We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dolphin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Dolphin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2014

This is a nice hotel hidden in the city. The obvious renovations have shown that the owners and staff care about their place. The staff was so genuine and friendly. For extended stay they offer what you need to feel at home. As soon as I walked into my room I could tell before I turned on the lights that... More 

Helpful?
Thank patsat74
dhotel12, General Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Regards, Dolphin Hotel. More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights the weekend of my birthday. The room was exactly as I needed it to be! Perfectly cozy for my boyfriend and I . Walking distance from the water! I parked for free on Thursday and did not have to move my car until Saturday afternoon when I left. The rooms come with a fridge/microwave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily P
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently, we stayed at the Dolphin Hotel in Oceanside for a long weekend. Not wanting a resort atmosphere or to spend a ton of $$$ on lodging, we booked the Dolphin Hotel online. How impressive!! The historic, quaint hotel was charming, clean and had the nicest staff. The location was perfect, allowing us to WALK to the beach, pier, shopping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The employees here are so kind and talkative. There are free boogie boards! Super bonus!!! Just a couple blocks the beach and close to the night life. Had such a great time. Thank you Neil!!! Brian, Lindsay and friend

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Oceanside was FANTASTIC and our visit wouldn't have been as sweet without our stay at Dolphin. Neil and Daryl were superb and directed us to all the "must sees" while we were there. Not to mention the Charm of this old hotel (which was built in 1926). If you want a down to earth, accommodating, unique, and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jenn M
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

La Jolla, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Older hotel close to beach, movie therater, places to eat. Very friendly and helpful at front desk. Off street parking was not ideal in this part of town but ok. Place was a bit noisy. The heat was not working on this unusually chilly Friday night. We were provided with a portable unit, which stopped working late night so cuddled... More 

Helpful?
Thank M M
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We work very hard at trying to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay. We thank you for your valuable feed back and rectified the issues that caused your stay to... More 

Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The room we were in was like a movie set for a tenement. The doorknob fell off from the inside. The sheets had cigarette burns and stains. We pre-paid, but we should have just left. Junkies and cockroaches in the lobby. On the other hand, if you want to demonstrate to a visitor the actual bottom rung of society in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Urizen
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We work very hard at trying to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay. We thank you for your valuable feed back and rectified the issues that caused your stay to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Dolphin Hotel and was pleasantly surprised! The owners and staff are very friendly and accomodating. About 1 blk from the train station and 2 blks from the beach! A variety of restaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby. Although a typical beach town with its share of transients and undesireables, the Dolphin Hotel does a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My fiance and I simply wanted a place to stay for a reasonable price for a quick romantic getaway. On the surface this hotel seemed reasonable enough at over $100 a night. We got to the hotel to check in after movie, dinner and a walk the on the pier at 11 pm. While brushing teeth the sink backed up... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank FuntoTravelwithmylov
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

First let me thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Dolphin Hotel. We are committed to providing a clean affordable hotel for our guests. We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience and I can assure you that we have alerted our housekeeping staff and front desk to handle these situations better... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This place blows every other place out of the water in regards to customer service! I have never felt so attended to! Nick is AWESOME!!! (He deserves a raise!) He was so helpful right from the get go, telling us places to check out for food and drink and also how to get around the town. He checked on us... More 

Helpful?
Thank teachernichole
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
0.4 km away
Southern California Beach Club
0.3 km away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
#8 of 28 in Oceanside
481 reviews
1.7 km away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
2.5 km away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 28 in Oceanside
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome! We are a 25 room economy hotel conveniently located in downtown Oceanside, California. We offer deep discount daily and weekly rates. The hotel is ideally located 4 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from the Oceanside train/bus transit center, which offers mass transportation to all areas throughout the county. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Hotel

Address: 133 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-3089
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Price Range: ₹ 3,341 - ₹ 5,387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Oceanside
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book directly with hotel to save.”
 of 5 bubbles 838mm, 17 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Urizen, 26 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Choose triple room.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH282, 28 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel are larger. Street noise during the day but pretty quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles talldebib, 10 Jul 2013 | Read review
“No matter what room you end up in, they are a nostalgia lovers dream!”
 of 5 bubbles w0rldtravelera, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5