We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
611 South Westlake Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90057
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/06/22
Hotels.com
$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/06/22
Traveluro
$213
View deal
Travelocity$219
HIExpress.com$218
Hurb$236
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (103)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#163 of 409 in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles Downtown West is the newest mid-scale hotel in the LA City Center area. Conveniently located off I-10, I-110 and HWY 101, our beautiful 100% non-smoking hotel is minutes from Downtown Los Angeles, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Kodak Theatre, Dodger Stadium, China Town as well as a huge variety of restaurants and shopping. Our modern, sophisticated design offers a plethora of amenities such as spacious guestrooms featuring luxurious new bedding, high speed Internet, hot breakfast, fitness room, business center, meeting rooms and a newly designed Yoga area. Nestled on the Pacific Coast, we are centrally located between Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Santa Monica, Pacific Coast Highway (PCH), Long Beach, Burbank, Anaheim, Catalina Island, Disneyland, Universal Studios, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Knott's Berry Farm, Walk of Fame, Fashion District, USC, Orange County and the Beaches in Redondo, Manhattan, Huntington, Newport, Laguna and San Cl
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Hindi and 1 more

Location

Full view
66Somewhat walkable
Grade: 66 out of 100
111Restaurantswithin 1 km
7Attractionswithin 1 km
249Reviews4Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 86
  • 51
  • 20
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SuzieCW wrote a review Feb 2022
San Francisco, California16 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel staff refused to move our stay to another time or refund the money due to positive Covid test and feeling ill, instead, they encourage their guests to stay there regardless of the health status (test results available as a proof). My family experienced this yesterday, where two days prior to arrival, two people tested positive for Covid. Called the hotel immediately twice and were told both times that if we are not OK with the "no refund rule or no date exchange rule" , we should then still come and use the reserved room. Unbelievable! This will be reported to local Health Department (conversation recorded). The person who answered the phone was very rude, unprofessional and said the the hotel is fine if guests come ill because it is anyway busy due to the super bowl weekend in the area. Of course, my family will not travel as we follow the health and safety regulations, but the hotel should do the same. When asked to talk to manager, another unexperienced and impolite person answered the phone . Horrible experience and do not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2022
Hi SuzieCW, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. Although we have limited service hospitality, we've set precautions and protocols to keep everyone safe. I am sorry you were not able to visit and had issues surrounding the reservation. We take feedback seriously and would like to gather more details to communicate this with the relevant teams. I sent you a private message and hope you respond soon. We always challenge ourselves to be better and look forward to having the opportunity to restore your confidence. Best Regards, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
HappyInHagerstown wrote a review Feb 2022
Hagerstown, Maryland212 contributions109 helpful votes
The institutional light-gray walls everywhere didn't add any cheer. The staff was dutiful but without apparent personality. The room was standard chain-hotel quality — acceptable but unremarkable. The bathroom was small, with no shelf whatever for cosmetics, soap, toothbrush, etc. The bed was low and completely un-lush. You'll probably want an extra blanket to get warm, but forget about it; you'll be told in no uncertain terms that (unlike almost every other decent hotel) there aren't any. If you're a stickler for COVID precautions, this is your place; you'll be asked to wear gloves to dish your breakfast, which is both overcooked (the steamed veggies) and undercooked (the sausage). The lobby is small and totally uninviting, and if you need a luggage cart, good luck. There are apparently only two of them.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2022
Hi HappyInHagerstown, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. We want to share a unique hotel experience with all. I'm sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory due to the size of the bathroom and our lobby, limited luggage cart, and issues with the bed and at breakfast. It is certainly not the experience we want our guests to have. I have shared your sentiments with the management team for their reference. I trust they'll use your review for future hotel improvements and ensure a better stay experience moving forward. I hope you still consider us again and give us another chance to host you the next time you visit the area. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
LADHAR-FAMILY wrote a review Jan 2022
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia32 contributions10 helpful votes
If you want wonderful stay in Los Angeles with the better quality/price Hotel, stay here. You don't never regret . The service is excellent, the rooms are very clean. The breakfast is excellent especially with Lovely staff. The head of breakfast Maria was very kind and gives a big positivity to have an excellent breakfast. Coffee is tasty and fresh brewed, but more than that the distance and the COVID safety rules are strongly applied.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jose F wrote a review Dec 2021
Las Cruces, New Mexico37 contributions51 helpful votes
RE: Holiday Inn Express 611 South Westlake Ave. Los Angeles, CA 90057 I recently had the need to travel to Los Angeles, California for an event at the convention center downtown. After considering an AirBNB, I decided to stay near the convention center instead so I looked for a hotel within walking distance of the venue. I came across a Holiday Inn Express in the downtown area and after looking at their website, I booked a room. The photos and description in the website depicted a nice property and since I had stayed at various Holiday Inn Express locations with good results, it seemed like a good pick. Upon arriving however, I was met with what can only be described as something analogous to scenes from the 1996 movie Escape from Los Angeles. I was shocked at the number of makeshift tents, cardboard boxes and the garbage that littered the streets surrounding the hotel. While I recognize that the hotel is not responsible for the city's downtown decay, but instead the liberal governor and mayor I also understand that a reputable hotel should never have located there. The scene was unbelievable. Everywhere I looked there was trash, hoards of homeless people and other people that only come out at night. Right outside of the hotel there was so much trash on the street and sidewalk that rats were visible as they rummaged through it. I chose this hotel primarily because it was within walking distance to the convention center, but after assessing the location there was no way that I was going to risk my life by walking to the convention center without a gun. I also booked this hotel because I had stayed at Holiday Inn Express locations in other places like Munich, Denver and Phoenix with really good results. I want to be fair and also point out that the hotel had a clean lobby, room and a satisfactory breakfast considering Covid-19 is an issue at the moment. Besides the main elevator not working, the inside of the hotel and its amenities were fine. The rates for the rooms are not exactly cheap and in the end you are getting an $89.00 room for $150.00 plus per night. However I will say that the front desk staff, although helpful and cordial, was not trained as in other Holiday Inn Express locations. The front desk people were okay in their interaction, but they were not welcoming, but it may have something to do with the location. Their demeanor and lack of welcoming skills have less to do with them and more to do with the hotel's manager and regional manager. Although articulating exactly what was deficient in this case, the best example I can think of is this: You get a very different experience when you walk into a Target store, than that of a Kmart or Walmart. And you also get a distinctly different vibe when you go to a Chik-fil-A than when you go to a Burger King or McDonalds It's important to point out that I completed the survey sent to me after my stay by Jay Caiafa, Chief Operating Officer, The Americas and I was objective and honest by describing both the good points and the bad points, however he chose not to respond to my thoughts. That tells me that Holiday Inn Express and IHG hotels do not care too much about the poorer aspects of their property at the downtown Los Angeles location. As an American, I was embarrassed at what I witnessed and at what a foreigner would think upon seeing the same. I do not recommend staying at this location unless you are okay with what i have described.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RMurray847 wrote a review Oct 2021
Albuquerque, New Mexico300 contributions190 helpful votes
Don't get me wrong, it was still expensive to spend 2 nights here. But lower price than any place in the area. For a downtown hotel, it's great that they have free parking on site...that was super convenient. But our stay was frustrating. Check in was pretty bad. We arrived at about 11pm to check in. One person behind the desk, talking with a pair of Spanish-speaking ladies. I didn't understand the conversation, but whatever it was took about 15 minutes, and seemed to result in the two ladies getting their room keys and going upstairs. At about 13 minutes, I was acknowledged by the staff person, who said "I'll be with you in a minute, sir." How about 15 minutes! I gather there was some issue, but even so, and acknowledgement would have been good. And NO apology for the wait. I had a reservation and had provided a credit card number in advance. Yet it took over 5 minutes before she started to hand me key cards. Slowest check-in I've experienced in years. We went up 5 floors on the small and slow elevator. Walked to our room. And guess what...the key cards didn't work! I had to go back down on the SLOOOOOW elevator and ask for new keys. Again, no apology. In fact, the attitude I felt I got was that I had done something wrong. So back up, and finally got into our room. The room was pretty tired and fairly small.. Old carpet. Uninspired decor. But it was okay. Several pillows to choose from. And nice shower with great water pressure (and VERY hot...be careful). Next morning, the elevator was out of order and we were directed to use the service elevator. That was actually faster. Breakfast was not a buffet; current California regs do not allow for it. So basically, we stood in line and one poor lone employee had to take our order and pile the plate up for us. Stood in line for 15 minutes or so. She was very nice, but this was just another thing. Not the hotel's fault, though. For me, the check-in process was so cumbersome (literally 40 minutes from pulling into parking lot to finally getting into our room) that I would not stay here again. Especially given the tired decor of the room and entire hotel, actually. Location is okay, although the immediate neighborhood is sketchy. Just pay a little more and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: A room in another hotel would be best.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Hi RMurray847, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding your check-in experience, customer service, elevator, comfort, and breakfast. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the frictionless experience that we wanted for all our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Liz wrote a review Sep 2021
Staten Island, New York4 contributions3 helpful votes
My family and I had an excellent stay at the hotel 9/7-9/13/21. We would definitely stay there again. The staff were all very professional, pleasant and accommodating. The lobby and dining area was spotless at all times. Our room was sparkly clean with modern furnishings and decor. All furnishing and equipment was in excellent working condition. Our beds and pillows were super comfy. Breakfast was comprised of one of three hot entrees. The entrees remained the same each day; 1-scrambled eggs with sausage or bacon, 2-a sm cheese omelette with sausage or bacon, 3-egg whites with sausage or bacon and steamed veggies. In addition to the entrees they offered: hot oatmeal with optional dried fruit/nuts, pancakes, cold cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, muffins, cinnamon rolls, bagels, condiments, milk, almond milk, juices, coffee, tea, etc. All the food was served by the kitchen staff. The hotel is located within close proximity to many main thoroughfares, sites/attractions. There are buses and a train all within a few blocks. Prior to our trip, I had read reviews that said the area was sketchy. Here is what I observed. The hotel is on Westlake St bt W6 & W7. The street to the rear of the hotel, parallel to Westlake St is called S Alvarado. Along S Alvarado St from W6 to W9 streets you’ll find a park, MacArthur Park, that has been overtaken by the homeless and converted into an encampment. Within the park and the surrounding area there was a strong police presence at all times that we went out into the community. During my stay I observed that the homeless are not exclusive to a particular area but rather, they are in every neighborhood I visited, regardless of the socio-economic status of the area or the demographics. The homeless are permitted, by law, to set up camp where ever they wish, even on a person’s private property and they do. In many surrounding neighborhoods I visited I observed heaps of garbage strewn along the sidewalks, in alleys, etc. Sanitation can be improved upon overall. The opposite side of the same street, S Alvarado, is lined with canopies where street vendors sell everything from fresh made tacos, tamales, pupusas, etc. as well as toiletries, household goods, clothes, medicines including antibiotics, jewelry, etc. The vendor scene looks like old Delancey St in NYC back in the 1970-80’s; like an out door flea market. Coming from NYC this scene, although disheartening and to some degree, concerning, it is not entirely foreign so it’s not intimidating to us. However, I can see how someone else can feel uncomfortable in such a setting especially if they’ve never witnessed something like it or experienced having to live or work in this type of environment. In conclusion, no matter where you go in Califorina, the homeless problem seems out of control so you are likely to encounter it regardless of where you stay. We never felt unsafe in our hotel, it was clean, conveniently located, and the staff was great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ross Dept store is about 2 blocks away and also, many dollar stores so you can get any emergency...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
bpdogs wrote a review Aug 2021
Xiamen, China238 contributions222 helpful votes
First time I've stayed in central LA. Not as bad as expected. Neighborhood is lively but not dangerous. A few fast food places nearby but no real restaurants. Arrived by car and while I thought I read there was $15 a night parking the desk clerk said parking was free. Secured location with hotel but only about 15 spaces, so keep that in mind. Lobby door is on the side inside the car port for safety reasons. Good sized rooms have all been re-furbished. The mattress was a wonderful Beautyrest brand. Large TV with plenty of channels. Clean bathroom. Room was facing the street, but with the air-conditioner on I barely heard street noise. Price was reasonable for being in a central location. I never tried the breakfast so no comment there. The only thing I didn't like is the morning desk clerk offered me 1,000 IHG points to leave a review on IHG with an 8 or better. This is a nice hotel that shouldn't worry over that. Also, it's just plain against IHG rules and is wrong. Even so I would stay here again, Finally since I was on a Travel Agent rate it wasn't a smart move since I'll let IHG knew they did this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cecille Cordero wrote a review Feb 2021
Daytona Beach, Florida18 contributions10 helpful votes
Breakfast? You are now limited to a burrito. Not even mustard or ketchup to cheat yourself. Overpriced. Underserved. Bad. Bad. Bad. Go anywhere but here. The night manager was very kind. The hotel stays unpleasent anyways. Holiday Inn is now a burrito breakfast. Horrible. You’d rather go elsewhere. Bread. Bread. Bread. No proteins. No fruits. No juice. No mustard. No ketchup. You can only have one whatever (although there were four people with us that did not pick up anything but coffee) Enter the building and you wouldn’t know how to check in. No signs. Then you go to the elevator in the parking lot carrying your suitcases and you are not able to enter the building ot talk to anyone. GENIUS!!!! Get away from this hotel. As far as you can.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2021
Hello cecilecordero, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West. All we wanted was to give you the brilliant basics and it seems there were some loopholes in amenities and service. I am sorry that breakfast did not meet your expectations and the lack of assistance when you arrived. I have noted your feedback about the lack of signage to direct guests upon arrival. I already shared your comments with the management team for reference. I'm confident that they will take the necessary steps for improvement. I am also sending you a private message to gather more information about your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future. Safe travels, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Clifford K wrote a review Jun 2020
Fountain Hills, Arizona499 contributions164 helpful votes
Have stayed at a lot of IHG hotels. This one was below average. Neighborhood was a bit sketchy. Grab and go breakfast was weak even considering Covid. Elevator beat up. Room reasonable. I probably would try someplace else before returning here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2020
Hi 83cliffk, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have an exemplary experience due to the conditions you encountered during your stay. This certainly isn't the norm, nor our best. Your comments are much appreciated as I have shared them with our management teams for improvements needed. It might not have been a great stay, but I hope you will give us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
fairgirl59 wrote a review Mar 2020
Imperial Beach, California293 contributions97 helpful votes
This facility sticks out like a sore thumb in a neighborhood of West Downtown LA. It is 2.3 miles from the Convention Center. I walked there and back and felt 95% safe. The rooms are tired - no USB outlets by the bed or in the lamps. We were on a room that faced Westlake Avenue and heard the ice cream truck, the sirens of fire trucks - it was NOT quiet. They do have a shuttle, but only during business hours. The breakfast and area were very nice. There is a small snack "shop." Parking is $15/day and is very safe. The front desk staff is very hospitable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Westlake Boulevard. It may be quieter.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Apr 2020
Hello fairgirl59, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We take pride in ensuring that we provide Select Service hospitality that is fresh, practical, and efficient accommodations for Simple, Smart Travelers. I apologize that your stay was disturbed by the noise and that you found the room to be outdated and lacked the more modern amenities. We know that we could have done a better job at this. Rest assured, Hotel management and our front desk teams have been provided a copy of your feedback and will investigate and resolve it at the soonest possible time. Despite this, it is great to know that you found the location of the property to be convenient and our staff to be accommodating and friendly. This will go a long way in helping us keep up with our guests, like you, who look for brilliant basics and seamless experiences who need a simple, engaging place to rest, recharge and get a little work done. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. Safe travels. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel los angeles, ramada los angeles, los angeles ramada
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Teragram Ballroom (1.0 km), Hayworth Theatre (0.6 km), and First Congregational Church of Los Angeles (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Langer's, Pacific Dining Car, and Rodeo Mexican Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, Portuguese, and Hindi.