We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Special Offer
Romance by the Dock
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 640: English reviews
Start your review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
 Click to rate
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Enjoyed the time spent and the service provided by the staff. I felt welcome and cared for by everyone I encountered during my stay. No request was responded to as unreasonable. This hotel is conveniently located near lots of places to eat, shop, and play. If you not a walk along the waterfront type of person, you can go bowling...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank IkesEx
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Brought the kids for a quick "stay-cation" at this landmark lodge. What a neat building, fantastic views, lovely in-room amenities, and just a hop-skip-and-a-jump to the one-and-only Everett & Jones BBQ. We enjoyed the nearby passing train whistle and didn't need the thoughtfully provided earplugs. Sumptuous bedding, fun nautical decor. Appreciated the superior service provided by Lisa at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eastbayseniorcom2017
Antioch, CA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I hosted an event at the Waterfront this weekend and booked 5 sleeping rooms. Here's my experience: EVENT - Michelle, the Event Manager was awesome! She was patient with me and was always available to answer my many questions. It was a private birthday celebration that was held in the Spinnaker Rooms. I got so many positive compliments regarding the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebwhyte
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear ebwhyte, This is the kind of review we love to read! Thanks for staying at the Waterfront and your wonderful comments about Michelle and our team. Our goal is to provide you a relaxing fun experience. I have shared your feedback with my team and we'll look into the items you pointed out for improvement. Please come back and...

Minneapolis
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the waterfront is my home away from home. I have to travel to the east bay often for business, and there is no other place I will stay. Comfortable, great staff, fabulous location, valet, and safe. I especially love the rooms with balcony's and I love the sound of the bay at night! Thanks Waterfront staff, you always make me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EpicuriousHeidi
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear EpicuriousHeidi, Your 5 Star review of the Waterfront just made our day! Our team is passionate about creating and delivering memorable experiences. We would love to have you back when your travels bring you back to the area. Thanks for staying with us. All the best, Chris

Sacramento
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great restaurants, Yoshi's, and the US Potomac are all within walking distance. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. I recommend looking for discounts as the regular price is a bit high, but you won't regret your stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sactokaren
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sactokaren, Thanks for the great review of our property. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation of our hotel. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best, Chris

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay here when I have conferences to attend in Oakland. Walking distance to all the restaurants in the Jack London Square area. Clean rooms, and you can open the windows for fresh air on the harbor side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trametes
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trametes, Thank you so much for your 5 star review. it's really good to know our team was able to deliver the experience you deserved. Please come back and stay with us again soon. We value your loyalty to our hotel. All the best, Chris

Placerville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a nice, easy overnight getaway. The front desk was very accomodating in getting us a room prior to actual check in check in. The room was clean,quiet and comfortable. The farmers market on Sunday was wonderful. Our only issue was finding breakfast on a Monday morning. The cafe associated with the hotel had a very limited menu, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 108deenap
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear 108deenap, Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property. I will certainly pass these along to our team. I have also passed along your comments about our restaurant to our Chef. i know the restaurant's goal is to provide every guest with a high quality breakfast and outstanding service. We hope to see you...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is great to be right on the water on Jack London Square. It is also great to have ferry service to SF right at the hotel as well as Bart and Amtrak. The nautical theme is pretty heavy and kitschy but ok. It is comfortable and nice enough, but the front desk doesn't try that hard and it looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expectquality1942
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear Expectquality1942, Thank you for taking time to write your review and for staying with us. We are in the process of updating some furnishings in our hotel during the first part of this year. I'll also share your comments to our team so that we can use this as a way to improve our services. We always want to...

Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked the Waterfront Hotel. It's worth the extra to look out over the boats and water. I could see staying there and taking the ferry everywhere else. It is right next to the dock. I do have a little fault with the cost of parking, but it seems that many of the hotels are generating extra revenue that way....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg W, Thank you so much for staying with us. We certainly appreciate your kind words concerning our property. We're glad you enjoyed the amazing balcony room facing the water. Please come back and see us again! All the best, Chris

El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Average hotel that gets the basics right. Clean rooms, updated furnishings, nice nautical themes. A couple of quirks-have to go outside to get to half the hotel, tiny elevators, no breakfast place, tiny lobby, loud trains, poor neighborhood. Would be a good option at $150 but they practice surge pricing and you will pay eye-popping prices around $400. Don't do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank passingthrough95
Waterfront H, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Dear Passingthrough95, Thanks so much for staying with us. I am disappointed you did not have the experience your were expecting. I do want to let you know we have a full service restaurant (Lungomare) on site and that we offer room service as well. Again thanks for giving us a try. All the best, Chris

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Bay Suite (30)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
City View Double Double (25)
Viewed
Polar Delux Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Water Balcony King (25)
Viewed
Water Balcony King Suite (33)
Viewed
Water View King (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.9 km away
Oakland Marriott City Center
3.3 km away
Executive Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.1 km away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
2.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range: ₹ 12,034 - ₹ 27,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Des Moines, Iowa
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 254 has a great view of boats, estuary and Alameda”
 of 5 bubbles eastbayseniorcom2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the train tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles sactokaren, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the harbor side for both the view and the quiet. A train passes the other side and is quite loud.”
 of 5 bubbles trametes, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Save yourself the money on a balcony room. It isn't worth it and really overlooks the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 108deenap, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for second floor and water view”
 of 5 bubbles expectquality1942, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5