We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

If you look at this place as a zoo with a B&B, you'll conclude the zoo is a little weak. But if you look at this place as a B&B with lots of exotic animals, it's truly awesome, and the experience will blow your mind! I can't recommend coming here just to do the zoo, but I can STRONGLY recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim_and_Barbie
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We had a reservation, but, had to cancel due a sudden illness with my wife. I understand the "strict cancellation policy"; exceptions are always made, depending on circumstances. We were not seeking a refund, just a different date. Staff was less - far less than accommodating and empathetic. We applaud their vision; we turn our noses at being so "firm"...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank O4257LWdave
FromOurManagement, Owner at Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

As this individual clearly states that they “understood our strict cancelation policy”, asking us to ignore it seems a bit unfair. Unfortunately for those who are truthfully suffering from such circumstances, we have found that over 80% of those asking us to waive our cancelation policy state the same reason while 10% are dealing with a death in the family...

Reviewed 2 May 2016

This is my first ever trip advisor review although I use it to do research all of the time. I just had to for this B&B. This place is amazing! Touching an elephant was on my boyfriend's bucket list and feeding tigers was on mine so we just had to experience this place. The grounds are well kept, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Queen E
Whittier, California, United States
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We love every minute there! Hearing lion roars through out the day is thrilling! They have all necessity with decent quality in our bungalow 8 (Leopard's Lair). Free zoo tour with B&B stay is a plus. We woke up with the most amazing view ever and got to feed elephants as they delivered us breakfast. That is the most incredible...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ada R
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Loved the vision quest b&b. We stayed in the Bears din. We saw all kinds of animals. The elephants were so cool. When they bring your breakfast in the morning, that make your stay. You get to feed them. The breakfast was a bagels, pastry, fruit, yogurt, and juice and coffee. The tour of the zoo was cool too. Lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmo02
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Pachyderm Palace, and it was so much nicer than I thought it would be. Good size "tent". Nice bedding on the queen bed, and the heated blanket was a plus. Futon was made up for my son, also with a heated blanket. He was very comfortable on it. Complete bathroom. The room did get cold by morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelanieJuly2011
CA
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The room was lovely! We could look right out of our window and see the elephants a few short feet away. All the animals are so well taken care of and loved. We had plenty of visiting time with all the animals and even got to give one of the elephants a bath! We look forward to returning someday with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joey M
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

My honey and I spent two amazing days at the vision quest safari. The first night we spent in room one which was the elephant room. The room is beautiful, way beyond our expectations. Unfortunately this room does not offer a view of the elephant playground. It is a little closer to the road so you could hear cars at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lizuhrig
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 27 January 2016

My friend and I planned a 2 night stay at Vision Quest safari B&B over The Christmas weekend Sunday 12/27 and Monday 12/28. We had plans to hike in the Pinnacles. The cabin/tent was attractive and comfortable. As night fell on Sunday the outdoor temperature dropped to 38 degrees. The cabins have a small wall heater and a space heater....

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Lavoyageuse011
FromOurManagement, Owner at Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Unfortunately, such reviews will always be inevitable and unavoidable in our business. We are a very small and very unique B&B experience which nearly suffered closure due to the lack of a very strict cancelation policy several years earlier. People booking up the facility and canceling last minute or making alternative plans in the middle of a stay left us...

Roseville, California
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

We had an awesome time. We stayed in the giraffe manor, which was very cute and clean. We bought a couple of the smaller packages, not the VIP, and everything was wonderful. Love how they "love and care" for all these animals. Suggestion, there are 8 bungalows, it's best to get one of the 4 inner ones, it has the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mzpatti

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (425)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (241)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
The Little Big Cat House (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
27.4 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
777 reviews
15.5 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
260 reviews
26.5 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
26.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,585 reviews
26.7 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listen to the lions and tigers roaring only yards away from your authentic African style bungalow...go on an African Safari in Monterey! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Address: 400 River Rd, Salinas, CA 93908-9627
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Price Range: ₹ 14,741 - ₹ 19,996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vision Quest Safari Bed And Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Hotel Salinas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California, Usa
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All tent cabins have an excellent view of the elephant area.”
 of 5 bubbles 716jar, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the bear's den, which had 2 double beds and was very roomy for 2 people”
 of 5 bubbles 986jennd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“giraffe manor, cat's house and leopard's lair offer the best views”
  • Our giraffe manor had lots of cute giraffe decor and furniture
 of 5 bubbles derezago, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in a cottage overlooking the paddock for the best view.”
  • View of the paddock from our deck
 of 5 bubbles pioneergirl58, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Bears Den downside was farm workers music at 5 Hut 8 is directly in front and has the view of the elephant yard All huts are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 338MarilynG, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay