We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beachcomber Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Beachcomber Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beachcomber Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Fresno, California
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Thank goodness The Beachcomber Inn is back on track!!! I found the new managers Nicole and Joe to be both caring and professional. Everyone of my needs was taken care of.They even made sure I was booked into a room with recently shampooed carpets. If you want to stay at a great location, with reasonably priced rooms and a friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marla B
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Beachcomber Inn is the last building on Asilomar Blvd so you have nothing between you and the ocean. On the other side is the Fishwife Restaurant so it's quiet except for the crashing of the waves, which I never tire of. The Beachcomber Inn is a diamond in the rough. If the owners would just put some money in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Cathy M
Antioch, California
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber Inn for the first time this week, and I have to say we have found a new place to stay, provided they have a room available for us when we call. When I initially made my reservation, I was so nervous about getting a room for our 31st anniversary that I kept calling, even though...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank waldonmissy
San Jose, CA
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Well, I've written a few reviews and this will be my first 1 star - terrible. I've been going to be Beachcomber for almost 40 years now. It hasn't been renovated during that time, but I've kept going for sentimental reasons. The last couple of years has shown a significant decline once Arlene and Bob left. Now when I say...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank boomerang888
BeachcomberNardone, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and personal opinion of The Beachcomber. We discussed your concerns, and your original reservation was a different room. With the initial reservation I mentioned the king bed because that room that was reserved for you had a king bed and the one you were in had a king bed, I was never given the information...

Reviewed 29 July 2012

I love this hotel! The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are so comfortable!! I'm always welcomed by Nicole at the front desk who goes above and beyond to make me feel like I'm a guest in her home. You get so much for the price, no other hotel offers close access to the best beach in PG, great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JaredN831
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 26 July 2012

we have stayed in the PG/ Monterey area before and have always seen the property. It has a great location a veritable stone's throw from Asilomar beach. Unfortunately, this is its only asset. when we arrived to check-in they were working on something in the lobby so between hammer blows we checked-in. The property still takes reservations on an old...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cjarr6250
BeachcomberNardone, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you so much for your honesty. I appreciate the feedback. To address some of the issues, we are in the process of renovations. My husband and I took over management about 8 weeks ago, there are many things to be done to make this place what it once was. We do offer non smoking rooms, and we do...

San Francisco
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were sadly disappointed in the state of deterioration of accommodations at the Beachcomber. Once a cozy place is now shoddily maintained. The new employees are struggling against an employer who seems clueless as to what is happening at his property. Even some of the staff openly grumbled at the lack of interest and investment by the owner. Cleanliness in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ChristopherHawke
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The problem here is they are charging $102.75. Now if they were charging say $77.75 I would rate them as average. Room was OK and was spacious with big bathroom. But they had this massive rear projection TV that must have been 100 inch screen taking up a lot of space and it did not work!! As far as location...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lee M
salinas
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This looks like or is a 1950 style motel. Second floor gives a better view of the ocean. Amenities are few, you see what you get and pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wesleyf f
beachbum369, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest appraisal. We look forward to seeing you again.

Wilton, CA
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This place is very strange...the office is never open; if you call to make a reservation, you get voice mail and they don't call you back; the phone in the room doesn't work; the carpets are filthy; people will wake you up at the crack of dawn with yelling across the parking lot or letting their kids run up and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jacksondlz
beachbum369, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review

Our office is open 8:00 AM to 10:30 AM and 3:00 PM to 5:30 PM. The office phone is answered by staff during office hours and forwarded to Monterey Reservations when the office is closed. Phones in guest rooms work for local calls only; no long distance. The rude behavior of some guests, and their children (staying with us for...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
1.6 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
692 reviews
0.4 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
254 reviews
0.5 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Asilomar Conference Grounds
#10 of 17 in Pacific Grove
697 reviews
1.3 km away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
403 reviews
2.0 km away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Address: 1996 Sunset Dr, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3787
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Price Range: ₹ 4,025 - ₹ 9,346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Pacific Grove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachcomber Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Beachcomber Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 26 is nice, with a grande back porch overlooking greenery. Nice comfortable king size bed.”
 of 5 bubbles mogador2004, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floors are the only ones with Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles reginas1986, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Really none.”
 of 5 bubbles Expresso1, 1 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Ticks, thermostats falling off the wall, NO phone...it is hard to advise which to choose.”
 of 5 bubbles jacksondlz, 15 May 2013 | Read review
“Book a room at another hotel near by.”
 of 5 bubbles h20dreams5, 8 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay