We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The facilities - particularly the exterior of the property, check-in/lobby, etc. - were much more run down than they appeared to be in in photos. When we checked in, the lobby was completely closed off for cleaning. Very strange first impression. A sign outside of the main entrance very clearly stated the rates for pets ($10 per pet, per night),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willp449
California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tylerm380
Lahti, Finland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This Super 8 is a bit worn out, but nevertheless it was an okay accommodation for a road trip and for one night. The beds are comfortable enough, the room clean, but the staff could learn some social skills..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiiLou
Escondido, California
Reviewed 17 October 2016

this was my 37 and 37 night on the road this year, this far and away the worst. Do not stay here. Overpriced, one bulb missing form lamp,furniture was fibreboard, TV only got a few channels, most were fuzzy and unwatchable. bed was comfortable, breakfast was gone by 830am. room was clean, parking sketchy, was warned I may have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike m
1951monterey, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank You Mr. Mike for your feedback. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation We have addressed the issues pointed out with our maintenance department. Our town is college town when there is any event in the CALPOLY and we are sold out we do have to inform our guest that they may need to...

Hershey, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saywhatyoumean77
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The manager has à really Bad attitude when you asked for something. He cannot give receipt and threatened alawsuit when you insist. The superbreakfast is à minibreakfeast . The linen and vers are clean but the rugs is awfully dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique D
1951monterey, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are sorry that you had the feel for firing the manager. As per the receipt is concern you had the third party reservation and third party reservation receipt is to be collected from the third party you get upset as you were told so. We are the budget hotel and our breakfast considered is two juice, make...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I stayed here in two different rooms on two different nights. The first night was a double room but there's no room whatsoever to get around the table because it is trapped between the air conditioning unit and the bed. The second night I was in a single room but I doubt that the air conditioner worked at all. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian V
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. Please accept our apology that we were not able to meet your expectation. Our rooms are little smaller when it comes to the two beds. We are planning to change set up of furniture so it will give more room to the guest. We have addressed the maintenance issue so the future guest does not...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The staff is very friendly! Having to smoke in a cage not so comforting but I'd stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 372j
1951monterey, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back. We are glad that you were happy with the location of our establishment. We are sorry that we have a designated area for the smoking as all our rooms are non smoking and smoking near the rooms still makes the non smokers unhappy of the smell and for that reason we have the...

Cathedral City, California
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This is the second time I have stayed here. The first time was a bit better. Upon check-in we were not given wi-fi password. I had to go to the office at 10 p.m. to receive it. I was unable to call front desk from hotel room. The phone would not allow us to dial the desk. We were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
1951monterey, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apology for your experience during the stay we have addressed the issues mentioned by you. We have the Wi fi password written down on the guest key card when we give to the guest you might be missed on that. We are providing the amenities as per our super 8 standard as...

Manhattan
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Overall, this property was very underwhelming. The staff was not very friendly during check in, I was harassed by beggars in the parking lot, the room was over-priced, and the quality of the facility was measurably worse than other hotels on the same street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry for your experience. Please accept our apology that we were not able to meet your expectations. We will have your concerns addressed for future.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
334 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
167 reviews
0.1 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
116 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Address: 1951 Monterey St, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: ₹ 4,560 - ₹ 8,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super 8
San Luis Obispo Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 San Luis Obispo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 919mikem, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go on the weekends. Demand drives the price beyond what the property is worth.”
 of 5 bubbles V4124ZUbrianv, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you have difficulty with stairs ask for the street level room, only a few. Otherwise it's up 2 or flights to get to a room.”
 of 5 bubbles 50as, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pay a little more if you have a family with you.”
 of 5 bubbles 853stevem, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs...you will need them.”
 of 5 bubbles randomtravler2016, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay