We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean View Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 421: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean View Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was beautiful, the view was PRICELESS, and the staff was AMAZING from the front desk to housekeeping! I honestly can't say enough about our experience! Joy and Liz were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended cool places for us to visit (YOU GIRLS ROCK!!) The ladies in housekeeping were very friendly and asked us every day if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie F
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie F, Thank you for your lovely review! I am very excited to share your wonderful comments with Joy & Cesar. We love to hear our staff went above and beyond to ensure you had a great experience while staying with us. We thank you once again for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon....

Perth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you can sleep through noise then this is the place for you being on main artery. Exceptional location close to mall with Santa Monica pier across the road. Parking available. Plenty of food options nearby. Clean and cosy bit pricey for ocean view room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karan C
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karan C, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent visit at our hotel. It's wonderful to hear you were able to enjoy the variety of dinning and shopping options in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay by the beach! Best Regards, Elizabeth Navarro Guest Services Supervisor

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very well located on Ocean Av. at a walking distance from all the attractions, restaurants, shoping and beach. The rooms are clean. Parking was easy and staff very helpful specially Joy at the reception. Downside, No restaurant or breakfast at the hotel but that didn't bother us as there are a lot of Breakfast choices around. 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georges D
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georges D, It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest! I will let Joy know her helpful service did not go unnoticed. Please don't hesitate to reach out to the hotel directly to ensure your future accomodations. We look forward to hearing from you! Best Regards, Elizabeth Navarro Guest Services Supervisor

Chatham, NJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent value proposition in a market that has an abundance of options - expensive and good, expensive and bad - have stayed in many iterations of both, and probably cheap and awful. This was quite inexpensive for area and delivered a thoroughly satisfactory experience considering the price paid. Santa Monica is often my LA choice of location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MBKNJ
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MBKNJ, Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We appreciate all of the comments in detail made and would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next business trip! Best Regards, Elizabeth Navarro Guest Services Supervisor

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is great. The front desk service is really bad and the reservation process is terrible. I was charge twice for the same stay. Never sent the bill by email as promised. Its a pity that such a good location, ocean from has a hotel with such a bad service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdelcampo123
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jdelcampo123, Allow me to apologize on behalf of the entire staff if the service provided was not up to your expectations. We understand service plays a significant role in the overall guest experience and we are truly disappointed that we didn't deliver to our fullest potential. If you have any additional questions or concerns please don't hesitate to reach...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there for a girls trip and was a little unsure about the hotel because it didn't have a lot of amenities. But it far exceeded expectations. The rooms were really nice, very clean although the beds are full size not queen. The staff was exceptional from front desk to housekeeping to bell hops- all fabulous. Location is great, super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniferM111111
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JenniferM111111, Thank you for your lovely review! We are beyond excited to learn we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Best Wishes, Elizabeth Navarro Guest Services Supervisor

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

GREAT location! Across from the beach, close to the promenade and restaurants! This chic hotel was very clean, the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful and the location. Great value for the money in this area! The beds were nice and fluffy. My only complaint was that our rooms looked over the parking lot and it got a little noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LivingLife500
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LivingLife500, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel! We look hearing positive feedback from our guests. Please don't hesitate to reach out to the hotel directly to ensure your future accommodations. We look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards, Elizabeth Navarro Guest Services Supervisor

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, DO NOT STAY HERE if you use and Android phone. Why? Because you will not be able to connect to the WIFI. Furthermore you will have to spend significant time on the phone with their Tech support. (In fact in order to connect my Apple IPAD...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meghan L
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meghan L, My sincerest apologies on your connectivity issues with the Wifi. Please be advised we are working to get this resolved as quickly as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience but would like to thank you for understanding. Best Regards, Elizabeth Navarro Guest Services Supervisor

Riverside, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We got the ocean view room with a balcony and the view/people watching was awesome. There staff was very helpful, especially the guys down in the valet...they even loaded up my car while we walked down the street for breakfast. The location is perfect, many restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Also very close to the 3rd St. Promenade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmalouf
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bmalouf, Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and beautiful views of the Santa Monica Beach. I will share your review with the valet team and thank them for their excellent and helpful service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer! Best Wishes, Elizabeth...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 22 February 2017

There were no drinking glasses in the room. No shampoo, no soap, Bathroom floor and shower had hair in/on it. Sand in the main room on the floor. Dont know if WiFi was included because no one gave us password. Parking was $39.00 a night but for the public it was $30.00. paid for a upgraded room but dont know...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rpb01
Elizabeth N, Guest Services Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rpb01, First I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As we pride ourselves in providing a positive and memorable guest experience, I am sorry to hear we failed to meet your expectations. If your future travels bring you back to the Santa Monica area please don't hesitate to reach out to me...

403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (254)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Other (134)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,679 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,158 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
845 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: ₹ 20,795 - ₹ 29,922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Ocean View
Best Western Ocean View Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean View Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms over the parking lot can be noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles LivingLife500, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“splurge for the balcony!!!”
 of 5 bubbles bmalouf, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ocean view with balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles gino037, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose an ocean view room otherwise may as well choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles LondonTravel1, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have the same view, the trees obscure it. Ocean view rooms are noisy from the Main Street and bar downstairs also.”
 of 5 bubbles droods, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5