We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf City Inn & Suites

PricelineUS$ 112*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 122*
US$ 112*
US$ 122*
US$ 112*
US$ 122*
US$ 112*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Surf City Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Start your review of Surf City Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Fresno, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found the lay out of our room which turned out to be two rooms with two beds and an area with a desk microwave. The room appeared clean but needed some upkeep. The security lock on the door was broken but the desk clerk saw no problem. He said he was on duty most of the night and he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Lincoln, California
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We arrived later then we planned but they were very nice and professional. Very close to the board walk. Alot of places to eat near by. Place was quiet and clean. It suited for our needs. Enjoyed our stay. We will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuneBug1974
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in a sketchy part of Santa Cruz. No working A/C or heat. Crappy TV. Hotel charges $100 deposit, in addition to room rate to your card. On the plus side I had a large room with a King size bed and a sofa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OrangeDogg
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were somewhat disappointed with your stay with us, and that you did not love our location. When it come to the deposit, it is mandatory at check in, as it is in most hotels, but is totally refundable upon check out. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Best wishes, Hotel...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a clean place and lots of parking and lighting in parking lot only 10 min walk to the boardwalk and downtown about 14 min walk the room we got was the premium 2 queen beds its a decent place to stay for the low price compared to the other places... really wanted the beach view but maybe next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Diana, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are just delighted that we exceeded your expectations, and that you liked our property so much! We are pleased to see that our location is perfect for your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Do not go to this hotel poor service, and they Lied and said they would accommodate me and when we came back it was an entirely different story I called when we arrived at 11:00am was told by them even gave my name explaining that I came week before and he stated no check in before 3:00pm we made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Jacqueline, We honor all reservations, but we cannot guarantee the room that you will be given. We are very sorry that you felt that you could not stay in a room upstairs, but since you chose not to accept the room that we offered you, there was very little that we could do. We are sorry if this process...

Rocklin, California
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever been to. When we parked, the hotel looked so gross that I decided to grab the Clorox wipes I had in the car to bring in just in case. So glad i did. The entire room was unsanitary AND had NO TOILET PAPER. Patched holes in the wall. A broken head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meganmw7
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, since your reservation was made through one of our booking partner, and not directly with us, there is nothing that we can do in relation to refunding you. I can assure you that we do not allow drugs nor prostitution on...

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Very loud and far too bright. Was unable to sleep at all. Continental breakfast was pathetic. Watered down, frozen o.j. , unmarked milk pitchers, mini cinnamon rolls, instant oatmeal, mini waffle maker, corn flakes or cheerios,, low quality wheat bread. Our room smelled dirty. Carpets horribly stained .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Howard, We are very disappointed to read your review. We serve a fresh breakfast every morning and the vast majority of our guests find it to be a satisfactory start to their day. We apologize if it was not to your liking. It's a shame that you didn't mention the fact that you weren't happy with your room during your...

United States
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Early check in fee $40.00 for two hours early! $30.00 per night for your dog!! They don't tell that up front!!!! WORST PART: We found a little baggie of drugs under the bed! We suspect meth, WHAT IF MY DOG FOUND IT FIRST!@!@!!@! Do you think they we pay the vet bills!!!! No trash cans or hangers in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Karen, We are very disappointed that you had such a bad impression of our hotel during your recent stay with us. We apologize sincerely for overlooking an item in your room, our team is usually very much on the ball, and it is unusual for them to miss something like this. As you mentioned, we have recently been renovating, and...

fawara
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Worst hotel ever!! Terrible Terrible customer service! Staff was incredibly rude and not helpful. Way over priced, room was appalling, sticky and disgusting! will never stay here again!! Manager was extremely rude, abrasive, very unfriendly. Not a welcoming environment, nor is it a relaxing accommodating environment. If you want a terrible stay, make sure you come here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfzsdfs
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are shocked to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us - this is not the type of feedback that we are accustomed to getting at all. We will review all of your comments in detail, and take any actions that we can to improve all of our guests' experiences. Thank you for choosing to stay with us,...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Want to say that my hubby and I not picky all but even for us this was too much to handled. Let me start with ONE AND ONLY good thing in this place. Indoor Heated poor and hot tub are so good but remember opens 10:00AM in the morning. Never seen pool open so late! Room - it was big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olga K

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (25)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
154 reviews
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.1 km away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
192 reviews
0.1 km away
Torch Lite Inn
Torch Lite Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Family-focused budget motel close to famous Beach Boardwalk. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a ten-minute walk to the Pacific Ocean where sun-filled days and peaceful sunsets entertain visitors in this Northern California surf city. Surf City Inn & Suites focuses on the affordable family experience with a quiet policy after 10 p.M. An on-site indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and the skate park across the street are popular with guests of all ages. Enjoy an affordable stay that's close to the action of the Santa Cruz beach lifestyle. Highlights Indoor heated swimming pool and spa (seasonal) Free morning juice, coffee and pastries Walk to the beach, pier and Boardwalk in 10 minutes No noise policy after 10pm Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is a two-story building with 63 basic motel rooms. Each room is equipped with necessities including a coffee-maker, hairdryer and satellite TV. Family suites have two bedrooms. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all units. Features Grab a newspaper, coffee, juice and pastries each morning in the lobby. Kick back while the kids swim in the indoor pool (heated seasonally). An on-site hot tub is heated and open year round. Surf City Inn & Suites Santa Cruz is located in a suburban center with several restaurants in close proximity. Santa Cruz Skate Park is across the street. The bustling beachfront is just four blocks away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf City Inn & Suites

Address: 619 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5125 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: ₹ 5,379 - ₹ 18,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Surf City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Cruz Riviera Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Cruz
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surf City Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to take disinfection cleaner”
805karenl, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Any Miny Miney Moe”
JayB130, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Have a look first. Get a refurb.”
RuffTrade, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Take room 101 & 102 ..close to the pool”
Princesscali2013, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in the center of the hotel”
764matthewk, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 112* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 112
Booking.comUS$ 112
HotelsClickUS$ 122
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates