We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rose Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Manager was very rude with just a nasty attitude no customer service skills at all never booking there again. The rooms are clean but the staff needs to be trained on how to treat paying customers. Just by asking a simple question the manager told me there is no point on explaining it to you . I have worked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erica H, I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for providing this feedback, as we strive to make every stay a pleasant one, and are always looking to improve. I am very sorry that you had this experience, and if you would like to further discuss your concerns please fell free...

Hacienda Heights, California
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Don't be fooled by the nice looking pool like we were. It doesn't make up for all the other AWFUL things. The rooms are filthy, ugly, dingy, old, and gross. The place smells like cigarettes, and marijuana. The beds and carpets have fleas. The manager is extremely rude, lazy and unkind. Terrible customer service!!! Our jewelry is missing. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ztoadeanne
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear ztoadeanne, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We try our best to ensure that guests have a pleasant time at the hotel, so it is always disappointing to hear that we fell short of those expectations. I have taken note of your complaints, and will work to ensure that they do not...

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I review of the room were very clean, friendly staff, they were all able to accommodate everything and what we needed in the room and get it pretty fast. My kids enjoy the pool specially the water fall part of it. we will definitely come back again I'm sure we'll have a good time I get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We pride ourselves an offering quality accommodations for the entire family, so I am very happy to hear that your family had a pleasant time. The staff was thrilled to hear your kind remarks and that we were able to ensure you had a enjoyable stay. It...

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

They had Great service and very friendly staff.... My family and I Will definitely visit again soon... We would highly recommend it to family and friends ...pool was very relaxing and the jacuzzi. Very family oriented... They were bbq when we we're there and the tri tip was amazing!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherrie a
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear sherrie a, Thank you so much for reviewing us! It always makes my day to hear from guests that enjoyed their stay. I shared your review with the staff, and everyone greatly appreciated your compliments. I agree that the pool and spa area is just perfect for a relaxing time with family. It is the highest compliment to hear...

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This ended up being a very decent place to stay for a night. Our room was large and clean. Considering the high hotel rates in San Luis Obispo, this hotel's rate was one of the lowest in the area, but still overpriced for what we got. A word of warning about parking... we arrived around 10 p.m., and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judyandsimonhome
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear judyandsimonhome, Thank you for taking the time to review us. The housekeeping staff was pleased to hear that you enjoyed room and were comfortable during your stay here. San Luis Obispo is just getting more and more popular, but we still pride ourselves on offering some of the best rates in the area. If you are looking for even...

Altadena, California
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Yes, they accept pets and that is good. And the spa is fabulous. The bathroom was clean. But it's so in need of a makeover! Our patio door was missing a handle which made it really hard to open. The blanket had a hole in it. The lamp shade was torn. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Matthew L, Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have looked into your concerns and will make sure that everything you mentioned is properly addressed. In the future, if you have any concerns about the room or property, please let the front desk know and we will be...

Arroyo Grande, California
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stay here when we are in SLO. It's not fancy just a nice basic no frills, friendly motel at a reasonable rates. Next Door is Margies diner which is famous for large helpings of good. They seem to be a favorite with the mobile workers as there is always a lot of crew trucks in the lot. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ken S, Thank you so much for sharing this review. It is always nice to hear from returning guests, and I would like to thank you for your loyalty over the years. The pool and spa seem to be a guest favorite! Isn't it just the perfect way to relax after a long day of traveling? Margie's is another...

San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff. But we only stayed there because no other rooms were available in town due to Cal Poly graduation. Clean enough, but old and rundown facilities. Bed ancient. Convenient location , but I would not stay again unless no other alternative .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prof046
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Prof046, Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are always looking for ways to further improve guests' experiences, so we greatly appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed interacting with our staff, as it is a main priority to be friendly and accommodating. I have discussed your concerns with the maintenance staff, and we are...

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The rooms are old and in need of repair. The bathroom fixtures are finicky, the sliding glass door is almost impossible to open or close, and the plumbing from other rooms is quite loud. Despite all these problems, this is still better than either of the nearby Motel 6 motels. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garrett408
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Garrett408, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you found the bed comfortable and the spa area to your liking, and had the chance to interact with our staff. It is always disappointing when guests have concerns, but feedback is very valuable and I appreciate it. I have made a note of the issues...

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We were driving from San Francisco to Los Angeles so we decided to make a stop for the nigh in SLO. This was absolutely a great idea. We didn't meant to but we arrived very late (after midnight) but we had no problem to check-in. Room was big, clean and comfortable. I think that's the most important after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane Z
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diane Z, Thank you for reviewing the hotel! It is great to hear from guests who have a comfortable and restful stay with us. I agree that this hotel is the perfect place to stop while traveling throughout California, whether stopping for just a night or a longer stay. I passed along your compliments about the room to the...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
127 Two Queens (28)
Viewed
206 Standard King (21)
Viewed
227 Two Queens (22)
Viewed
228 Double Double (17)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
5.9 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
580 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
771 reviews
5.9 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
671 reviews
2.7 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,498 reviews
6.0 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: ₹ 4,369 - ₹ 14,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best rooms as far as i know, are the ground floor deluxe queen double rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RRguy1, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2 double beds for 4”
 of 5 bubbles rhernandezch, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“select an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles P4538FDdianaa, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request the upgraded rooms”
 of 5 bubbles denjimenez, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the back are away from the freeway”
 of 5 bubbles drj-family, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5