We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stevenson Monterey

Show Prices
#21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Stevenson Monterey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stevenson Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
Hull
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We found the Stevenson to be a well positioned, retro-feel motel which is clean & well preserved to it's original style. The only downside was the excessive vehicle noise from trucks emptying bins at the nearby garage at 6am each morning - peace shattering experience to say the least.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HKRDave
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely 4 star review. You felt we were clean and well preserved to an original style. Actually we added air conditioners and that is something put to good use this last summer. The larger percentage of Monterey hotels do not have AC. Come again soon and enjoy our "cool" experience. You can walk 12 minutes to...

North Wales
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This was a nice place to stay and we were very happy with it. The staff were nice. The rooms were nice and clean. The location was good, with only a 10 minute walk to the water front and it had a pool and underground car park. My only criticism was the weakness of the wifi. It kept falling out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamie s
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for a very nice 4 star review. You felt the staff was nice, with clean rooms and a good location. Please visit us again soon. Thank you for recommending us.

Tuolumne, California
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here because it was a lot cheaper a night than our usual stay place. Do NOT let the pictures fool you. The room was ok, except for the shower that leaked so bad, it took two large towels to sop up. Then the "repairmen" literally just helped themselves into our room while we were laying in bed, we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie T
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry we could not meet your expectations that one night. This room has a unique problem we are handling. WE have a 24 hours front desk with free wifi, 24 hour coffee service, and a free continental breakfast in the morning with waffles. We are within 3 blocks of 50+ restaurants. We do...

Dana Point, California
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Nice room and comfortable bed. Called ahead to try and get a room with a refrigerator. They took care of this and also had room ready by 200pm. Outstanding service! Friendly hosts. Room was near street but did not have any noise from traffic. Breakfast was good and especially liked the self serve waffle maker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nemo4u
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. You liked our value, location and service. You liked the nice room, comfy bed and outstanding, friendly service, quietness and the waffles at breakfast. We will see you again soon!

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 September 2015

The staff was helpful and the price more or less correct. The location is good but the whole building is not well maintained. As I entered the room the smell was not great and when I looked at the bed I had the feeling that someone else had spent a night or a few hours there before my arrival and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perdikoula
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry there was an issue and we did not meet your expectations. No one else slept in your room and yes, you were wrong. We realize jet lag and international travel leave some travelers tired and test. That noted, our building is very well maintained with fresh coats of paint and touch up on all...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Comfortable room, good bed, updated bathroom. Location is great for Jazz Festival, Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf. Good cafes and Trader Joe within a block of hotel. Recommend tapas at Casa Munras across the street. Continental breakfast is so-so, but the coffee is excellent. Nice to have a refrigerator and good bedside lighting in the room. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your personal review. You liked our service, cleanliness and rooms You found us very friendly with an accommodating staff. You liked the comfortable room, good bed and the updated bathroom. You loved the location during the Monterey Jazz Festival. You liked the nearby restaurants and Trader Joes and you loved our coffee. Thank you and remember to...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Hotel is located in the centre of Monterey and easy to reach from the highway 1. Parking is possible on site and is at no extra cost. The room may look a little outdated but everything is well cleaned and the TV is a new Smart TV and the WiFi works perfect. Bed sleeps fine however earplugs may come in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PBWV
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for a 4 star review. You got good value for your money and liked our location, service and breakfast. You liked the smart TV and the wifi which worked perfect. You liked being close to Fisherman's Wharf and the beach. Come to stay in Monterey again soon.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Nice hotel with nice spruced up rooms and fantastic shower. If you are a light sleeper no use for you as faces a busy road as well as a garage forecourt. On Saturday night kids going home very late were very noisy too. Wifi horrendously slow. When we had checked in I went to go online and couldnt so went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Monterey with Pillowtop beds and newly renovated rooms. Our location is within 3 blocks of 50+ restaurants. WE have free parking, continental breakfast and wi fi. Our wi fi is supplied by a company with an 800 number so guests with device problems can call. The...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 22 September 2015

A under average motel in old town. Close to the Fishermans Wharf. Far from Cannery row. A boring room with the road just outside. A gasstation as your next door neighboor. Pretty clean. We never had the breakfast. The tiny room served in was to depressing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You thought we were pretty clean and that will have to do. Come to Monterey again when you are feeling better.Perhaps we could meet your expectations then. We will try.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We stayed in room 201 (a corner room) which is a non-smoking queen room for two nights. I chose this hotel because of the price and reviews here. It was cheap but not the cheapest and other hotels we've stayed at in this price range were not too bad, but there were some big cons with this budget hotel. Pros:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D H
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You liked our staff friendliness, cleanliness, comfortable breakfast and 24 hour coffee/tea. We apologize we did not meet your expectations with our normal room cleaning standard. The room should have been off market for another hour while we cleaned up some maintenance work. Our rooms are 286 square feet and that is larger than most...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,063 reviews
3.1 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: ₹ 5,050 - ₹ 15,765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stevenson Monterey staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stevenson Monterey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Angy was especially helpful showing me how to use several pieces of equipment at breakfast. very friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles mahanmarlene, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room at 319 was fairly quiet”
 of 5 bubbles jaked0g5, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have some road noise because of the location, but the rooms are well furnished and equipped, Free WIFI and fridge in all rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Sals1701, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the quietest room available if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 953paulinej, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor l guess. We were on ground some noise from above rooms”
 of 5 bubbles K1278GMnickt, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay