We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dream Inn

0.1 km from Santa Cruz centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dream Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Murrieta
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hubby and I came here for several days on vacation. Felt very welcome from our drive up. We stayed on the top floor and could see all over Santa Cruz Shore and parts of Monterey Bay. The room was very inviting, terrific bed and several choices of pillows. Each room has a balcony and patios for the 1st floor. 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Hello JulieD: Thank you for taking your time to tell the world of your experience. We are thrilled that we lived up to our namesake and certainly hope to see you again. We are truly lucky to have such a spectacular location. I do apologize that we didn't execute one of our greening practices with consistency and we will continue...

San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went here for a weekend stay and chose one of their nicest rooms. With the exception of RoomService/F&B Director and Lauren at Front Desk found service to be slow and unresponsive and seemingly, inexperienced. Requests for assistance went unanswered by guest relations, front desk, etc. This is a good choice for families -- kids are screaming in the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunew117
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sunew117: We hope all is well since you spent time with us and are stoked that you enjoyed your room. As you can see from most reviews; marginal service is not something we would expect from our team. We do understand the need for accuracy, efficiency, accountability, and friendliness when providing service to our guests and failing you on...

London
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Dream Inn is an old motel building that's been renovated and to be honest they've done a pretty decent job. They've given it a facelift and modernised the rooms. It's not the highest quality furniture but it's new and clean and modern. That said, it felt like they'd spent a lot more on the bathroom which was really nice....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gunner7
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gunner7: We hope your travels are finding you well and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We love that you noticed our history and the general retro style motor lodge roots. It really informed our designers on what to do with the rooms when we renovated in 2008. We hope to see you again soon and look...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Dream Inn for my 10 year old daughter's Girl Scout Troop's Mother/Daughter weekend. The kids and moms loved it! Great location, boutique decorated guest rooms, warm pool/hot tub, nice firepits, great staff. The kids loved that we could play on the beach, or swimming pool, walk over to Boardwalk to go on rides, have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suel3754
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suel: Thank you so much for taking your time to give us such a rave review. We love that you had such fun with the entire group and certainly hope to welcome you guys again soon. Kindly Aaron Z Wallace Front Office Manager

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I almost stayed at a top contender hotel in Santa Cruz on Trip Advisor and knew it wouldn't be as good as The Dream Inn, so I changed my reservations to The Dream Inn. Sooo glad I did! We were celebrating my husbands's bday, who's new hobby is paddle boarding, so I thought the Dream Inn was fantastic hotel, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia B
Katie M, Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Hello Patricia B: WOW!!!! What can I say but thank you? It is feedback like this that keeps us a top contender here in Santa Cruz. I have shared your review with the team and, needless to say, we are jumping for joy at how much you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon so we can keep the...

Davis, California
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August when I had a speaking engagement at UCSC. We had a lovely room with a great view--spacious and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker. I should mention, though, that they seem to cycle down the air conditioning at night, and the sea lions were too noisy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leftydana
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear LeftyDana: Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback. I am thrilled to know you loved staying with us and certainly hope to see you again soon. I am so sorry for your checkout experience. I assure you we never seek to treat our guest as anything less than an ally and this service experience...

Portsmouth
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here with another mature couple for one Saturday night in September, while touring the West Coast of California. We chose to stay in "Cloud King' rooms, primarily for the view and the quiet of being on an upper floor. In this respect, we were not disappointed. furthermore, the bed was comfortable, the room bright and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eddie H
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear scoasttripper: Thank you for taking the time to give us this very detailed feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location and views. We are truly lucky to be so well situated. I would, though, like to take a moment to apologize for the uncommon lapse in service at our restaurant. I will make certain that the management...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were part of a large group, slept with balcony door open and enjoyed hearing the waves and sealions. Recommend staying high up but if you have kids ask to be near the swimming pool. Wonderful views of the beach, handy to pier.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KiwigirlNZ
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear KiwigirlNZ: Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed us and the natural beauty of our surroundings. We hope to welcome you back soon! Warmly Aaron Z Wallace Front Office Director

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 days it was lovely, the room were big enough although we didn't spend that much time in them . The view from the room was amazing with the sound of the seal lions echoing from underneath the pier. The location was fab and We walked into the town centre a couple of times. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plumb72
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Hello Plumb72: Thank you so much for such amazing feedback. Our location is truly a "triple threat". Views, entertainment, and sea sounds abound here and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all of these things. We would love to see you back and hope it is sooner rather than later. Warmly Aaron Z Wallace

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We are here off season which to me is perfect. There are a total of 12 people on this little private patch of sand thoroughly enjoying the crashing waves, the sounds of the Seals and the rays of a Fall Sun. The hotel is truly the only one on the beach. Simply pure perfection. The king room on the 4th...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scbleo
Katie M, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review

Dear Scbleo: Wow!! Thank you so much for such complimentary words. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time. We hope to have you back as soon as possible! Warm Regards Aaron Z Wallace Front Office Director

902 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (540)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
View from Room (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (70)
Viewed
King Room (75)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Suite (87)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
399 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 km away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
288 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: ₹ 13,375 - ₹ 33,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dream Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
8 months ago
11 months ago
Santa Maria, California
Muskogee, Oklahoma
6 days ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Dream Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Renovation in progress so expect noise and inconvenience.”
 of 5 bubbles sunnycc5, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view room for sure”
 of 5 bubbles SuzyC533, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have an ocean view, some may be close to the pool which can be noisy with the fun sound soft kids and adults enjoying the scene...”
 of 5 bubbles douglasw330, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay far away from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles FoodieMom2015, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“5th floor and higher get great ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles travelfan1961, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5