We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2016

You have to understand that this is not a high end hotel, its a budget property with great friendly staff, comfortable, but basic rooms and a location that's handy for those wanting something out of the middle of the city. We turned up after a long flight from the UK, staff were more than willing to provide us with helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScampinIzzy
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ScampinIzzy, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate all the wonderful comments you made in your review because it gives my staff an understanding of what our guests are expecting. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and were satisfied with your stay. Even though we have met your expectations...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Our stay in Markland Best Western, before and after our 7 day bus tour, was very comfortable one and we do admire the reception staff who are always ready to help us. Excellent location close to downtown LA.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandradurage R
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandradurage R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and even found our location convenient since we are located in Southern California around 10 minutes away from Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes away from many of the other major attractions in the area...

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The hotel is very nice and clean, staff amazing and I had the best firm bed I ever had! The front desk employee couldn't checked me in early but she propose to keep my luggage for me and even use a fridge for my perishable items. The flooring is made out of wood, so it is kind of noisy

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraW1974
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlexandraW1974, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your overall stay, and I am glad my front desk was able to accommodate you from the start of your stay. If you are ever in the Los Angeles area, please do not hesitate to call us at (323) 887-1988 or...

Reviewed 22 September 2016

This location was close to the highway and was a major convenience for us as we were traveling. We had a shocking experience at breakfast time and had to eat our breakfast standing. There was even people eating in the Lobby area and we saw some taking their breakfast away, maybe to their rooms?

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. I am glad you found out location convenient because we are located in Southern California right in between major tourist attractions such as Disneyland, Universal Studies, Hollywood, and others. I apologize about your experience during our breakfast. I am working...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived after a long flight from Germany and were welcomed very friendly! Room and service were good (obviously no 5-Star premium Hotel). Breakfast better than expected. Left after a short night as planned. It's located a bit far out, if you are planning on doing sightseeing/tourist stuff. But has a good connection to the next highway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christoph U
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I booked the hotel and found many website offered lower price and immediately sent the claim. (They offer price matching) However, they waited and by the time they checked the internet the rate had gone up and they will not match the price. Since you never know when they check the websites and you're not guaranteed. Unless you're super lucky,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank may1214
Shaken not Stirred!
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We selected this hotel for it's proximity to Universal Studios (1/2 hr), and because over the years Best Western seemed to offer good quality for reasonable cost. This hotel is conveniently located right off the frwy. When we walked into the elevators, we wondered what we were getting into, as the wall panels were old and filthy. Our room smelled...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank El-Guapo-de-La-Noche
Temecula, United States
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Excellent room and value for the rate. All other hotels in the area were booked, so this was a last option. Bathroom was not the cleanest due to a toilet issue, but other than this it was safe and clean overall. I would stay there again. It is not the usual Hilton or Marriot we're used to; however, I would...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary M, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at our property. I do want to apologize about the incident with the bathroom. We are in the process of renovations throughout our property. We are addressing any issues we may have, and...

Phoenix, United States
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. The front desk people were very friendly. The breakfast room was small we had to take our food back to our room because there was no room to sit and they ran out of waffle batter on the first day so I didn't get one the whole time we were...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle J
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janelle J, First, I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. My staff and I try our best to assist our guests’ while they stay here, and I am glad to hear you enjoyed my staff and your room. I apologize about the limited spacing we have...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Do not check into room 105. It is opposite employees' office, and they are slamming the door until 11 pm and again from 5 am. Surroundings og hotel pretty dull. Nowhere to go and eat. The rooms are ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agrau
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Agrau, I appreciate the time you took to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I have informed my staff about your experience and shared with them that they need to respect our guests and make sure to not make loud noises that may interfere with our guests’ stay. Unfortunately,...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
89 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
5.2 km away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Pico Rivera
12.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
23.2 km away
Best Western PLUS Gardena Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at this prestigious Monterey Park, California hotel where elegance and comfort meet commitment and customer service.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is a property offering excellent lodging accommodations for any vacation or business trip to the Los Angeles area. Hotel guests will have access to an exercise facility, and Jacuzzi®. Guest accommodations feature spacious bathrooms with granite, Sealy® Posturepedic pillow-top mattress on each bed, free high-speed Internet access and cable television (CNN®, Fox News, Fox Sports, ESPN®, and HBO®). This Monterey Park hotel also offers flexible meeting space and facilities for outside catering.Hotel guests will have easy access to the 60 freeway, offering convenient travel to Disneyland®, Universal Studios® Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and old town Pasadena.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is the best choice for style, sophistication and location. A professional and friendly staff is dedicated to making each traveler's stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel

Address: 434 Potrero Grande Dr, Monterey Park, CA 91755-7324 (Formerly Monterey Park Days Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > California > Monterey Park
Price Range: ₹ 5,432 - ₹ 10,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Markland Motel
Best Western Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a deluxe room if they are available, but don't think that will change much.”
 of 5 bubbles zy_rox, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in an upper floor room to avoid floor squeaks from visitors above.”
 of 5 bubbles G7241NNwilliamw, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quite floors”
 of 5 bubbles emanuelholdman11, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask to stay on the top floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the open ground”
 of 5 bubbles ScampinIzzy, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 845bretts, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5