We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mariposa Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mariposa Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

751 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 622: English reviews
Houston, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 10 nights and enjoyed our second floor suite with two tv's, comfy king bed, fireplace and large patio. Location has easy access to short highway ride to Carmel plus quick ride to Monterrey bay. And, Whole Foods is across the street. This was a golfing vacation so that ease of access made things simple. Yes, we'd stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deatra W
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us- it's always great to get feedback from guests who have an extended stay with us, and it's even better that you would stay with us again! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you'll be back again soon! Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed one night here on Dec 20th with my 3 children. We love this hotel very much! I paid 3 stars price but felt like 4 stars service. A very cozy & clean hotel with one king & one queen sizes bed with fireplace. Big TV screen, coffee maker and toiletries. Hotel staffs are friendly. Great location, many restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Alice! We're delighted that you and your children enjoyed yourselves so much during your stay with us, and appreciate the time that you took to leave such a detailed review. It's great to hear that you liked your room, and its facilities and amenities. We do hope that you will visit Monterey again, we...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be fooled by the motel look that you see when you drive into the place. I felt disappointed when we came in and waited for rodents croaches and bed bugs when we parked and registered. Well, it was all out of the window when we entered the room! The room was newly renovated and just plain awesome!!! There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfrnat
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay (notwithstanding the fact that we're not Starbucks!). We're getting great feedback on our refurbished rooms, our guests seem to really love them. We're delighted that you would like to come back, we hope that you'll...

Honolulu
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family reserved the town house suite so that my father-in-law can stay in the downstairs part of the unit with the Murphy bed, and my family of 3 stayed in the upstairs bedroom. The upstairs room was clean and spacious, and the bathroom was very roomy. The bathroom sink was pretty, however, I prefer more counter space to lay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lei42no
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your extremely comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our townhouse in the main, but it's a shame that your overall impression was spoiled by a few moments at the front desk. We will address your comments with the department, to ensure...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Mariposa Inn for 3 nights. I had the King room with the Jacuzzi. The room is super comfy and cozy it has a cute fireplace big screen TV and you can sit in the jacuzzi and watch TV and relax. The Jacuzzi is huge and would be great for a couples romantic weekend away. I went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebMermaidKoala
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! It's great to hear such great feedback, and that you enjoyed all of our facilities and amenities, especially since you're a regular guest in hotels. Thank you for choosing, and for taking the time to provide us with such a stellar review. We hope that you will...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed here for a night on 12/2. The property is in the same street and many other small inns and hotels. The rooms are clean but can use some updating (heater can be updated, is noisy and takes a while to heat up the room on cold chilly nights)., They do have an electric fireplace, but that hardly seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pooja S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you took the time to leave your review. Thank you for your feedback about the heaters, we do get them serviced regularly, and we will ensure that we check the one in your room. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

First time I stayed at this motel and probably my last. I had high expectations after seeing it rated a 3 star inn but was totally disappointed. Tiny room size, smelled of cigarette smoke, toilet exhaust fan had dead flies accumulating inside, mold, strong draft on front door, heating lamp kept shutting on and off, low shower head, Spa out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Manny L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had such a bad experience during your recent stay with us. Your comments are totally in contrast with those that we normally get, and we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. It sounds like we dropped the ball on checking your room before you checked in - we are reviewing...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

My wife, our 2 year old twins, and I were in California for Thanksgiving and I decided that since we're in California, I wanted to introduce my kids and wife to an amazing aquarium and a city that has been very dear to my heart. I found the Mariposa on TripAdvisor and saw the great reviews, and when I read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greeklikeme
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for choosing to stay with us over Thanksgiving! We just loved having you and your family, and we're delighted that we met your needs so well. It's great that you'll make staying with us part of your Thanksgiving tradition - we really do aspire to be a proper "home from home" for families. Thanks a million...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Mariposa Inn & Suites is very close to the shopping mall for those who are interested in that stuff. For me, it was a good base to visit nearby sightseeing, such as Point Lobos reserve and the Monterey Aquarium. The rooms were decent, great shower and it had a fireplace. The complimentary breakfast was a time and money saver as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Wayne. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home. From location to breakfast it sounds like we were the perfect fit for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The staff here are very nice and the location is good but noisy. The room stinks however... it reeked of bleach when I checked in so I suspected something was trying to be covered up. When I checked out the next day the smell was unbearable.. I do not know what it is but it was disgusting. Also-- vinyl plank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeshkat
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for kind words about our staff. We are sorry that your room did not smell fresh. We aim to provide a comfortable, pleasant, clean stay for our guests. We wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay we would have loved to shift you to another room to...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,059 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.9 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: ₹ 6,281 - ₹ 18,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Parking can be tight. Try to check-in earlier. We reached close to midnight so there was only 1 spot left.”
 of 5 bubbles poojas546, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I can't add a tip. Only stayed there one night.”
  • Dirt or mold over door.
  • Dirt on tub.
  • Dirt on baseboard.
  • Wallpaper peeling behind sink.
 of 5 bubbles RayA230, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our third floor room was quiet and had a nice view out to the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles DrDadrwp, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lokseenfung, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want wiFi in your room Do not book 301 -probably others either side of it.”
 of 5 bubbles Katebw, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay