We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 611: English reviews
COVINA, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was very nice, breakfast and staff at breakfast awesome and amazing very helpful, only problem is hearing the people above us and in the hallway vending machines, were noisy. Staff and service is amazing rooms very nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank russellmc2016
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello russellmc2016 Thank you for your comments about your stay! I'm happy you enjoyed our full hot breakfast! We have been working so hard to make our breakfast one to remember! Thank you so much for mentioning our incredible staff. We all try so hard to give the best service possible to our guests. I am troubled that you could...

Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When I arrived to the room I saw a silverfish on the wall of the bathroom. It was very large and healthy. It looked like it wa thriving in the environment provided by the hotel. When I arrived home I found they had also infested my luggage. Disgusting! The only good rating this hotel deserves is from the silverfish. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roberthW4637ZU
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello roberthW4637ZU I'm extremely sorry to hear you found multiple silverfish in your room. Due to weather this time of year in San Luis Obispo they are somewhat common, however this is not an excuse. I'm personally very sorry for your experience. I can assure you our housekeeping department tries their very best to provide all of our guests with...

Richland, WA, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at many Best Western hotels and this was one of the best. Clean room, nice king-sized bed and delicious chocolate chip cookies upon arrival! The room was comfortable and overlooked the pool. Staff members were very courteous and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and offered a variety of items.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Judy H Thank you so very much for your great review of our hotel! We just started baking cookies at the front desk and they seem to be a hit ! Thank you for your feedback and I'm so glad you enjoyed them :) Thank you also for mentioning our staff as we all try to be as genuinely...

San Diego, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing hotel. Staff were very friendly. We were upgraded to a better deluxe room, because our standard king size room was unavailable. Service was extraordinary. It was like staying in a 5 star hotel. Would prefer staying in a best western hotel in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 750safwana
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 750safwana I must say reading this review of your experience was an absolute pleasure!!! Your exact experience is what we strive to deliver! I can't tell you how grateful I am that you felt compelled to share your experience with others. I truly hope we get another opportunity to provide you extraordinary service again . Thank you again for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I prepaid for this room and got a good deal. The first room they tried to give me I could not get into because a guy was tiling out in the hall. The second room overlooked the pool and was fine. The bed was comfortable and everything worked fine. Breakfast was free, but it was strange that it is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M K
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello M K I'm happy you were able to get a good deal by paying in advance online. I'm also happy we were able to provide you with a nice pool view room after the initial misunderstanding with the front desk regarding the location of your room. It sounds as if you enjoyed your free breakfast, and I have to...

Bakersfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very clean. The king size bed was firm and did not sag in the center, nice! They had a free happy hour from 5-7 which worked at well for us. The breakfast was good.,they had plenty of choices of food. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. We will stay there again next we are there. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FredBacko
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello FredBacko Thank you for your great review of our Hotel! I'm so happy we met your standards of cleanliness and comfort! I'm also very excited you found our breakfast to have a wide variety of selection. Whats a hotel without good service ? Thank you for mentioning our great staff, and pointing out how great they are ! We...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had booked this hotel for three nights but only made it for two because I found bed bugs on my bed! The staff was very accommodating and gave me a full refund. If it weren't for the bed bugs I would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traveladdict204
Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a great price and includes a great complimentary breakfast! I am usually picky when it comes to breakfast but it was clean, fresh and included a waffle maker which was a nice plus. The rooms are clean and they give you two free drinks. The beds are also very comfy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer B. Thank you so much for your great review! fFirst, I'm so happy you enjoyed your breakfast. We try so hard to give our guests a great start to the day! It's also nice to also hear we priced competitively ! What is a hotel without comfortable beds ? So thank you for your great feedback regaurding our...

Venice, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

$498.00 for a 2 night stay should at the least warrant custodial services. Upon arrival to my room after a 4 hour car ride, toilet wouldn't flush and I was told that it would be at least an hour before someone could come to my room. However I was given a plunger to use and return once I fixed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8062FSsheilas
Mercer Island, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very impressed with my very large room here. The bed was very comfortable. The room looked brand new with two comfortable chairs, a desk, large TV, balcony with two chairs, fridge and a large spotless bathroom. The breakfast really put me a good mood to continue my drive. I wish I had more time to spend here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert K
BWRoyalOak, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Robert K. I'm so glad you enjoyed your room, and thank you for your thoughtful review of our Hotel. We are so proud of our breakfast and we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed it !!! If your looking for a bargain don't wait any longer to come back ... We are currently offering our lowest...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
202 Two Queens Facing Pool (23)
Viewed
315 Standard Two Queens (22)
Viewed
416 Standard King (20)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
656 reviews
3.9 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
561 reviews
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
521 reviews
4.0 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
0.6 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: ₹ 7,147 - ₹ 13,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the 3rd floor. Quiet floor due to no elevator, but the stairs were good exercise.”
 of 5 bubbles 55judyh, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor may be better if you use the balcony, first overlooks parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles robertkM5959BT, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking the pool have small balconies that are a comfortable place to relax.”
 of 5 bubbles dalerad, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a balcony...Loved it”
 of 5 bubbles oshicat, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the annex. Its got a view of the pool and less street noice.”
 of 5 bubbles SebastianL730, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay