We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cal Mar Hotel Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
London, GB
Level Contributor
223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The Cal Mar is in a great location, being an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in Santa Monica, and isn’t too far to the beach either. As we were on an 18 day trip we had lots of luggage and we loved how big the suite is – plenty of space to hang clothes up and lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janie M
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We know that we are dated but truly try to give you a very clean room. We also have just decided on a carpet for the upstairs with a special padding to help guests below not to hear footsteps. We do hope that you will stay with us again and see the improvements.... More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Imagine a 1950’s motel with rooms on 3 sides overlooking a pool. That’s what came to mind as we made our way to our room after checking in. Pros: Location is good. Not just a room, it’s an apartment (kitchen, dining area, living room with pull out sofa, bedroom, and bathroom). Cons: Very outdated. Lack of counter/cabinet space in bathroom,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are outdated and we know it. We have improved the towels and linens, new flat screen tv's and now the bed covers. We do have plans for the bathrooms to be made some bit larger with basins that have counter space. We do hope to see you again! Regards, Douglas Newton More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cal Mar for the weekend and loved it. It's a short walk to the beach and to the Promanade. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. The suite is nice, but a little old. Ours still had carpet and othwe aread show ed a ltitle wear and tear. But there is a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate C
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Good big room with bathroom & kitchen/dining, but noisy - poor sound insulation. Suites laid out around a central courtyard & pool, a la Melrose Place. No meals, no safe, no elevator. Minimal staff & service. 4 blocks to Santa Monica Boulevard, 6+ blocks to Santa Monica Pier & 1 block to the 3rd Street Promenade.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey5063
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey, We thank you for your comments, We have minimal staff on after 8pm but please let us know what times you felt we needed more we are only a 36 suite hotel. We are ordering safes to be added to our room so on your next visit I hope you will see a change. Again thank you for... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We only stayed in the Cal Mar for 2 nights and this was our biggest regret. We had a great time in Santa Monica and wished we had booked to stay for a bit longer. It was great staying at the Cal Mar as our room was self-catering which enabled us to save a bit of money by cooking our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Faye H
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We do thank you for your kind words and for letting us know where we need to make changes. We hope that you can come back and stay longer. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed for two days. Its more like apartments not hotel rooms. Very spacious. Friendly staff. But THE most important thing about this property - location! Perfect location! Two blocks from the beach and two blocks from the shopping. Safe neighborhood. Lots of restaurants around. Older but clean and in good condition.

Helpful?
Thank lana2302
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us we appreciate your kind comments More 

dublin ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed for three nights. This hotel is a real throwback to the 70s so dont expect swipe door locks super air conditioned rooms. No blackout curtains and paper thin walls and ceiling. While we enjoyed our stay we did not enjoy the rip off car park fee of $34 a day for outside parking and $10 a day WiFi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank joeandterriroche
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we do try to make your stay enjoyable. Our prices are comparable with the other hotels in the downtown Santa Monica area and most hotels do charge for parking and our rates are lower that others. I will forward your comments to the ownership. More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Hi just left the calmar on our way to San Fran stayed for 5 nights sept 1 until 6 sept , great budget hotel yes it is dated as a 50s style motel and yes it is , but what you get is a very very clean room and a lovely pool ,all the staff worked very hard and always... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidQ3761XN
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We do strive to make you stay with us an enjoyable one. We appreciate your comments. More 

Northallerton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly, I have rated this as 'terrible' purely because the hotel billed me twice for my stay. This shouldn't happen or be allowed to happen, and I see from other reviewers that it has happened before. Be very careful if you pay by credit card or debit card at this hotel. I stayed for two nights and paid using a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We never bill twice but when I looked at your account I see that it was an authorization and not a charge, the + $20.00 in the authorization is always for any incidentals that might incur such as phone calls or wifi. I am pleased that the staff jumped on any mistake and corrected it. More 

Travellers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stay a king suite room, has kitchen including refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our room has nice size of a balcony, just like one bed room apartment!! Grate location on the quiet street. Clean room. I has everything I wanted. The front desk was very nice. I will definitely stay here when I come back Santa Monica!

Helpful?
Thank mayE76ZF
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. More 

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (70)
Viewed
King Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
470 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
854 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: ₹ 11,995 - ₹ 18,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cal Mar Hotel Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Cal Mar Hotel Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms backing onto California Avenue or 3rd Street”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkshire_lad_MOT, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept 205, 206, 207 or the rooms above on the next level - VERY NOISY at 06.00am”
 of 5 bubbles verluisant, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a street side room.”
 of 5 bubbles MsMot615, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the apartment on the first floor. It was big and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lana2302, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pool view and 2nd or 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles davidQ3761XN, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay