We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Masterpiece Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Masterpiece Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Masterpiece Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Convenient location. Friendly staff who accomodated my request for a quiet room. Nice to have a hot tub and rec room available though I did not use them. Linens adequate. Bed was comfortable. The problem is that there is no AC in the room. we tried to leave the sliding door open at night for cooler air. This plan failed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulita S
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. As in much of California it has been exceptionally hot this year. Our apologies for not having air conditioning. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel

Mission Viejo
Reviewed 23 October 2014

We only did an overnight. The room was nice, the wine and cheese took the edge off our hnger before dinner and breakfast was good. The only problem we had was that it was too warm; theceiling fan could not cool the room down enough to ake sleep comfortable and the road noise made it tough to sleep.... The traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatandLeePHRFUN
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We recommend always calling us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Grand Coulee, Washington
Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night for a friend's wedding. The rooms and building are beautiful. Staff was very friendly. Only issues were that the room was so hot we had a really hard time sleeping. Bed was very comfortable though. Also the vanity area wasn't real clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Badjer21
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your feedback. We have notified housekeeping regarding the vanity. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel

Yuba City, California
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Stayed at Masterpiece Hotel and really enjoyed it. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and large, beds comfortable, complimentary continental breakfast, and wine and crackers and cheese in the afternoon. There was a spa and even washer and dryer in the building. Room was a little noisey in the mornings from traffic in the back of the building, only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caflynn
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to know of your enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to once again providing you with another wonderful stay. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'll want. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Montrose, New York
Reviewed 3 October 2014

A very nice motel in Morro Bay on the main north south street, walking distance from the waterfront shops/restaurants. Nice people and the rooms all have good reproductions of art masterpieces and small terraces but, alas, no view. Good, basic breakfast. Less pricey than the ones at the water and definitely worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce G
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are in a good location for just about anything you want to do in town. We hope to see you again. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Oro Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 2 October 2014

On a whim we decided to stay the night in Morrow Bay. We booked it online after reading some great reviews. We were not disappointed. In fact, the staff was so welcoming and friendly! We were offered a complimentary glass of wine upon check-in and reminded to come down for a complimentary Continental Breakfast in the morning. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle N
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

The staff thanks you for the lovely review. It pleases us to know you enjoyed your time with us. Be sure to call us direct on your next visit to our area so you can get the best rate and exact room type you'll need. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Davidson, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We have travelled extensively in the US and abroad and can honestly say that this is the most pleasant stay ever. It is evident that every item and service are intentionally designed for the traveller. They have not forgotten anything. The Washer/dryer, iron and ironing board were very clean, in top condition, and easy to use. We arrived after a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee G
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. We are very pleased to know we met your expectations. It would be our privilege to once again provide you with a superior experience on your next trip to the Central Coast. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Overall the hotel is clean, but small. Be careful of your room with a "balcony" if on the first floor, because it is basically a patio that faces the parking lot. This makes it noisy if you want to leave your sliding door open to let fresh air in. No AC so the room was a little stuffy after being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arcefam1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. Your feedback is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotwire. I'm glad I got it. It was a wonderful stay. The personnel is helpful, the hotel is filled with lovely artwork and it is clean. It also offers a complimentary wine and cheese tasting in late afternoon. A continental breakfast is also included. The hotel is within walking distance to the touristy harbor area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 275LucM
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. Happy Travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 7 September 2014

I stayed there a couple months ago with my wife. We stayed in a Deluxe King room on a Friday, Saturday getaway. Since this was for our anniversary, we spent a bit more than we normally do for weekend getaways. If we return to Morro Bay, we'd pick a different place to stay because I feel it was overpriced. Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A A
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. However our rates are competitive with other hotels in our area. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
814 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
653 reviews
2.0 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
575 reviews
0.9 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
354 reviews
0.5 km away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range: ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 15,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Masterpiece Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Garden Grove, California, United States
over a year ago
Fallbrook, California
20 days ago
Pismo Beach, California
5 months ago
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Masterpiece Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The master suite (3rd floor) is extremely private and offers great views.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 224.”
  • I converted the night stand into my dresser
  • heater
  • Stains on seat cushion of other chair
  • Where the dresser should have been
  • Stains on seat cusion of chair
  • Where the dresser should have been
  • Hole on bottom of sofa cushion
 of 5 bubbles LukeM102, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles 970marke, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“top floor may have views facing the harbor & rock”
 of 5 bubbles 241krystak, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors facing Morro Rock might provide a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles amfancy, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5