We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,172: English reviews
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

So my first clue should have been they were one of the few hotels with vacancies when we booked a last minute trip. I'll start with the pluses.....location, it's on Cabrillo right across from the beach, although the art center across the street blocks a lot of the views. Other positives, the signature comfy bed and clean bathroom The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dutreaux
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for providing this feedback for us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lack of service at the pool, this really surprises us too, as this is typically an area of great service feedback. Please also know that we are in the process of shampooing and extracting every carpet in the building and this presents a...

Temecula, California
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed at this property for 1 night and we glad it only 1 night! The neighbors on both sides were smoking on the balconies and even after we complained to the front desk they continued to do so. So much for the "upgraded" ocean view when we couldn't even open the door to the balcony and were forced to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve O
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to learn that your neighbors disregarded our warnings and chose to continue smoking. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that this had caused to you. Also know that we are very strict in our no smoking policy and upon evidence of guest smoking in a guestroom,...

Long Beach, United States
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra G
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

San Diego, California
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Was the Mar Monte Hotel. Very comfortable with every amenity you may need, safe, kurig coffee pot , cushy bed. and the desk/dressing table has a mirror over it, can be used as dressing table. Only problem, during the remodel some of the bath rooms do not have fans or windows. I checked another room , same problem. 3rd room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candy h
Ventura, CA
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a night celebrating her birthday in January. The staff was friendly enough and our room was okay. Even for SB though, this place is expensive and doesn't provide added amenities like breakfast or parking. You can apparently park for free on the street in front if you can find a spot and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cali-golfer
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for choosing us to help celebrate your very special occasion! Our hotel campus consists of a few options that you may be interested in. First, we have the Santa Barbara House which is a few blocks away from the main building. The guestrooms in this building were renovated last year, and the best part is that...

Reviewed 10 August 2016

How do I start, I booked a 500+ dollar room directly through the Hyatt. They said the Santa Barbara house was on a side street.. I assumed the room faced a side street not the ocean, NBD. Right? Wrong, I go to check in only to find out the The Santa Barbara House is not on Hyatt grounds, it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Nice location, pricey for level of comfort. Only room available was handicapped, which I've are not, and room was musty and smelled like urine.. Unacceptable for a hyatt for what we paid..manager told us no more rooms....Really? Never, ever should find a room smelling like that. Eventually found us a smaller room (less than what we paid for). Young lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for leaving this feedback for us, we deeply apologize for the experience that you have had and we did put the room out of order for deep cleaning. We are happy to know that you were able to be helped in the morning as the night prior we were fully committed with no other rooms available....

Irvine, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

What it's all about with this hotel. In the quiet part of the water front. Across from East Beach. Rooms with view n balcony are well worth it (if you don't mind cars on Cabrillo). Poolside happy hour with $5 apps n wine/beer/cocktail. Parking $30. We should have parked on street in front of hotel, but not sure how safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryblueterriermomm
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Stayed in this hotel for one night worst night ever £400 a night to stay in the smelliest room ever Hotel needs refurbish asap not fit for staying in the room has the worst smell ever could not sleep all night lots of noise all night would not advise anyone to stay here better to stay in guest house facing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markanthonyrobinson
H596BGM, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Hello and thank you sharing your feedback with us, we are very sorry that the room did not match your expectations and we are in the process of investigating the cause of the odor that you have mentioned. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you did enjoy your time in Santa Barbara.

1,012 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (746)
Viewed
Amenities (159)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (79)
Viewed
King Room (164)
Viewed
Pool (44)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Santa Cruz Suite (158)
Viewed
The Hotel (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.1 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,244 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
227 reviews
2.6 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
979 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
865 reviews
2.7 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range: ₹ 11,594 - ₹ 34,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to use the pool, I'd recommend staying in the original building.”
 of 5 bubbles dianeo255, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No idea - mountain = parking, sea = highway/boulevard”
 of 5 bubbles ld299, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“NONE... as they are in deparate need of repair...”
 of 5 bubbles 81gailj, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are going to spend the money, get an ocean view!”
 of 5 bubbles F2446RIrogerb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ocean front rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles sambV9259IE, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5