We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Sun Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Royal Sun Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Here for a conference and needed a place that wasn't too far away from downtown or the convention center- this place is a little bit of a walk to anything but hey it's always sunny and warm here so walking isn't too bad. Pros: Service was really nice and friendly and rooms were clean. It's not fancy or ritzy by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. I’m sorry to hear that you experienced an unpleasant amount of noise and trust me, as I tall person, I know what you mean about the low shower....

Camarillo, California
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one Saturday night for Midcentury Modern week. Was given a room on the second floor overlooking the pool and mountains (room 217). My friend's room was next to mine. The first thing I noticed in her room was the fridge was rocking back and forth as if missing a leg! But It was working! Back to my room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camamare
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m sorry to hear that a couple annoyances kept this from being a perfect stay for you but am glad to hear that overall it was a positive experience. I know it isn’t pleasant to receive less than a great night’s sleep so I’ve taken serious note of your comments so that we...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

I made our reservation about 5 weeks in advance and was disappointed when we arrived to find that our room was not ready. We went and had a late lunch then came back at the time thatnice man at the desk guaranteed it would be ready, but surprise! It still was not ready. We asked if we could change into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starshine711
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I’m very sorry to hear that your party had an unpleasant stay at our hotel. I completely understand why the sum total of all of these small annoyances would result in dissatisfaction. We take real pride in offering the best possible value for our guests and I assure you...

Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 13 February 2016

If you or your travel companions allow small things to ruin your travel/lodging experience and you're willing to pay more to have everything right, then the Royal Sun Inn would probably NOT be your first choice. On the plus side this is one of the least expensive places to stay on the Palm Springs Palm Canyon Drive strip. It's convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lewis E
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We value and appreciate your feedback as we strive to continually improve our business and observations, especially from an experienced traveler such as yourself help us a lot. I’m sorry to hear of the few annoyances that you experienced and I know these can take a toll...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I have booked a week at this hotel, while I thoroughly looked over a number of hotels, this one "looked" to be satisfying. When we arrived, there was a number of things that were wrong. We tried to tough it out with our baby and make the best of it but half way through our stay we had to reallocate....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shawna H
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience....

HOUSTON
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Surprised to see all the good amenities I got for the price I paid. It is very decent hotel as is very easily assessable from the downtown. We enjoyed a good night sleep here. Clean and updated rooms. Nice front desk manager. Nice wifi and signal was strong enough to watch my fav Netflix shows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shiazv
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel here in Palm Springs. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 25 December 2015

I love staying at the Royal Sun Inn. It's an older property but it's well maintained, has a great free breakfast and a large pool with plenty of lounge chairs. The management is great, it has the most advanced room locks, nice furniture and is in a great location. Stay here! You won't regret it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RossRRM
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us at our nice little Palm Springs hotel. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I hope you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 December 2015

When we arrived at the Motel, there were not many parking spaces, due to the fact that they were remodeling and the construction workers trucks and building supplies were in the parking spaces. We went out for the day and when we came home I took my shoes off to wash my hands, and the carpet under the sink was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy C
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways and that you experienced an unfortunate maintenance issue with your room. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try...

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 13 December 2015

In a quiet part of town with a couple of nearby restaurants, this is an economy hotel and it shows, the owners are trying hard I guess on a limited budget to improve it , breakfast room is very small with three tables but you could sit outside, the doughnuts and bananas are cut in half to cut costs, parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curatokid
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you had a generally good experience with us, but I’m very concerned that we didn’t live up to your standards or expectations. We take great pride in our hotel, and I hope that shows. We’re also always working to get better. I hope you will give us another chance and see...

Rochdale, UK
Reviewed 2 December 2015

I had not been to Palm Springs before, but chose the Royal Sun Inn as part of a road trip where we were staying in Palm Springs for 1 night. We arrived earlier than the advertised check in time, but our room was ready so we were allowed to check in. The room was large, with a balcony area outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klee_baker
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 71 in Palm Springs
116 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
#40 of 71 in Palm Springs
684 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#56 of 71 in Palm Springs
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.4 km away
Knights Inn Palm Springs
Knights Inn Palm Springs
#12 of 24 in Palm Springs
149 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
#63 of 71 in Palm Springs
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Price Range: ₹ 5,378 - ₹ 15,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Surprise, Arizona

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have an elevator, so choose an upper floor room for great views of the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles 642philipr, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Budget motel at a mid range price under some circumstances. Read the fine print!! If you can get it at a budget rate then it is OK.”
 of 5 bubbles DClayton, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool and mountains each have two beds. Suites are on the end of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4482QTmarkr, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great mountain views.”
 of 5 bubbles PineappleShagette, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“I did not have a car. I was on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Retired-to-Manhattan, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay