We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean View Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean View Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2014

They say a picture paints a thousand words, but the one I saw on the website indicated a charm that was not borne out in reality. Right on Highway 1 with an ocean view which was why I picked it. The ocean view and sunset from the private deck of my penthouse suite on the top floor was obscured by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PGG6450
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We picked Ocean View from a web-search of possible over-night stops on our road trip south from San Francisco to Monterey. The hotel's own website gives an impression of classy luxury which was not borne out by our experience. It is right beside Highway 1 - convenient for a stop-over but this very busy road (and a grove of trees)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick_and_Roosa
Martinez, California
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location is a definite plus as it is close to Half Moon Bay and several state parks (lots of good hiking). Though the room was big and roomy, the inn itself is very old and does need updating. They advertise "jacuzzi tubs" but there are notices at the inn and in each room that tell you not to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobe5
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Huge and comfy room; loved the little deck outside my room. Inn is in good location - easy to get around into the various beach towns. Historic building - if you want perfection, stay at the Ritz Carlton. The Inn is an excellent value, and I'll definitely stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room was a great size - love the couch! Breakfast at the bakery next door was goodvalue for money. Not much going on in the town though - good little place if just passing through. Room was clean and well stocked. Wifi was quite weak.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen_cook82
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Last weekend, I took my girlfriend (now fiance)to the Half Moon Bay area for her birthday. Little did she know I'd be proposing to her. I took her to Fitzgerald Marine Reserve, only but a few minutes away from Ocean View Inn. She said Yes! I had visited a week in advance to view this beautiful area. Despite some of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Masonmontion
Cupertino, California, United States
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the Ocean View Inn to attend the Half Moon Bay Marathon in September - I had read a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor that initially made me a little wary about this hotel, and was pretty much expecting to have a bed to crash in; anything else would have been pretty much a bonus. I probably would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
Pacifica, California
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night and thought the place was adorable and a great value. We're glad we ignored some of the negative reviews and tried it out. We were lucky to stay on a night where the ocean view penthouse was free and they gave us an upgrade. We LOVED the room with its vaulted ceilings,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pachamamajeanne
Pacifica, California
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night and were kindly upgraded to the penthouse ocean view room. It was adorable and a great value. I saw some of the negative reviews and am glad we went with our instincts and came anyway. It's important to note that this place has great history and their in the process of renovating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pachamama67
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Overall in need of many repairs. Found used floss pick on the bedside table. Carpet was stained with grease. Arm chairs covered blankets to hide tears and stains. Windows that didn't close and curtain rods falling off the walls. Checked out a day early and no return call from the GM to refund the last night's stay. The clerk at...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Cheryl S
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Hello Cheryl, I find your review misleading and untrue, but never the less your perception. Typically if a guest is not happy with the room/accommodations they immediately come down and notify the front desk. You stayed one night without any comments and then decided to leave, which is not the norm. You stand corrected that you were refunded for a...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
5.7 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
863 reviews
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
270 reviews
7.8 km away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
246 reviews
14.4 km away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its contemporary coastal-inspired decor, specious suites & penthouses with all the comforts of home. All of the inns nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary WiFi, premium channel lineup with 42" HD flatscreens, free parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery. Walk to the Montara State Beach and watch the sunsets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Region: United States > California > Montara
Price Range: ₹ 11,595 - ₹ 24,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean View Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean View Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room are newly renovated and great amenities! Don't let outside of building or parking lot deter you.....go in!”
  • Very spacious room!
 of 5 bubbles Jzm0903, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with the Ocean View Balcony's are great!”
  • Balcony
 of 5 bubbles bellerjeff, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check out The structure of the building first it's needs repair it's falling apart”
 of 5 bubbles theresaf769, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The outdoor decks are a real treat.”
 of 5 bubbles SamNoir, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Quiet, darker rooms are in the back. South side, you hear the gas station compressor.”
  • The lovely room #9
 of 5 bubbles blueworld356, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5