We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Northern Queen Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northern Queen Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Northern Queen Inn
 Click to rate
Lincoln, California
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We booked a chalet and it was great! Young lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Room was clean but could use an update. We will definitely stay here again when we need a place in the area for a night or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyECV
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been staying here for about the last 12 years. I recently stayed in the cabins and had a very good stay. The cabins are free standing and have one bedroom, one bath, kitchen and living room. They have a free standing fireplace that can be used to heat the room. I had a very quit nights sleep and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winecountrylovers
Reviewed 29 December 2016

My wife and I decided to take a random road trip Christmas weekend and we needed a place to crash. Went on Expedia and this place came up. What a blessing that was! As soon as I got there I was greeted by the front desk attendant with a big Merry Christmas! His name tag said his name was Happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario P
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We stayed here while visiting Nevada City for Victorian Christmas. We generally had a pleasant stay in one of the one bedroom (single level) cabins. Cons: -no functioning wi-fi -disorganized if booking through third party online booking (definitely confirm your reservation, room and rate multiple times); they lost our reservation (this was a headache) -small shower stall -rooms are worn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dateleaf
Fair Oaks, California
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Arrived in the pouring rain to a rushing river going through the property. The property is beautiful. They have a pool and hot tub, which we did not use but that looked very nice. Breakfast was included. Hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, assorted pastries, fruits and juices/coffee. Rooms are very basic and aged, but very clean. Cable tv had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darin49ers
Rosa T, Front Office Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello darin49ers, Thank you for your helpful feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and everything that we have to offer. It's great to hear what our guests appreciated most while staying with us. We would love to see you again soon! Best Regards, The Northern Queen Inn

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Really just the worst. DO NOT stay here. There are air bnb's with a better rate and better accommodations and no headache! As mentioned in other comments, the wifi that is advertised does not work at all, ever. They told us "Comcast is coming to look at it" and that they'd try resetting the router in the meantime. Hilarious, now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jreel9889
Rosa T, Front Office Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Reviewed by jreel9889, I am so very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent visit here at the Northern Queen Inn. We try our best to make sure everything at our hotel is in running smoothly and in working order. Having said that, there are times when things do not work out as we had...

Windsor, California
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is no luxury or boutique hotel, but it was quaint and comfortable, and conveniently located for the wedding we were going to. We stayed in a cabin. No complaints. We would stay here again, if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonomamon
Rosa T, Front Office Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sonomamon, I am very glad to hear that your last stay with us was a pleasant one. We hope the next time you are in Nevada City, you will come visit us again! Best Regards, The Northern Queen Inn

Santa Rosa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We have stayed there several times over the years, but the most recent experience was very disappointing. No room service between the 2 nights. Drapes wouldn't open. Exterior features show a lot of deferred maintenance. The best part is the nice location and setting, and the included breakfast was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
Rosa T, Front Office Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bob C, I am sorry to hear that your last stay with us was less than satisfactory. We are currently working to improve and repair our property. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will come give us another try, so that we may provide you with a superior hotel experience. Best Regards, The...

Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here for a wedding, with lots of friends. We had a basic motel room, which was very dated and in dire need of a renovation. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, linens thin and old. The sink and bath area had cracked tile, dirty grout, and was just generally dingy. Some friends were in cabins, which were just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DNWA
Rosa T, Front Office Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello DNWA, Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our full breakfast and spacious grounds. We are now offering train rides through the extended areas of our property, over to the local Railroad Museum, which is located just around the corner from us. I hope that the next time you are...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We rented a cabin for our family of four. There was only one bed, so they gave us a roll away and our other teen slept on the couch. Breakfast was good We enjoyed the train ride to the museum. We felt our stay was a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 180danaj
Rosa T, Front Office Manager at Northern Queen Inn, responded to this review

Hello 180danaj, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and that you had a pleasant time on the train ride. It is always great to hear what our guests enjoyed most during their time here. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, The Northern Queen Inn

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.7 km away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
140 reviews
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
334 reviews
5.7 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.1 km away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Northern Queen Inn

Address: 400 Railroad Ave. (Sacramento St. Exit Off Highway 49), Nevada City, CA 95959
Region: United States > California > Nevada City
Price Range: ₹ 6,752 - ₹ 9,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Queen Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Northern Queen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Queen Hotel Nevada City
Northern Queen Nevada City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Queen Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Queen Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have cabins!”
 of 5 bubbles mariop205, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a cabin”
 of 5 bubbles Dateleaf, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs would probably be more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles engrmom, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cabins and Chalets are great and worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles johntrak, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not use the website to book this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles E2153LWcarols, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5