We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Inn

Save
Share
533 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672-5483
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (53)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#5 of 18 hotels in San Clemente
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Beachcomber Inn is a quaint boutique style inn situated steps from the Pacific Ocean. The inn was constructed in 1947 and offers vintage at its finest. The Beachcomber is believed to be the oldest continuously running businesses in town, and it is one of the few examples of Spanish Colonial Revival style inns located on a coastal bluff. The blissfully secluded Beachcomber provides the perfect window through which to experience the California lifestyle. This inn, due to the properties' unique position, offers unparalleled views of the waters below. Enjoy surf, sand and sun along with the unobtrusive charm of this inn. Spend the day on the waves, shopping on Del Mar, enjoying free WiFi or dining at a local non-chain eatery. You'll be sure to fill your day with fun or relaxing moments. Just 30 minutes from John Wayne Airport and minutes from the Amtrak train stop, the inn offers oceanfront lodging, complete with individual patios overlooking the beauty of the San Clemente Pier which creates the quintessentially relaxing hideaway. Rooms are also appointed with a fully equipped kitchen, king bed and sofa bed. The grounds allow for a peaceful night by the fire enjoying unobstructed views as the sunset casts a burnt-orange tint over the glistening surf.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Beach
Patio
Kids stay free
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
161Reviews10Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 33
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jennifer C wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
Absolute best view of the ocean! We will be coming back again and again to the Hotel. The employees were so nice and the bed was comfortable. It was the most awesome Beach vacation. They have a fire pit that is on from 5-10 every night thats so inviting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view and full kitchen
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Odyssey749467 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The place is okay, but pricey for what it offers. You need to be okay with the pot smoking, as the smell of it was all over the property. The staff rent to their friends, and you might end up with a houseful of people in the room next door, smoking pot and partying. We arrived late and were weary from a long drive, but very happy to have found what looked like a cute place to stay. We stepped outside to have a cigarette. The wind was heavy and was blowing every direction. The party house next door came out within seconds and complained, so we moved far out into the lawn. The next day, we had a $250 charge on our credit card for smoking too near the building. We contested it, asked them to reverse it, explained the situation, and they refused. So, for about 20 seconds of smoking outside too near the building, we were fined $250. Cannot leave anything but a poor review for such treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Beachcomber Inn, General Manager at Beachcomber Inn
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Hello Odyssey749467 - We are sorry that staying at our smoke-free hotel did not work out for you. A few staff members were working that night and did not smell any pot smells at all. We are thinking that is an excuse you are using to write your review. We understand your frustration. Having signed the no smoking agreement when you checked in, you were very aware of our policy. After reviewing the video we have, you were definitely smoking on the property, and no other guests were discourteous. Thank you.
Read more
GlobalPour wrote a review Jun 2020
Trabuco Canyon, California4 contributions4 helpful votes
Although during the July 4th holiday we were forced to book a nightly minimum and special rate requirements it was absolutely the best deal and most amazing view and access to all day activities ending with the fireworks. Totally worth the money spent and with a grass area, outdoor firepit this was a perfect ending to the holiday activities.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lisa B wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
My husband, daughter, and I stayed at the Beachcomber Inn for the first time. We stayed for 3 nights in the newly renovated casita and it was AMAZING!!! The property was clean, the casita was beautifully decorated, the staff was super friendly, and the views were spectacular!!! We can't wait to come back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
connie davis young wrote a review Dec 2019
3 contributions6 helpful votes
Darling cabins with quaint architecture and furnishings with tremendous view. Quiet. Well maintained and excellent service. Great for a honeymoon, friends get together or just for fun. only disappoint was no jacuzzi.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from beachcomberi2016, General Manager at Beachcomber Inn
Responded 23 May 2020
Hello! Thank you for your kind review..... I'm sorry about your disappointment about not having a Jacuzzi at our property. However we are minutes away from the beach and we want you to experience the beach.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$215 - US$498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
beachcomber hotel san clemente
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Beachcomber Motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountySan Clemente
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beachcomber Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Beachcomber Inn?
Nearby attractions include Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens (0.4 km), San Clemente Pier (0.6 km), and San Clemente Downtown District (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beachcomber Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Beachcomber Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Beachcomber Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Beachcomber Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beachcomber Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vine Restaurant & Bar, Nick's San Clemente, and South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Beachcomber Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens (0.4 km) and Camp Talega (5.2 km).
Does Beachcomber Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.