We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jack London Inn

Expedia.comUS$ 101*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 114*
US$ 101*
Great Deal
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Jack London Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jack London Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Great location and safer than it looked initially. Lift was broken had to lug suitcases to 3rd floor. Room was ok. Beds were a little hard. The noise from the trains was very loud and intrusive. Breakfast was good but you had to be in early to get any food. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neecie_1
Highland, California
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We wanted to have a little short getaway at San Francisco but most of the hotels are booked so we went with this hotel in neighboring Oakland instead. So when we arrived at the hotel, we told by the front desk staff that we got a reservation for 2 rooms. They immediately told us that due to some "unfortunate" circumstances,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank yatmetalhead
Oceanside, California
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

If you are traveling to the Oakland/Emeryville area, bust your budget and find a hotel better than this one which was arguably the worst place I've ever stayed. Cold water in the shower, nasty bathtub, faucet was loose, a spark flew of the electrical outlet when I tried to plug in my phone, just feet from the train tracks noisy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
San Diego, California
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed at the Jack London Inn for two nights. The hotel is simple, but the rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable and the shower had decent pressure and plenty of hot water. It has free parking and is close to several good restaurant and entertainment at the Jack London Square. For the price it is a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcirtapp
Rolando C, General Manager at Jack London Inn, responded to this review

Hello There, First of All, I would like to thank you for you review! Secondly, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Jack London Inn- Oakland. We hope you travel to Oakland again soon and be sure to contact me let when you're coming so we can reserve a room for you. Thanks, Rolando...

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

So I traveled to oakland because it was my first time I ever traveled to California. The price was right and it was right next to the waterfront and close to transportation. Service was awesome from the front desk and I even got an upgraded room. The room was neat, clean and met my needs. I would recommend staying if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthonytravels24
Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We had been driving all day, so this little inn was a welcome relief. The neighborhood and look of the public areas of the hotel are a little scary, but once you get into your room it's really well-maintained and cute! We felt safe and slept soundly in spite of being right across the street from an amtrack, we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cayla G
Rolando C, General Manager at Jack London Inn, responded to this review

Hi Cayla, Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a wonderful review I am so glad that you guy's had great stay with us here at Jack London Inn- Oakland. We hope you travel to Oakland again soon and be sure to let us know when you're coming so we can reserve a room for you. We...

Reviewed 2 June 2016

The only positive think was the roooms have been clean, and plenty of restaurants in close distance. The train during the night was really horrible, the breakfast bad, the parking lot was not looking safe at all. Car next to us had broken glass next morning. Misconfusing reservation so i was billed 3-times. No refund of the blocked amount so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
India
Reviewed 23 May 2016

very friendly service and courteous people specially the front desk guy Mr Niraj and not the least , very freindly service by Mr Amit the breakfast attendent who is very energetic and active........he is also well known for the local activities , can be a very good guide to the people who check in there........happy to stay there...my stay over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kasuka2016
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Worst place to stay. No microwaves in most rooms. NO cable. NO AC!!!!! No ICE, no lobby with microwave. No breakfast. Soda machines all out of order. Who ever say this place is great probably have lived in hell before and this was a one step upgrade. I recommend to spend a little more elsewhere than be stuck at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yee X
Modesto, California
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed on Friday the 13th, it was a horror. The hotel is filthy, the mattress was broken, walls thin, towels stiff and scratchy. We should have left when we noticed other guests were walking the halls with belongings in trash bags.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinestanion

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 km away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.3 km away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 km away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#25 of 49 in Oakland
229 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.8 km away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Jack London Inn

Address: 444 Embarcadero W, Oakland, CA 94607-3706
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range: ₹ 6,012 - ₹ 8,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack London Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Jack London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Oakland
Jack London Oakland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jack London Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Jack London Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“NOT on the front facing the street (and railroad tracks - active trains!)”
GeorgiaShrink, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid all rooms”
RichardM869, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here unless all you care about is location.”
sandybudziszewskis, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the 4th floor ;)”
15caylag, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
alened2014, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 101* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 104
PricelineUS$ 104
CancelonUS$ 114
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates