We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Far Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a room that was reasonably priced and not too far from the EXPO for the all day engineering test that I would be taking the next day. I requested a quiet room as I needed a good night's sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet both neighbor wise and traffic, which I sure appreciated!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jetear
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jetear, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We also appreciate your suggestions for improvement to our breakfast and We look forward to... More 

Vista, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this property is great, centrally located and adjacent to the river with easy access to downtown. As others have noted, there are a lot of homeless but we found that they keep to themselves. We checked-in on a Thursday afternoon and were give a second floor room facing the parking lot; there was a large tree trimming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jim B, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused... More 

Willits, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Needed a place fairly last minute. This was too scary. Breakfast was good if you like to eat in a sauna hot room. Housekeeping and landscapers very noisy. Front desk staff nice and friendly. I intend to never return here.

Helpful?
1 Thank joniota
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely comfortable stay at our hotel we are now informed the management about your concerns. I do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I assure you that we are correcting these issues for improved convenience in future visits. More 

Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We selected this because it's within walking distance of Old Town Sacramento, the place we stopped to see. It's in the old L-shape with outside entrance rooms. While modernized, the rooms of this era suffer from less sound proofing. Lighting is poor. Breakfast is very minimal by today's standards.

Helpful?
Thank Scott P
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Scott P, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience and We are happy to hear that you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the sound proofing, Lighting is poor, breakfast as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest... More 

Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Dunno what so many are whining about. This is a fine hotel. When we rolled in, check-in took all of 5 minutes. Had my key, and off we went. As we were passing through the parking lot, I was wondering how loud it was gonna be at night. The lot was half-full of industrial trucks, so I expected some rowdiness... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shop99er
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear shop99er, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced, though we are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

It took twenty minutes or more to check into the motel.The girl at the front desk was new and she was getting overwhelmed with phone calls and people waiting to be helped.Finally the manager casually came out from the back room and answered the phone.Then another girl came out to help. At 1:30am a crew of fire fighters came in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank john l
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear john l, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level of the hotel. We strive hard to maintain a quiet and family friendly environment, but we can not control the actions of our guests. In the future, please speak with our front desk staff if there is too much noise,... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The room smelled terribly -- perhaps of insecticide or harsh cleaning products. There were bugs and spiders present in room. Hotel is located in a bad part of town. The designated pet area was not adequate, just a little brick square in the parking lot, with shrubs. Pets were afraid to go near it. I absolutely would not stay there... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cpender4
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear cpender4, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no bugs were found and also the room was rented out, with no further bug complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although we... More 

Lumby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the way down to Ontario, California. We stayed our first night on September 19th, the room was nice and clean, the beds where comfortable and the room smelled good, we had 2 dogs with us. The second night we stayed here on the way back from Ontario,California on September 24th and we had a different room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MountainValleyGirl
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear MountainValleyGirl, Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the cleanliness and fresh smell of your lodgings. It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean and comfortable experience. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and... More 

Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I was quite impressed by the quality for the price. The room was very clean and the quality much better than most budget motels. It was slightly noisy outside in the evening because of some families but not too bad. I only too off one star because I had booked a king size room through a travel agent but was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy O
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Andy O, Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and you enjoyed the of our hotel! I do apologize for the inconvenience and misunderstanding that you encountered, though I'm very glad that this did not detract too much from your overall experience. We look forward to showing you how we have learned... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Motel is another average BW that charges too much but doesn't put quality into how they maintain their overall property. The room I was in could have used some remodeling and it appeared the rest of the hotel was the same. It worked for a quick night. Location was poor.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Aaron M, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments on how we can further improve upon the guest experience are also very helpful to us. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to have your expectations exceeded; I hope... More 

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Handicap One King with Sofa (24)
Viewed
One King with Sofa and Patio (21)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Single Queen (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)
Viewed
Two Queens (21)
Viewed
Two Queens with Patio (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.3 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.4 km away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
456 reviews
0.5 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
2.5 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
2.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range: ₹ 6,634 - ₹ 8,891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles 997JimB, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles Q2749LAscottp, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think any motel would be a better option.”
 of 5 bubbles F4344JDjohnl, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the back by the River to cut the freeway noise”
 of 5 bubbles SantaBarbaraGirl9311, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The quieter rooms are on the back side of the hotel. There is no elevator if that matters to you.”
 of 5 bubbles DCH47, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay