We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf City Inn & Suites

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surf City Inn & Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Surf City Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Do not go to this hotel poor service, and they Lied and said they would accommodate me and when we came back it was an entirely different story I called when we arrived at 11:00am was told by them even gave my name explaining that I came week before and he stated no check in before 3:00pm we made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Jacqueline, We honor all reservations, but we cannot guarantee the room that you will be given. We are very sorry that you felt that you could not stay in a room upstairs, but since you chose not to accept the room that we offered you, there was very little that we could do. We are sorry if this process...

Rocklin, California
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever been to. When we parked, the hotel looked so gross that I decided to grab the Clorox wipes I had in the car to bring in just in case. So glad i did. The entire room was unsanitary AND had NO TOILET PAPER. Patched holes in the wall. A broken head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meganmw7
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, since your reservation was made through one of our booking partner, and not directly with us, there is nothing that we can do in relation to refunding you. I can assure you that we do not allow drugs nor prostitution on...

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Very loud and far too bright. Was unable to sleep at all. Continental breakfast was pathetic. Watered down, frozen o.j. , unmarked milk pitchers, mini cinnamon rolls, instant oatmeal, mini waffle maker, corn flakes or cheerios,, low quality wheat bread. Our room smelled dirty. Carpets horribly stained .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Howard, We are very disappointed to read your review. We serve a fresh breakfast every morning and the vast majority of our guests find it to be a satisfactory start to their day. We apologize if it was not to your liking. It's a shame that you didn't mention the fact that you weren't happy with your room during your...

United States
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Early check in fee $40.00 for two hours early! $30.00 per night for your dog!! They don't tell that up front!!!! WORST PART: We found a little baggie of drugs under the bed! We suspect meth, WHAT IF MY DOG FOUND IT FIRST!@!@!!@! Do you think they we pay the vet bills!!!! No trash cans or hangers in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Karen, We are very disappointed that you had such a bad impression of our hotel during your recent stay with us. We apologize sincerely for overlooking an item in your room, our team is usually very much on the ball, and it is unusual for them to miss something like this. As you mentioned, we have recently been renovating, and...

fawara
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Worst hotel ever!! Terrible Terrible customer service! Staff was incredibly rude and not helpful. Way over priced, room was appalling, sticky and disgusting! will never stay here again!! Manager was extremely rude, abrasive, very unfriendly. Not a welcoming environment, nor is it a relaxing accommodating environment. If you want a terrible stay, make sure you come here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfzsdfs
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are shocked to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us - this is not the type of feedback that we are accustomed to getting at all. We will review all of your comments in detail, and take any actions that we can to improve all of our guests' experiences. Thank you for choosing to stay with us,...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Want to say that my hubby and I not picky all but even for us this was too much to handled. Let me start with ONE AND ONLY good thing in this place. Indoor Heated poor and hot tub are so good but remember opens 10:00AM in the morning. Never seen pool open so late! Room - it was big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olga K
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Had an awesome stay! The room was super nice and clean and friendly staff. The pool area was clean too. It was walking distance to the Santa Cruz broad walk 👌🏼 Yes, I would be happy to come back and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

BAIT and SWITCH!!! TRIVAGO NEVER AGAIN will I use that! They use the same software as cheap hotels. Should have seen that as a red flag. After their hype about "this room has been booked twice today" or "only one room left" or "this is the cheapest price" I ended up getting a room for November 16 instead of October...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank extraordinarylife
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We needed a last-minute one night stay, this place was available. It did the job. Pros: ask for a suite upstairs. It's worth it for the privacy factor. The beds are comfortable. Otherwise the place is really basic. For a 2-star hotel, just expect clean and basic. Like the breakfast: just make some waffles and carry the stuff back to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tpham94
None, Italy
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Not a very nice place. We paid almost $300 a night for 2 nights. Our room was on bottom floor. Walls are very thin, so the upstairs family sounded like a herd of elephants half the night, you can hear every's tvs, and conversations. You can also hear everything from outside (and during our stay, some jerks were letting off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merrie B

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
153 reviews
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.1 km away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
188 reviews
0.1 km away
Torch Lite Inn
Torch Lite Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Family-focused budget motel close to famous Beach Boardwalk. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a ten-minute walk to the Pacific Ocean where sun-filled days and peaceful sunsets entertain visitors in this Northern California surf city. Surf City Inn & Suites focuses on the affordable family experience with a quiet policy after 10 p.M. An on-site indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and the skate park across the street are popular with guests of all ages. Enjoy an affordable stay that's close to the action of the Santa Cruz beach lifestyle. Highlights Indoor heated swimming pool and spa (seasonal) Free morning juice, coffee and pastries Walk to the beach, pier and Boardwalk in 10 minutes No noise policy after 10pm Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a two-story building with 63 basic motel rooms. Each room is equipped with necessities including a coffee-maker, hairdryer and satellite TV. Family suites have two bedrooms. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all units. Features Grab a newspaper, coffee, juice and pastries each morning in the lobby. Kick back while the kids swim in the indoor pool (heated seasonally). An on-site hot tub is heated and open year round. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is located in a suburban center with several restaurants in close proximity. Santa Cruz Skate Park is across the street. The bustling beachfront is just four blocks away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf City Inn & Suites

Address: 619 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5125 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: ₹ 5,056 - ₹ 24,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Cruz Riviera Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surf City Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any Miny Miney Moe”
JayB130, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Have a look first. Get a refurb.”
RuffTrade, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Take room 101 & 102 ..close to the pool”
Princesscali2013, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in the center of the hotel”
764matthewk, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a remodeled room. They are in the middle of renovating the property.”
jennreyy, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5