We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Booking.comUS$ 91*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
 Click to rate
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 99ants
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Gridley
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Unexpectedly we ended up here when our other hotel had problems with our reservations We were treated very well liked the breakfast room though selections never changed Parking is very limited across the street so no close spaces near your rooms Quiet clean and well maintained rooms Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rnprofessr
About Hotel's Favourite Review
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Well, we're very glad that you ended up staying with us! And it's great to hear that you'd stay again. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and that your trip wasn't spoiled by an error by another hotel. We look forward to having you back - hopefully we won't have to wait too long! Best wishes, Hotel...

Reno Nevada
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I was not expecting the room to be so tiny. There was hardly any room to move. The bedding was extremely worn and there was not enough bedding. Just a sheet and a thin blanket. I checked drawers and closets but couldn't find any and by that time it was late at night and I didn't want to wait. Just...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac4
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you felt that your room was a little chilly, and that you felt that it was too late to request additional blankets - we could have brought them to your room very quickly, and you would have been more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we do appreciate it. Best...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 470elizabeth_
Dallas
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X7700AFsandrak
Dublin, California
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The room was small, clean but very dated. Heater didn't work properly, froze all night. Blankets were like sheets, made my entire night miserable. I'm glad I was there for only a night. We were walking distance to the boardwalk. Had I stayed longer I would have asked for another room with a working heater and lots of blankets!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Hi Pam, It is such a pity that you did not ask us to change your room - we would have been delighted to do that for you. We are here to make our guests' stays as pleasant as possible, and we are desperately sorry that you were so uncomfortable, when it could have been sorted out so easily. Please...

California
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is an older hotel but it is easy walking distance to Boardwalk. The last time we stayed in July 2016 we found the room large enough for 4 adults. Clean and just what we needed for an overnight stay. The breakfast was plenty but hard to remember a year later. I do remember there being a lot of places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGD828
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Campbell, California
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Room #118 had newer, basic, amenities. Room was clean and fixtures in good repair. Bed was uncomfortable and some kind of machine droned on loudly all night. It was as loud as a generator on an RV next to you. We never got good sleep the first night. My wife fell on the walkway outside the room pretty hard the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameslK8920AB
Turlock, California
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brittnio2017
Las Vegas
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The hotel i thought would be of normal Howard Johnson standards The room smelled of mold and dirt. The Bathtub was peeling and I didn't even want to shower in it. The Lady at the reception desk was the most unfriendly person I have ever met. I checked in at about 10:30pm, and she made it seem like it was...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gini M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write your review. We can't tell you how disappointed we are that your stay with us wasn't as comfortable as you had hoped. We value and respect all our guests and we want all our guests to feel welcome, and we are sorry that a member of our team did not...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 km away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
298 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
360 reviews
0.2 km away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.1 km away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: ₹ 6,296 - ₹ 21,587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is an older beach hotel not the Ritz and walking distance to activities”
MGD828, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose any rooms, choose a different hotel!”
  • Steps up to our room, not great with loads of bags
ClaireB761, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view. There are 2 blocks - one has no view. 2nd only views upstairs.”
PeterC335, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“205 was good room, best view I think!”
Mperez4, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't get room 112”
Z1237VQnicolef, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 91* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 109
Expedia.comUS$ 92
Hotwire.comUS$ 92
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates