hot breakfast. This place had muffins, cereal, toast, and waffles. Coffee was not that...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank basilrosie1
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We're happy your stay with us was pleasant from location to hotel room. Our great location puts guests right in the area they want to be, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed that benefit. We're looking forward to your next stay with us!

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

The check in was easy and the staff is very helpful. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. I was travelling with my sister and as another traveler said, there are men with their doors open smoking and yelling comments at us which is vey uncomfortable. We did not feel safe as two women travelling along. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belovetravel13
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

While we are glad that room was spacious and comfortable and staff very helpful, we are disappointed to hear that you felt uncomfortable because of other guests staying in the hotel. Please accept our apologies. We ask guests to respect one another and keep the noise level to low. If asked, we'd happy to intervene to ensure you have a...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The other reviews aren't great, so I want to say that we had a perfectly pleasant stay for three for $75. We arrived in the evening and left early morning. The room was clean, the TV fine, the beds comfortable. The breakfast was very basic but fine for our needs - I'd recommend if you like having any protein at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Discerning_travel_10
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your feedback. We aim to provide quality stay for our guests at a great price so we are glad we achieved our goal during your visit. From your room to breakfast it was our pleasure to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. We hope you had a...

Monterey, California, United States
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Dirty, old tattered carpet, uncomfortable beds, no fridge or microwave, noisy, and I felt basically unsafe with all of the men standing outside their open door rooms smoking and drinking. Paid for three nights and only stayed one because I did not feel safe. Woke up first night with eyes almost swollen shut from whatever debris was in the room...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tami I
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not have a good stay at our hotel. We aim to provide clean, safe and comfortable stay for our guests. We hope you mentioned this to our Front Desk team as we gladly would have switched you rooms. We are a safe family hotel, we have many family and travelers stay with us with...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 km away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
230 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 55 in Monterey
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Price Range: ₹ 3,651 - ₹ 30,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the sweet rooms are really nice”
 of 5 bubbles saitejamst, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I am not sure there ARE any good rooms here.”
  • We had 2 towels for a room that sleeps 5. Both were stained. Gross.
  • Flooring is coming apart and you can see the mold around the door. Not to mention the dirt.
  • Smoke detector just hanging
  • Just some of the filth in the bathroom
  • More mold in the bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 91brem, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bring earplugs and look down as you walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 499garye, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in the back - did not hear a lot of noise, except when we first arrived - there was a couple arguing up on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles RMPCW, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The noise from upstairs was kinda loud, you may want a downstairs room if this bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles busymom3too, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5