We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lavender Inn by the Sea

Traveller (135)
Room & Suite (34)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Along a sweep of California coastline reminiscent of the Côte d'Azur, guests can relax amid the soothing scent of lavender and soft ocean breezes at the Lavender Inn by the Sea. French-inspired paintings adorn the walls, lavender bouquets grace each room, and sunlight shimmers off the waters of the pool. Lavender Inn by the Sea's plush guest rooms feature pillow-top beds, down duvets, lavender-scented bath amenities, and a welcome bottle of Champagne. Savor a deluxe continental breakfast on the sunny patio, wine and cheese by the fire, and milk and cookies before bed. Surrounded by beautiful lavender gardens, the Lavender Inn by the Sea is just two blocks from Santa Barbara's picturesque beaches and yacht harbor. Stearns Wharf, the oceanfront bike path, and downtown shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are just a short drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:10% off $159 with ClubSB
475Reviews
164Photos
8Q+A
88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 167
  • 52
  • 18
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Property's Favourite Review
Stayed for one night. We received a complimentary room upgrade. There were loads of free goodies including use of town bikes, bottle of sparkly and waters in room and pre-dinner wine and nibbles. Room clean (only criticism is unsightly aircon/heating units), staff very friendly
Read more
Response from BroussardG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings michaelnotwinner, Thank you for choosing the Lavender Inn for your visit to Santa Barbara. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and appreciate the kind compliments. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the little extras we offer an you liked your welcome gift. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you visit us again. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
Read more
My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon whilst travelling around California. We found it online and after reading good reviews decided to make it a 3 night stop over for us before heading to LA. We couldn’t have chosen better, this place is a little piece of heaven. On
Read more
Response from BroussardG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
Congratulations on your recent nuptials. It is such an honor to share this special memory making experience. We are delighted to hear you and your husband enjoyed our hotel and look forward to celebrating many anniversaries with you. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
A last minute stop over when passing through Santa Barbara. What an amazing place this is!! Staff are excellent and rooms clean and luxurious. We received a free bottle of Champaign for the room as well as free cycle hire and wine and cheese tasting early evening. Would
Read more
Response from BroussardG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded 16 Dec 2018
Thank you Matsui132, for your kind compliments. We are so happy you chose the Lavender Inn for your rest stop in Santa Barbara. Thank you also for taking time to share you experience with other travelers. We rely on guests like you to share their honest impressions with visitors. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
Read more
We spent the weekend at The Lavender Inn by the sea in Santa Barbara. A location on Castillo Street that is within walking distance of the harbor and Stearns Wharf. It is also close to the freeway but without the noise. The motel is clean and well maintained. A buffet
Read more
Response from BroussardG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Greetings Joe, Thank you for your lovely review of the Lavender Inn. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be conveniently located. We rely on guests like you to offer their honest impressions to other travelers. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you visit us again. Kind regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
This place was our second stop along our HWY 1 drive after spending three nights in Beverly Hills, and to our surprise this place did not disappoint at all. We were greeted at the front with an itinerary of the complimentary Wine and Cheese served from 4:30-6:30, Milk and
Read more
Response from BroussardG, General Manager at Lavender Inn by the Sea
Responded 16 Nov 2018
Greetings Michael M, Thank you for choosing the Lavender Inn for your visit to Santa Barbara. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and treated yourself to the little extras we offer. A personal recommendation is the highest compliment we could hope to receive. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travelers. Kind regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Panoramic photo of the room
Room
king room
They put a lavender sachet on the bed -- what a lovey touch!
PreviousNext
1234567
Hi there, do you have a guest laundry - a washer and dryer?
Greetings Bootsian, We don’t have launder at the Lavender Inn by the Sea, but we do have facilities at our sister property across the street. Please let me know if there is anything else I can assist you with. Kind regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there free parking?
Greetings Kayrey, Thank you for your interest in the Lavender Inn by the Sea. Yes, we are happy to provide all our guests with free parking. We look forward to serving you. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Greetings Kristopher, Thank you for your interest in the Lavender Inn by the Sea. Yes, we are happy to provide you with a crib in your guest room. While we do offer free bike rentals, we do not have child seat. However, Wheel of Fun located just a few blocks from the hotel offers rental bikes with child seats. Our front desk team would be happy to make arrangements for you. Warm regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
does each room have its own bathroom
Yes, every guest room has their own bathroom.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do the rooms have heating/air conditioning?
Yes they have air conditioning and heating.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"First floor rooms. There is no elevator."
"Great location!"
"Have a suite if you can afford it but the other rooms looked good if smaller."
"All rooms face the same main street"
"ground floor"
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
US$ 169 - US$ 369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lavender inn by the sea hotel santa barbara
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing