We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/07/22
Snaptravel
$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/07/22
Booking.com
Traveluro
Lol.travel$175
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (10)

About

#45 of 86 in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Arena Hotel features 89 newly renovated guestrooms offering Deluxe King , Double Queen and Deluxe Suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and one block from the SAP Center. Our guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
457Reviews11Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 164
  • 107
  • 57
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Redneck reviews wrote a review 4 Jun
Troy, Illinois20 contributions5 helpful votes
Just really bad , from the rude person at the front desk to the entire floor smelling like weed with no smoking clearly marked , to the guy walking thru the parking lot with a bulletproof vest on . Great place for people watching, you never know what you’ll see next. I’m sure it’s for some people but not for a normal family. Stayed for about 10 minutes then asked for a refund. If you stay here ask to see a room first before you give them your credit card info. Was here 4 years ago and had a totally different experience, not sure what changed but it wasn’t for the better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear you weren't happy with your accommodations at Arena Hotel. We are disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with the room we provided. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and thus are saddened that we could not serve you to our usual high standard. We hope you will give us another chance in the future so you can see that this was an isolated occurrence. Regards, Arena Hotel Management
Read more
Frequent_flier7755 wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California3 contributions5 helpful votes
Dirty, rude staff, peeling paint and dirty furniture, no security and doors open all night with no staff. It’s not safe, not clean, not pleasant, all around miserable. On top of it all, the online price was $79 but they charged me $120!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations on behalf of our entire team. This is a rare scenario for us, and we will investigate and take appropriate action to ensure that such an incident does not happen again. Your suggestions will be used to help us improve, but we sincerely apologize for your negative experience. We hope you give us a chance to bring your trust back in our hospitality. Sincerely, The Arena Hotel Management
Read more
jovanbregu wrote a review Mar 2022
Denver, Colorado82 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is a dump. It smells the moment you enter the room. It is totally run down. It feels like you are in a Motel-6! The shower didn't work properly. We had a problem with the service too. If you ask for a room service, they charge $25.00. When we went to ask for towels only, they gave us one towel only, even though we were 3 people staying there. It was ridiculous! The bed and especially pillows were very uncomfortable. My neck hurt for 2 days. The pillows are not flat, they had a huge lump on one side. The pillow felt like a round rock, it was terrible. The walls and the carpet are filthy. We had more than enough after our 2-night stay there and were glad to leave. Wish they would value their customers, by keeping a decent room and decent service there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. First and foremost, we want to sincerely apologize for your experience during your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding an improvement to our services; however, we apologize for the inconveniences you have faced. We work really hard to ensure the stay of our guests is comfortable and enjoyable. Guest satisfaction for us is highly rewarding, so I am terribly sorry for your experience and for the issues in your room. We will speak to the housekeeping manager about the challenges you pointed out in your guest room. Please do give us another chance to make things right and give us a chance to host you again with superior hospitality. Sincerely, The Arena Hotel Management
Read more
Sarah J wrote a review Feb 2022
6 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel a few years back to attend a San Jose Sharks game. We rebooked the same hotel and to our surprise the place has not been maintained at all! We areived at 3:40 pm and were told we could not officially check in until 4pm. Fine no problem. Until every single guest was tokd the same thing. We had to wait again for 45 mins until we could get our keys. I had already done the "check in procedures". Upon entering our hotel room we noticed the rooms were not maintained. We changed and got ready for dinner not really paying attention to much. Once we returned for the night we called the front desk to see if we can get more pillows. We have a King size bed and have 3 pillows for 2 people. The gentleman at the desk told my husband yes he had 1 pillow and we had to come and get it. It was then that we really started seeing the dirtiness of the room. The top sheet on our bed has a huge stain in the middle, our blanket has bleach stains, our tub brown stains, our headboard has more brown stains, outlets gross, bathtub was separated from the wall on one side, bathroom counter cracked all the way across the counter, and the downstairs couches are literally falling apart. Oh and the jacuzzi tub in your room, you have to pay to run the jets. We paid for the room but not to turn on the jets. 🤦‍♀️We will NEVER RETURN AGAIN! I very rarely write a bad review, this is a warning. Unless you are aware this place is not being held to the standards this is a 2 star at most very best.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to know you have stayed with us in the past. However, we are very sorry to learn about your recent experience and we apologize for the inconvenience that you faced during our most recent stay. As you know, this is not the standard experience our guests have, please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of pillows, the state of the sheets, and anything else that causes you trouble. Please know our staff works hard to make every guest stay pleasant. Please accept our apologies once again. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, The Arena Hotel Management
Read more
AKim wrote a review Jan 2022
Richmond, California30 contributions57 helpful votes
The check-in process at this hotel is horrible. We arrived around 2:45p and went to check in. We were told that check in was at 4pm but if we wanted a room now it would a $50 charge for early check-in. As we sat in the lobby waiting for our friends, at least four other guests showed up asking to check in & walked away from the front desk after being told they had to wait until 4p. My friend showed up & asked them if they could register him and he would come back at 4p to get the key. They agreed. (Isn’t that what most hotels do if rooms aren’t ready?! ) I went to the front desk to do the same. When we got back at 4pm, the line was at least 8 parties long with one young lady checking everyone in. Completely ridiculous! They would rather stick to their $50 early check-in (even one hour early) and inconvenience guests rather than allowing people in if rooms are available. Greedy! As for the hotel & room - the hotel is very close to the SAP which is the reason for our stay. There was a shady looking guy wandering around the parking lot. Parking is free which is a great perk! We had a room on the 3rd floor. The room was big, well lit, looked like it was remodeled and it was clean. The bathroom however was not remodeled. The wallpaper was peeling. Overall, if this hotel rate was anywhere in the vicinity of the other hotels in the area, I’d pick somewhere else. However, I happened to get a great rate so I picked this place. Their greedy check-in practice is shady & because of that, I’d probably stay elsewhere in the future. But, if you plan on arriving after 5p, this place could work for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don’t show up before 4pm
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that you had a good stay with us. We are glad that you loved our spacious and clean guestroom and our hotel’s location close to SAP Center. We are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary parking. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to check-in and that you were charged extra for early check-in. Please understand that this is the hotel’s policy due to the fact that we run a very busy hotel and cannot guarantee early availability. Happy guests are our focus, and our staff works hard to make our guests stay pleasant. Please rest assured this is not that standard we deliver to our guests. We apologize once again for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope you give us another chance to host you when you return to San Jose and make things right. Kind Regards, The Arena Hotel Management
Read more
Ziggy T wrote a review Jan 2022
San Francisco2 contributions2 helpful votes
I'm shocked at the price difference between this hotel and many of the newer ones nearby, most which only offer communal hot tubs and no bath tubs in their rooms. The location of the Arena is excellent. You can walk/stumble to or transit to everything. Lots of nice places to walk nearby. The rooms were clean enough. The jacuzzi tub had some stain marks, and there were imperfections and blemishes from a room that's probably older then we are. But it was clean and comfortable, and having a private jacuzzi tub at this price is amazing. Every room at this hotel has private jacuzzi tubs in their bathroom. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Each room has its own heat pump/AC with a digital thermostat that worked perfectly and quickly, going up to 80 degs when we wanted to get sweaty! Unfortunately. the ice machine in the hallway was out of service. Not super sterile rooms, but clean enough and an unbelievable value for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: 3rd floor only accessible via single elevator, good for security bad for convenience. Only 2nd...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW and a detailed one. I am thrilled to learn that your stay at The Arena Hotel was excellent. It is so wonderful to see that we were able to provide you with a superior level of service and accommodations. We are glad that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable guest room and its amenities. We take pride in providing an affordable but luxurious stay to our guests. Our staff works hard to make our guests stay pleasant and they are happy with your positive review. We apologize that you were not able to enjoy our ice machine which wasn’t working. We value your feedback and we will make sure it is fixed as soon as possible. We would love to see you back on your next trip to the area! Thank you once again for staying with us. Best Regards, The Arena Hotel Management P.S. Remember to book your stay at arenahotelsj.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
Marisa G wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I’ve never left a review of a hotel before. My mom has worked in this industry for 25+ years. The room at this hotel was filthy. When we walked in, we immediately noticed red stains under the ripped office chair. I want to believe it was ink, but that seems unlikely. The lamps were falling apart. The shower head was filthy. The holes in the walls were not patched well. And it smelled like a pungent cheap detergent/soap that was hard to smell even for one night. There was no free breakfast like the reservation said. The guy at the front desk was smoking right outside the door to the lobby almost blocking our entrance and he didn’t wear a mask while he checked me in. We are die hard Sharks fans so we were excited that this hotel was so close, but we’ll never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to learn about your experience and we apologize for the inconvenience that you faced. We wish you would have voiced your concerns with our staff while you were here. We would have gladly tried to resolve your issues. Please rest assured this is not the standard experience our guests have. Our staff works hard to make our every guest stay pleasant. Our hospitality staff cleans every room on a regular basis. Please accept our apologies once again for not reaching your expectations about your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, The Arena Hotel Management
Read more
SL M wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Arena Hotel is really beautiful location and comfortable rooms with nice river view rooms We stayed 2 nights with our team. Staff also very friendly.we recommended any Sri Lankan visit one time Arena Beruwala and see the difference.we specialy thanks owner Mr.Kapila.he gave fully service with hotel.and he has good knowledge of area. Thank you Ranjan Pushpakumara Production Manager TV DERANA
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Double High Five!! Thank you very much for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW! We are thrilled that you loved your stay at our hotel and we are happy that you stayed two nights at our hotel. We are glad that you loved our hotel location. We are also happy that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable guest room with a beautiful river view. Our staff loves what they do, and happy guests are their focus. Our staff will be honored to receive your glowing recommendation. We are so glad that you recommended us. Also remember to recommend us to your friends and family. We would surely pass your concern to our Owner Mr. Kapila and he is thank you for your kind words. We would love to host you again when you visit the area again. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, The Arena Hotel Management Remember to book your stay directly at arenahotelsj.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
Philip Chung wrote a review Sep 2021
Rowland Heights, California95 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for one night after arriving in the city by train. The hotel is a short walk from Diridon Station, so it was convenient. The room seemed worn (and the chair in my room especially could use a reupholstering) but was otherwise decent. The bathtub is a hot tub/jacuzzi but I didn't try using that particular feature.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to learn that you had a good stay with us. We are happy that you liked our hotel location close to the station and it was convenient for you. We are also happy that you loved our decent and comfortable guestroom. We value your feedback about our guest room and we will surely work to improve. We wish you would have used our jacuzzi too. We would love to host you again to earn a perfect score review with our improved services for you next time you return to the area. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, The Arena Hotel Management P.S. Remember to book your stay directly at arenahotelsj.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
Vince R wrote a review Sep 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina7 contributions7 helpful votes
Ive stayed here before but now no more. The desk in the room looked like it was going to fall apart. The tv worked occassionally then the signal would cut out. They no longer offer free breakfast. I asked for a container to use to get ice and was told they dint have those, but offered a trash bag. The place has signs everywhere saying mask required, no exceptions but the front desk staff never wore them. Hallways reeked like pot!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Arena Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Dear Vince, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to know you have stayed with us in the past. However, we are very sorry to learn about your recent experience and we apologize for the inconvenience that you faced. We wish you would have voiced your concerns with our staff while you were here. We would have gladly tried to resolve your issues. Please rest assured this is not the standard experience our guests have. Our staff works hard to make our every guest stay pleasant. Please accept our apologies once again. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, The Arena Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arena hotel san jose, arena san jose
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include SAP Center (0.5 km), AxeVentures Axe Throwing (0.7 km), and San Pedro Square Market (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Arena Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arena Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Henry's Hi-Life, Paesano Ristorante Italiano, and LUNA Mexican Kitchen - The Alameda.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arena Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Arena Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Arena Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Winchester Mystery House (4.2 km), History Park (4.4 km), and Peralta Adobe and Fallon House Historic Site (1.1 km).
Is Arena Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.