We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Morgan at San Simeon

Booking.comUS$ 150*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 167*
US$ 150*
Great Deal
US$ 163*
US$ 163*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Morgan at San Simeon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 814: English reviews
Start your review of The Morgan at San Simeon
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Horrible place to stay. First, we booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds. They only have one-bed bedrooms in the actual hotel. Nothing in the hotel's description says we have to walk another block past a restaurant to get to our rooms. And we called twice and they did not say anything about a secondary old building. Then, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night at The Morgan.Nice clean hotel but no ocean view or on ocean.Others in area do on Hearst Dr. . Next to nice Mexican restaurant. <El Chorlito>. We did walk about a 1/2 mile to the back of a hotel near by who had Ocean views an access to beach. Hotel has a nice pool in closed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bynner
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's OK for one night when visiting Hearst castle, but this is an old property. They are putting in new hall carpeting but the rooms are odd. Furniture placement can be described as annoying. The bathroom is an example of bad design. Toilet is way too low. Hotel walls are not well insulated as you can hear television and talking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brodie52
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day....

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Standard room in a fading hotel. Perfectly comfortable beds and the (gas) fireplace in the room gave it some charm. The breakfast included was slightly above average and seemed popular with fellow travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owoteva
Laguna Hills, California
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Our stay at the Morgan was very nice. Or room included a nice gas fireplace. We had a view of the ocean over the parking lot and a few houses. The continental breakfast buffet was nice unfortunately, there wasn't enough protein available so we chose to eat elsewhere. The room was decorated beautifully with Julia Morgan drawings from Hearst Castle....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank girardmom
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We recently took our two teenage grandsons to Hearst Castle and stayed at the Morgan. The location is perfect--only two miles from the Hearst Castle and the rates are very reasonable. Our room was large, well appointed, very clean and quiet, and our beds were comfortable. The lobby is inviting and the staff are gracious. There are a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ctschiltsch
Naperville, IL
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My family spent one night here. The service was excellent and the room was clean. There was a simple continental breakfast in the morning. My only complaint is that the walls are thin and I could hear the guest in the room next door snore for the entire night! I would stay here again and hope for a quieter next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LZ08
Torrance, California
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Quick wknd getaway to visit Big Sur and Monterey. This hotel is on the way back home to LA. We only stayed a night to rest after all the sight seeing. They have a nice pool area, but it was too cold to swim at this time, but overall nice hotel and staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank May Ann T
Glendale, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017

For the past 5+ years, we book our stay at The Morgan whenever we plan to spend the weekend in San Simeon. However our stay last night may be the last. Last night we turned on the in-room electric wall heater but noticed the thermostat was not working so the heater would not turn off automatically. I called the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day....

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Stayed here with family following visit to Hearst Castle. Two ground floor rooms with fireplaces. Beds were comfortable. Could hear waves crashing on beach from bed. Breakfast was underwhelming. Pool was not available to use. Nothing bad to report and nothing great - just so-so okay stay. Would not choose to return for another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank falkirklady2015
Angelica B, Front Office Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review

Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.4 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,645 reviews
4.3 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.8 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,637 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
503 reviews
4.6 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Price Range: ₹ 7,815 - ₹ 15,759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Morgan at San Simeon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loom somewhere else...”
leobT2438LC, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“No ocean view an must walk to beach.”
  • Front door sign
bynner, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view.”
brodie52, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are no views. We had a corner room which was very nice.”
ctschiltsch, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for second building with beach view; roadside rooms a bit noisy. The windows actually open !”
P7465MDchrism, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 150* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 163
TravelocityUS$ 163
getaroom.comUS$ 167
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates