We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town

Save
Share
180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Courtyard
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (81)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 16/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Updated 16/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 32 in Pasadena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Vietnamese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
137Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
20Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1021Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 379
  • 416
  • 141
  • 55
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zoom_Gotti wrote a review 11 Jun
Henderson, Nevada1347 contributions946 helpful votes
I'm not usually a stickler for regular housekeeping except when I expressly request it. So I did. The afternoon prior to the next day. But nothing happened. Don't know why. Just an apology. Room was OK. Bed good. But second floor isn't such a good idea because there's a ledge below. Try higher. Bistro was functioning and then some newly check-in guests inquired about dinner at 9 PM. I listened as they were told the kitchen was backed up, so no more service that evening. I walked by 45 minutes later and service was up and running. Staffing, I guess? Not much of a selection from their 24 hour food kiosk area. I came back at midnight and the best selection was a packet of tuna with crackers. You can self-park, but there's a cost. Pasadena doesn't allow overnight street parking without a special permit. Lobby area is roomy. and there's a patio with pool and additional seating. In Old Town. Walk to lots of places. Metro rail and bus service very nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for sharing your experience with us and so sorry that your room was not service as requested. I am sorry that we fell short of that minimum expectation. While an apology is nice, a clean room was really all that you wanted. Thanks also for the feedback on restaurant hours and market selection. We do value your input and will definitely put that in the mix for future changes/additions. Thanks again for staying and it did sound like you got to enjoy some of Old Pasadena which always has a lot going on within easy walking distance. Thank you again so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time travels point you in our direction.
Read more
Roxanna D wrote a review May 2022
Dallas, Texas62 contributions53 helpful votes
My son and I checked in to this hotel last Friday for a festival that was happening at the Rowe Bowl over the weekend. The prices seemed high, however I wanted something nice and close to the Rose Bowl. I am a Marriott Rewards Member and I figured this would be nice, even if a little over priced. We arrived around 9pm. Check in was fast, however we were starving and anticipated getting room service for dinner that night. There is NO room service There is not a "real" restaurant. They have a bistro area that closes at 10, where you can order food and pick it up. Once we got our room card, we were not told where the elevator was and walked in the wrond direction. Found one elevator in a back corner off a long hallway. Once to our room we did find another elevator (just one) closer to our room. It is very large hotel and two single elevators on opposite sides of the hotel was not sufficient. The rooms are very outdated and were not up to the ususal Marriott standards. There was a floor lamp in our room that was only standing up because it was leaning on a chair. The little alarm/clock radio was not working. Everything seemed old and outdated. I spoke to another gentleman staying there that is an engineer and he said he and his wife were also very unhappy with the hotel. He also mentioned seeing several city permits that were expired. I didn't see those myself, but seems up to par considering the condition of the hotel. It cost $1300 to stay there for two nights. Total price gouging. I am very dissapointed in Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 18 May 2022
Thank you for letting us know of the challenges during your recent stay. We do apologize if your room was any less than 100% in working order. We should have also better communicated with you about which one of our three elevators would have worked best for you. All have updated permits. While the city can get pricy during special events, we sincerely hope that you did enjoy the music festival. Thank you again for staying with us.
Read more
Matthew H wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Only one of the card keys they gave us worked. I tried to use the bad one when leaving the building while my girlfriend was sleeping. At 1am, when I discovered their mistake, they refused to correct the problem. I was furious because all of my belongings were in that room, including my medication (and my sleeping girlfriend). I suggested that I call the police to straighten things out, and then they threatened to call the police on me because my name wasn't used to book the room. What a terrible hotel filled with incompetent, deplorable idiots! Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 16 May 2022
We were so sorry to hear about your situation. While it was certainly not our intention to have your key not working correctly, I am disappointed to know that it affected you and your stay in such a devastating way. 1:00 am in the morning is usually not the best time to have a situation like this occur. The fine line between customer service (helping you get into the room) and protecting the rights of the registered guest (your girlfriend) are not ones that we take lightly. I am sorry that we did not handle it in a better way that made you feel that we respected your situation, while also helping you to understand why we could not give you access to the room without her permission. We appreciate you sharing your story.
Read more
Julie wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a great time in Pasadena. No complaints, staff were kind and professional, rooms were clean and well maintained. We will be returning next time we travel to the area. The location cant be beat, close to everything!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 5 May 2022
We are so happy that your time spent here was enjoyable and thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. As you said, the location cannot be beat! . We very much look forward to your next visit and we promise you more fun and adventures in the future.
Read more
Rose N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
From the moment we walked in, the hotel was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and breakfast the next morning was very tasty. The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 5 May 2022
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great location. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Until then, we are wishing you safe and happy travels.
Read more
Jackie P wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I work for a health care facility and my employer placed me in this hotel. When I got there, the Hispanic lady was rude to me and was charging me $1,000 for the deposit. I called my director to let him know and he told me to tell her that he knows the manager and that he would be stopping by later to pay the deposit. When I finally told her, she laughed a little and gave me the new price for the deposit which was wayyyyyyyyyyyy smaller than what she originally was charging me. Fast forward, one day at work, I was having a conversation with my co-worker about how rude this lady was to me and she told me that she had a different experience with her. She told me that the lady at the front desk was very nice to her and they act like best friends every time they see each other. She also told me that she had accidentally left her key card inside the room and when she told the lady in the front, the lady in the front lend her another key card so she can open her room and all she had to do was bring it back to the front desk. She also didn't ask her for an I.D. This got me really upset because when I accidentally left my key card inside my room, I told this lady if I can use the card to open my door and that I was going to bring it right back down as soon as I got the door open. She said no and that a worker had to open the door for me and I couldn't just take the card. She literally walked with me all the way up to my room and once she opened my door, she asked to see my I.D. I understand that the hotel has this policy but if you're going to enforce a rule, make sure you enforce it on everyone and not only on people you get along with. I was thinking that maybe the reason why this lady was rude to me was probably that I wasn't Caucasian like my co-worker. I am Hispanic like her. After my stay at the hotel, I wanted to leave a review but in order to do that, they leave a card so you can write your review and at the bottom of the card it says something along the lines that your review will be reviewed first before posting it online. On top of that, I never got my deposit back. I never leave a hotel messy because I try to be considerate of the cleaning employees.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Get a room on the top level near the exit door. It'll take you straight to the parking lot.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 2 May 2022
Thank you for letting us know the challenges with your recent stay. I do sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding as it relates to deposits for incidental charges. While we do authorize $20.00 per day for incidental changes, this should be consistent based on the number of nights you are staying. For example, staying 5 nights, should be a $100.00 authorization. What also should be consistent is that we should check ID for anyone without their key. While it may be tempting for both our staff members and our regular guests that we are familiar with to skip this step, it is important that we remain consistent on this policy. Most of all we sincerely apologize for making you feel any less than the awesome healthcare worker that you are. We appreciate your service and hope that next time travels bring you to Pasadena that you will give us a second chance to be equally as awesome. Until then, be well.
Read more
missmorningstarz wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York34 contributions17 helpful votes
While we normally have great stays here, my Mom was just treated like a random person off the street by the manger on duty. My mom is Black and that clearly has something to do with the way she was just treated. I made the reservation through the Bonvoy app on 4/16 and called the hotel to add my mom’s name to the reservation. Today at check in my mom texted me (it’s 2:30am where I am) to say that the manager “didn’t see the reservation” or my Mom’s name and I had to call. Of course it’s my older and disabled mom so I called. The manager made me give my name, the reservation number, my Bonvoy number and my email. The funny thing is that she didn’t ask for my mom’s name because she clearly had it already. Unfortunately she was the manager on duty so I’ll wait to be in contact with someone else. We’re from Pasadena and have stayed at Marriotts all over the world and this was absolutely unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Thank you for letting us know the recent challenges with your Mom. We will most certainly investigate and share with our team members your comments. We are always looking to improve how we communicate and deal with each individuals needs. Constantly training our team members is an important aspect of our daily routine and real life cases help distill the importance of each interaction. Please know that while these reviews are anonymous and we cannot understand the full details of this particular experience, it is not less important to our entire team. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Read more
Michael O wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
This hotel was perfectly situated in old Pasadena and close to many restaurants and shopping. Will definitely be back! The courtyard and pool area were especially nice and relaxing after a hard day at work.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly enjoyed having you here. Most of all we enjoyed hearing that you had a great time while at the Courtyard Pasadena. We will see you next time travel point you in this direction.
Read more
Clara R wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I have stayed here a lot of times and I just really like and love this hotel. The service it's great front desk people are so welcoming, rooms are nice and clean, it's got a pool that's what my kids love the most in the hotel, the restaurant has a great selection of breakfast and dinner, we loved breakfast they had a omelet bar wich was great the cook was nice and friendly. We will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing the love, kind words and your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. As it continues to heat up (today is 84 degrees F) that pool will feel better and better every day. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
platinummedallion wrote a review Mar 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada38 contributions76 helpful votes
no recognition ever of marriott elite status. refuse to perform housekeeping more often than their "every three days" routine (front desk staff rudely claims there is a "domino effect" given staffing and occupancy). old rooms (had to unplug lights to make room for coffee maker). one week after daylight savings, clock radio still on "old time." thin walls (could easily hear 3:15am party next door). indifferent service and old property. plenty of newer choices in town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Thank you for the details that you provided regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for your experience as we dropped the ball in several areas. We will share your comments with our team to ensure that your voice is heard. We do truly appreciate your Marriott Bonvoy Elite status and apologize that we fell well short of our own expectations regarding recognition and appreciation. We do hope that you will consider staying here again and please feel free to contact me directly the next time travels bring you in our direction.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$187 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott los angeles old pasadena hotel pasadena, courtyard pasadena, courtyard los angeles old pasadena, pasadena marriott, pasadena courtyard
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaPasadena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
314
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Nearby attractions include Old Pasadena (0.3 km), Colorado Boulevard (0.4 km), and IPIC - Pasadena (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Russell's, Cafe Santorini, and Union.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Pasadena.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.