We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Northern Queen Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Northern Queen Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Northern Queen Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

First off reading the Responses left by management for reveiws feel insince and insulting when reading the same response over and over for the negative aspects blaming new ownership for everything instead of taking responsibility for situations that could have been delt with in a more appropriate manner.I would rather see no response ! We like this place the property...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jacquiflmoon
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello jacquiflmoon, Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate knowing what we can be doing differently to make our guests' stay better. Our restaurant has been down for a few years and there is no plans to open it back up until next year, rather than for events. Our pool and hot tub are fully functional and open now....

Reviewed 1 May 2015

I wasn't sure we would make it up the stairs because of the visible decay on the wood. We went back twice trying to get one room with two beds and gave up. The room was icy (literally) when we walked in but we were able to figure out how to get the room heater started. The sheets were clean....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Linda L
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Linda, We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the greatest experience while visiting our hotel. We are in the process of remodeling the whole property, but since it is such a big property, we can only take care of one task at a time. We don't leave the heat or air conditioning running while rooms are vacant...

Napa, California
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Stayed here for the holidays because of traveling with pets. This is the biggest plus and not to be taken lightly. Rooms were spacious. Now the bad starting with cleanliness. Tile grout in the bathroom was darkly stained streaks that show a long history of neglect. Several hairs of varying types littered the bathroom floor and the toilet paper roll...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Bryan K
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bryan K, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Northern Queen Inn. We have been under new ownership since June, and we have been trying to pick the place back up. So far, we have put new beds in all of the rooms, replaced the furniture in about half of...

Klamath Falls, Oregon
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We stayed in a cabin at the Northern Queen Inn for three days over the Christmas holiday, and we were very satisfied with our accommodations. Yes, the cabin is outdated in decor, but that is reflected in the price. Our cabin was immaculately clean, cozy, and private. Living room had a nice gas fireplace stove that cozied the place up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaWen
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello GrandmaWen! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since June, when we got new owners, we have been upgrading all of the rooms on the property. Hopefully soon, all of the decor will be updated. Thanks for your suggestion about the breakfast, it always helps to know what will make our guest's stay better....

Reviewed 24 December 2014

This motel is like staying at motel 6, but at a higher rate. Bed was hard as a rock and decor stock in late 80's & early 90's. Plumbing backed and had to run water for ten minutes to get hot water. And what's up with the 17" inch TV? Room comes with a miny mint frig with broken handle...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Jerry C
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Jerry C, We are sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with your stay with us. We are under new ownership, and have been trying to upgrade the rooms since June. We have put in brand new beds, new carpet, and new furniture in about half of the rooms. We are in the process of ordering new refrigerators, getting new...

Cerritos, California
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Allow me to preface this review by saying that I RARELY give poor reviews. Normally I save my public opinion for positive reviews because I know how much negative feedback can hurt a company nowadays. With this being said, I feel that refraining from sharing my experience at the Northern Queen Inn would being doing my fellow globetrotters a disservice....

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank MShelbourn
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello MShelbourn, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't what you had expected. After new ownership, we became a bit short staffed in our housekeeping department. We have now hired new housekeepers to ensure that rooms are fully clean by check in time. When the hotel was first sold, the beds were past their time. We...

Fairfax, California
Reviewed 2 December 2014

we recently stayed at this motel on Halloween night 2014. let me say this is the most poorly run inn in northern California. We were put next to guests that spent the entire night breaking up the room, fighting with each other, screaming smoking drugs, blasting music and all this going on while the motel did nothing to correct the...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank gary P
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Gary P, We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your stay with us on Halloween. Usually we have no issues with loud guests causing problems on our property. As soon as our front office personnel gets a complaint about another guest on the property, we either call the room, or if needed, call the police....

Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over 10 years ago so we decided to visit again... We arrived early receptionist gave us a room a bottom room was reserved for us we asked for an upper and it was granted. We asked about local restaurants and was given a map and suggestions of places to eat she was very nice & helpful. she...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria G
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Victoria! We are very excited about all of our new changes. We can't wait to have the restaurant up and running next year, and we are also getting ready to get the train rides started again. Staying clean and tidy is very important to us, and we are glad that it met your standards. Also, we are very happy...

Morro Bay, California, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This is our 2nd annual stay at NQ. We left another motel for this one and so glad we did. The restaurant was closed but is supposed to open in November some time. It used to be very good and there is no reason it won't be when it opens. Rooms are very comfy, Cabins are quaint and quiet. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johntrak
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Johntrak! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our restaurant is opening sometime in 2015 rather than in November, but we are very excited about getting it going again. Opening the pool was also very exciting. This isn't exactly the time of year to go swimming, but at least there's an option now....

Park City, Utah
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have stayed at this facility several times over the last 15 years so I knew exactly what to expect. I called NQ and booked my reservation directly with them. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the facility was not crowded when we stayed. We have always stayed in a cabin and did so again this visit. The cabins are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turtlelady_12
Hamid K, General Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Turtlelady_12! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our cabins and chalets are many guests favorite aspects of our hotel. We have recently put in new carpets, furniture, and beds in all of our rooms. We are hoping that guests will have an even better stay with these new upgrades. Many people have been disappointed that...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.7 km away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
139 reviews
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
331 reviews
5.7 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.1 km away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Northern Queen Inn

Address: 400 Railroad Ave, Nevada City, CA 95959-2868
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Price Range: ₹ 7,095 - ₹ 10,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Queen Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Northern Queen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Queen Hotel Nevada City
Northern Queen Nevada City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Queen Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Queen Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have cabins!”
 of 5 bubbles mariop205, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a cabin”
 of 5 bubbles Dateleaf, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs would probably be more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles engrmom, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cabins and Chalets are great and worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles johntrak, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not use the website to book this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles E2153LWcarols, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay