We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haugastol Turistsenter

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haugastol
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Haugastol Turistsenter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

This company claims to be the largest bike rental company for bikes in the Flam area but there are better bikes available. We did a 53 km ride from Finse to Flam on their 8 speed small frame bikes with no suspension that we noticed. It is not an easy track and we were passed on several occasions by people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda P
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed for three nights in the mountain room and everything was wonderful. The bed was super comfortable and facilities were very clean and up to date. The nice hot shower was much appreciated after a long bike ride. The food provided at breakfast and dinner was delicious and the atmosphere was very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kit Y
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel the night before we set off for Flåm through the popular Rallarvegen. The room was a bit old-fashioned, but ok for this purpose. Hotel offers bike rentals and other services related to Rallarvegen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per Christian S
Monaco
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The staff at the hotel are very welcoming and will do all to help you. The rooms are clean and relatively spacious. The food is good but there is not much of a menu choice. The cafeteria area is super charming. This is a great place to stay for someone who wants to take in the beauty of the mountains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpsf68
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

My husband was biking through the area when he started to suffer from hypothermia. He stopped at the Haugastol and Carl and the staff who were working there took care of him until I was able to get there. Thank you very much for you help and care.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessa_Corsilli
Bjørn K, Manager at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the kind words! Hope your husband did well in the race! Let us know if you make it back to Haugastøl another time! (hopefully a bit warmer weather the next time!)

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

This is the third, actually fourth time, coming here. The place improved every time. As always food is super, Liv and the staff are preparing such great breackfast and dinners and the familiar atmosphere is so nice. All the Kaupang family is helping for any request, and I had many. Biørn and Carl, a 7 time freeride kite champion, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank giacomp
Esfahan, Iran
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We have just visited the location as we were passing to the sky center, the place was fine and the coffee was great, the important thins was they easily speak english so you wouldn't have any problem to communicate and order, please try it, and don't miss it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parandi
Bjørn K, Owner at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the kind words! Hope to see you again in Haugastøl!

Drammen, Norway
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a nice 2 bedroom flat (type B), with full kitchen and a fantastic view of the lake. We had breakfast and dinner included, and everything was perfect. The cafe has delisious cakes, and some board-games if the weather is bad. It is situated perfect both for bicycling the Rallarveg, and mountain hiking/cross country skiing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tro201
Bjørn K, Manager at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! We are very happy to hear that you have a had a great stay with us! Hope to see you here again in the near future! Have a great summer!

Texas
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I arrived today after a very long trip from my home in Texas. I came to ride Rallarvegen, though that is looking doubtful to to late snows in the mountain. (This is a risk I took having been advised that I might be too early. Oh well, it was now or never.). I've have been treated extremely kindly since the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mesquit0
Bjørn K, Manager at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Hope you have a great bike trip around in Norway, and looking forward to seeing you again in Haugastøl! If you have any questions along the way please let us know, we will be happy to help! Have a great day!

SF
Reviewed 12 March 2015

We've been staying at Haugastol for three years in a row and I'm always looking forward to my next year's visit. The place is clean and has all the basics that you need. The food is AMAZING and prices are reasonable. The staff is very helpful and always making sure we got what we needed - whether it's wind, ski...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KiteGirlSF
Bjørn K, Owner at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the kind words! We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Haugastøl! Hope to see you here again next winter!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haugastol
21.5 km away
Finse 1222
Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
123 reviews
18.6 km away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
127 reviews
18.9 km away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
62 reviews
19.7 km away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
348 reviews
20.6 km away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The familiy run hotel at Haugastol, 1000 meters above sea level, offers high quality accomodation, meals in our restaurant, a coffee bar, a bike-shop and much more.We are placed just on the edge of the largest highland plateau in Northern Europe with two national parks on our doorstep. - The Hardangervidda and the Hallingskarvet National Park. We are therefore fortunate to be able to offer our guests a uniqe terrain to view and explore.We have free wireless internet for all our guests, and can offer many activities both summer and winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haugastol Turistsenter

Address: Haugastoelvegen 200, Haugastol 3595, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Haugastol
Price Range: ₹ 5,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haugastol Turistsenter staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Haugastol Turistsenter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room will do, they are all similar”
 of 5 bubbles 516perchristians, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Tip: The even numbered rooms in the second floor has the best views of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles anarkistix, 7 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Those facing the lake are obviously more scenic but all are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 960johnp, 22 Apr 2013 | Read review
“The hotel as rooms and apartments of different configurations, so it is worth checking that you get what suits your needs. We had a very roomy two level apartment, meant to fit up to 8 people.”
 of 5 bubbles smbjerke, 9 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Lots of choices in terms of rooms from Dorm to 2/4/8 room apartments, Cook you own for or eat at the Lodge!”
 of 5 bubbles transcanadatom, 22 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5