We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1515 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$410
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$405
View deal
Official Site
$407
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$405
Travelocity$405
Destinia.com$561
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1595)
Room & Suite (556)
Dining (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Shore Hotel
Updated 03/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 38 hotels in Santa Monica
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Set across Highway 1 from the beach, this contemporary hotel is opposite the Santa Monica Pier and 0.4 miles from 3rd Street Promenade's shops and restaurants. The modern rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, and private patios or balconies (some with ocean views). Suites with ocean, city or garden views add living areas and pull-out sofas. Amenities include a 24-hour gym, and a heated outdoor pool and hot tub. There's also a casual restaurant serving Mexican dishes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Farsi and 2 more
4639Reviews102Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,126
  • 966
  • 313
  • 125
  • 112
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vitaliy D wrote a review Today
1 contribution
The Shore Hotel is right near the heart of the action in Santa Monica. Few steps away, and you’ll find yourself on the beach or the boardwalk. Aside from the wonderful room, pool, and amenities, it was the staff and customer service that made our stay a great experience. Ramon was very friendly, polite, and professional. When we had any questions, he was helpful in getting us answers and resolutions. We would certainly recommend staying at the Shore Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wanderer64763974140 wrote a review Yesterday
17 contributions2 helpful votes
Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Rooms are spacious and clean. Poolbar with very friendly staff. Parking a bit expensive. We enjoyed a lot tonstay at the hotel. Good shopping possibilities close to the hotel and beach just across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Valet parking rather expensive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NY_Guy_Traveling wrote a review 13 Aug
Irvington, New York121 contributions87 helpful votes
This is a very nice hotel, but the main thing about it to discuss is the amazing location: The hotel is on Ocean Avenue, so if you look out the front door of the hotel, you are literally looking at the ocean. The hotel is a block from the pier and the beach. There are tons of restaurants and stores on the surrounding streets. This hotel's location is ideal for staying in Santa Monica. The hotel has two buildings connected by an indoor walkway. We were in the back building, so we overlooked 2nd Street rather than facing the beach, so it was a short walk to get from the room to the front of the hotel or the hotel's (valet) garage under the hotel. It was fine for us, but if you have mobility problems, you would want to stay in the main building. Our room had a private balcony, which was really nice. The room was super small, but nice. We stayed three nights. The room has a rustic style, so there are no rugs/carpeting. We didn't mind, but you should be aware of that. The bathroom fixtures were upscale and recently renovated. We were a little freaked out when we got to the room and saw that the shower had glass walls facing into the room, however there is a button-operated shade you can use to block the view from the room. The bed was solid, and the furnishings were nice. We paid $25 to have a refrigerator for the visit. The valet parking is expensive, and you have to pay more if you want to be able to go in and out (rather than just storing your car for your stay), so that has to be factored into plans. We didn't use the pool, but it looked beautiful. Same for the restaurant next to it. (With so many eating options in the area, we never ate at the hotel.) The front-desk staff were all very nice and very helpful. You text the valets when you want your car, and the car was usually ready when we got down there. Full disclosure: We found a huge discount online to stay here. Based on what we paid, even with the extras (refrigerator, parking, Internet), it was still definitely worth it for us. This is a nice (not super luxury, but nice) hotel in a fantastic location. If we would have had to have paid full price, the hotel would likely have been outside our travel budget. We would love to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are some rooms that face the ocean (I would guess they cost extra).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aghnis S wrote a review 12 Aug
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at the Shore Hotel for my dads 70th birthday, all staff including house keeping, front desk, Raul & bar, The kitchen staff (Daniel was our server)security and everyone else were very accommodating, provided exceptional customer service and went above and beyond to make our trip memorable. Thank you for your hospitality, we cannot wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesse Arrazabal, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Aghnis S, We were happy to have you with us recently and we are so happy you had a memorable experience! We hope you will think of us as your first choice in accommodations the next time you are in the area. Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Dana R wrote a review 12 Aug
1 contribution
What a great hotel for the last lag of our California vacation! All the staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Special thank you to Ramon who welcomed us on our arrival, greeted us daily and was very helpful with any questions we had about the hotel and the area! Huge thank you from your Canadian friends!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesse Arrazabal, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear danarX2295BU, We were happy to have you with us recently and we are so happy you had a memorable experience! We hope you will think of us as your first choice in accommodations the next time you are in the area. Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Stephane P wrote a review 12 Aug
Dubai, United Arab Emirates4 contributions
This hotel is centrally located and made our stay easy and practical. Everything in the room is good for practical use. They even provide water refills with the filtered water dispenser at the lobby. I liked the hotel also because it’s eco friendly. However , my idea of a hotel stay is that once you’ve paid the room fees ,that’s it. It was to my surprise to discover that we had to pay additional 25 dollars daily for parking our cars… in the underground hotel parking! This is ,in my opinion just a clever way to rip off the client. Parking in the premises should be a part of the fee we pay. Or will they soon charge us for the bed as well?|
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesse Arrazabal, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear stephanep859, We were happy to have you with us recently and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Amy M wrote a review 12 Aug
Dixon, California1 contribution
2022 was my second year in a row staying at the Shore. My girlfriends and I go once a year to Santa Monica and we've already got our room booked for 2023! The Hotel employees are so nice, their service is great all over the hotel and they're always there when you need them for anything. We LOVE staying at the Shore Hotel and will continue to do so every year for our annual girls trip! James, Socrates, Raul & Michael are top notch!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesse Arrazabal, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear J4068WZamyn, We were happy to have you with us recently and we are so happy you had a memorable experience! We hope you will think of us as your first choice in accommodations the next time you are in the area. Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Captain A wrote a review 11 Aug
Canada1 contribution
We drove down the PCH from San Fran and made a pit stop in Santa Monica. We booked the hotel before we left on our road trip. I was somewhat sceptical about staying at non branded hotels. My wife had read some great reviews about The shore Hotel, so we took a chance and booked a room. well, let me tell you how happy I was that I took that leap of faith. I highly recommend the Shore Hotel. They simply have everything you are looking for in a hotel. Simply put: the best bang for your buck. My conclusion is that I am starting to believe that all these branded hotel are overrated. And here is the proof!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Located in the heart of the action consider request a high floor, for the view and less noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesse Arrazabal, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear aMariVSQVEadMare, We were happy to have you with us recently and we are so happy you had a memorable experience! We hope you will think of us as your first choice in accommodations the next time you are in the area. Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Patrick Groeneveld wrote a review 11 Aug
Scheveningen, The Netherlands3 contributions3 helpful votes
We were staying at the ocean view hotel but the do not have breakfast so we went to the shore hotel. Thanks for the lovely food and the great service from James, cheff Edwin, Socrates, Jesus and Rafael
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hall, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear djtripack, We were happy to have you with us recently and we are so happy you had a memorable experience! We will ensure that James, Edwin, Socrates, Jesus and Rafael receive your accolades, they will be thrilled! We hope you will think of us as your first choice in accommodations the next time you are in the area. Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Deanna wrote a review 10 Aug
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Went to the shore hotel for a short trip and they never disappoint. The bar service is outstanding once again they never disappoint. Raul the bartender is wonderful. I have been going to the Shore Hotel for a few years now and Raul has been there each time. He is attentive which is important to me, he takes his job seriously and cares about his customers. Let me add that the drinks are outstanding. If you are ever in Santa Monica stop at the Shore Hotel for some great drinks and great food
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesse Arrazabal, Guest Services / Front Office at Shore Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 156deannap, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us while visiting Santa Monica! We hope your travels bring you this way again soon, and thank you for choosing us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$441 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta MonicaSanta Monica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shore Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Shore Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Santa Monica Pier (0.2 km), Santa Monica Bay (0.4 km), and Santa Monica State Beach (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shore Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Shore Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shore Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a poolside bar, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Shore Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shore Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa, True Food Kitchen, and Brunos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shore Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Shore Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Santa Monica.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shore Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Shore Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Shore Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.