We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,080 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 803: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean, conveniently located , well designed guest rooms. The beds and pillows were incredibly comfortable and the housekeeping was excellent Will definitely stay here on my next trip to Los Angeles! The breakfast next door at IHOP was good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanyc2014
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations. We appreciate you posting your review and mentioning all the qualities that make the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel such a great value for the destination. We look forward to you staying with us again when you return to the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed for one night and got little sleep. Room on 3rd floor on SM Blvd, surrounded by medical bldgs., so the ambulance sirens rang early and often. Worst event was when neighbors checked in at 4am, banging doors. loud voices, loud TV, phone ringing--walls are paper thin so you hear everything. Really regretted paying over $200 for no rest or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank birthdaygirl1105
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Your business is very important to us and we value your comments. I’m sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed during your stay. Regarding the location, we are located mid-city, conveniently located one block from St. John's Hospital. Like in other downtown locations, sirens, traffic and other activities may be heard on occasion by...

United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location for families and vising Venice beach and Santa Monica area .Mostly stood in room for sleeping but hotel was nice .Beds were a little bit to firm for my taste but that's just a personal preference. Overall good trip and stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J9882ZNrobertc
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hello J9882ZNrobertc, Thank you choosing the Best Western Plus Gateway hotel for your recent visit. Our team is so happy that you had an enjoyable time exploring our coastal community, Santa Monica and Venice Beach. It is wonderful feedback that our location served as the perfect base for your trip and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Port Hueneme, CA, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent proximity to UCLA Santa Monica medical hospitals and doctors. Clean rooms and very nice staff. No additional fees for parking. Only 30 minutes away from UCLA and their main campus and medical facilities in Westwood, CA

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldbJ5438KS
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel for your travel needs. Our close proximity to the UCLA Medical Center makes us a great choice if you are coming to the area for medical services. We are so delighted that you had a pleasant stay and thank you for complimenting our wonderful staff. Our sincere...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed stay. The Rooms can be noisy from all the ambulances! Rooms are nice- the hallways well kept up...Bed was on the softer side for those who like soft beds... The staff was friendly and polite. Overall good...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I3839NCmikef
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience was and that you enjoyed your stay in our charming beach city, Santa Monica! We are located mid city and on occasion traffic and other activities may be overhead. All guest rooms facing Santa Monica Boulevard and 20th Street have double pane windows to reduce...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is fairly old however has been renovated. Room was clean and big enough, bathroom was tiny. Bus stop right out the front was great to quickly bus in to Santa Monica beach. Staff were helpful with booking day trips on our behalf. All in all a no frills hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srjohnno
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your review. I’m glad that you were able to spend time experiencing our beach city by bus and that our friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff provided you with great customer service! We always appreciate knowing when our team is recognized for a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again during...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice centrally located hotel. There is free parking available below the hotel. The staff is great! The rooms are simple and clean, with both a mini fridge and a safe. The bathroom is pretty big. The best thing about this hotel is the bed! I have slept on countless hotel/motel beds; this bed is by far one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RadicalBMXers
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hello RadicalBMXers, Thank you ever so much for your five bubble review! We were thrilled that your stay with us was so comfortable and that you enjoyed a restful sleep on our pillow top mattress! We appreciate knowing that our bed is equal to one of the best in the world! Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending our...

Porterville, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a night to arrive at the UCLA medical center for an early appointment. The receptionist was very friendly and helpfull. The room was spacious, reasonably clean and the bed was comfortable. Although the room faced the street, the noise was quite acceptable and we got a good night sleep. At check-in we received a 10% discount coupon for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yosefg733
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we share it with all of our staff. Our team was happy to read that you enjoyed your guest room accommodations. We appreciate your patronage of our IHOP restaurant; breakfast is not included in our rates because we have a full-service (including room service) IHOP Restaurant on site. Best Western only requires hotels without full-service...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came to the hotel and asked for a high floor room. The gave me a room on the 4th floor facing the street. When opening the window the nets were dirty and all the pollution from the street got into the room. I moved to a quieter room on the 3rd floor. Thinking that I can rest peacefully. Wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yaron E
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear. Mr. Yaron E., Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We have never had a complaint before for pollution coming into the room from the street or a complaint about strong chemical vapors in the room. We only use Proctor & Gamble products to clean our...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good clean room the price is OK to a little on the high side , as this is an expensive area we were willing to pay a rate that seems expensive for this type of hotel.they gave free internet and parking which is a plus the bus or tram is quite close if you want to get to the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orman G

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (145)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (34)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,031 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,616 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
555 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury Shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: ₹ 16,113 - ₹ 23,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room as far away from the street as possible”
 of 5 bubbles birthdaygirl1105, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room near elevator or vending/ice machine.”
 of 5 bubbles Andrewsk8s, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing street are quiet, so probably any room will be comfortable and restful.”
 of 5 bubbles CBarNyc, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, non-smoking, away from the corner unit”
 of 5 bubbles wolveriana, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 404 was fine close too exit door”
 of 5 bubbles 703renev, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay