We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
8244 Orion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406
Lowest prices for your stay
$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity$197
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (136)
Pool & Beach (25)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#181 of 407 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our 7-story Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys has 132 newly-renovated rooms with wonderful pillow top beds and granite bathrooms, it has spacious work area with personal voice mail service. The hotel offers a dedicated floor for smoking-rooms only. One of the best location in the Los Angeles area, off the 405 Fwy at Roscoe Blvd exit in Van Nuys, 20 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive and it s great shopping and restaurants, UCLA, Getty Museum, Hollywood for star-gazing, LAX, Burbank Airport and Van Nuys Airport. You will be greeted by our friendly staff in our granite and crystal chandelier lobby which offers complimentary 24 hours coffee. We offer a free business center, with internet connection, complimentary local calls, complimentary parking, complimentary full hot breakfast. Our Olympic sized outdoor heated pool is surrounded by a gated-garden. The exercise room is available 24-hours with state-of-the-art equipment. We offer pay-per-view movies, complimentary coffee maker with coffee and tea, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and hypo-allergenic rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Newspaper
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, German and 1 more
226Reviews3Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 87
  • 38
  • 21
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NCtravelz wrote a review Jun 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina1031 contributions222 helpful votes
I realize that everyone is having staffing issues but this is too busy of a hotel for one person. There was one person in front of me and he gave up after 30 minutes so the huge line behind me could check in. Every time I passed the desk, the line was to the door. Lots of hotels have limited housekeeping but they are the only ones I've seen requiring a stay of 5 days before you get cleaning. The room was dark but fine. The fire door remained propped open during the entire stay despite saying it was a fire door that should be closed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hello NCtravelz, We are very interested in your opinion about your stay with us on our property. We need insights like yours to improve our quality and constantly aim higher for the enjoyment of our guests. I have shared your observations with our management. I'm sorry for the situation you observed. It was far from awesome. Please, accept my apology. Thank you for making us your primary choice for accommodation. Our staff would love to serve you again and show you the improvements based on your comments and opinion. Please visit again soon! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Graham B wrote a review Dec 2021
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed here during a business trip but would never return. The hotel is: Noisy (traffic noise and some sort of generator running outside my room all night) Dirty (rooms are serviced once a week) Has very poor facilities (no bar or food, except for breakfast which you have to queue up for) Is badly managed (I wanted to leave my bags for a few hours after checking out but was told that they couldn't guarantee my luggage wouldn't be stolen). Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2021
Hi grahambT8489GQ, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding cleanliness, facilities, noise, management, and breakfast experience. I understand your disappointment and I'm sorry. I will share your review with our team for improvements on our end. We appreciate you for staying with us and in line with this, I sent you a private message to address your concerns. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future so this time we can show you a simple and smart travel. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Hope G wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
horrible service i had a reservation for 2 nights i got there thursday nov 11 around 7 pm settle down got a phone call from my boss that our meeting for next day afternoon was cancel i call the front desk to see if i could cancel my following night and the guy in the front desk said yes that i was gonna get a refund for the second night,, i left the following day,,, inever got the refund io call a week after wanting to talk to a manager left a message they never return my call i call today dec 1 the lady that answer said to me that the second day that i didnt stay it was not refundable what is wrong with people............
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
katbeatina wrote a review Nov 2021
Oceanside, California132 contributions53 helpful votes
As seniors we like to get away sometimes, so we drove a couple of hours up to this hotel (booked online through SnapTravel - THATS another story) It is in the WORSE area with gang bangers, drugs & filth. We drove home & now & am trying to get my $ badk (almost $400 for 2 nights!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Nov 2021
Hi katbeatina, Thank you for looping us into your concern about the hotel's location and cleanliness that made you cancel your reservation and ask to get a refund. What you described certainly is not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. I am sorry to miss out on these areas. I've communicated your sentiments with our management team for review and I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Steve N wrote a review Sep 2021
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
In my opinion: This hotel is in a bad part of town and about 2 miles from where people are living under a bridge. They reportedly have security but of the three nights we were there, we saw a security person there one night only. There was some homeless man that wandered through the parking lot acting a little off their rocker talking to themselves etc. The hotel is an old property in need of updating with scars on the walls and just dirty. We had to listen to a light fixture humming in the entrance way all the time because the ballast had gone out I guess. Our room was filthy with old stains on the carpet, a tub drain that did not drain properly. That caused the guest to have to stand in their own sauce while they bathed. The toilet seat did not fit. The thermostat on the wall was dark and not in working order, and the window unit had a door that kept falling off. (The Security guard was called to repair the thermostat and he told me he had no idea and had never worked on one before). Housekeeping said they ran out of washcloths. How does that happen in the middle of the day with hundreds of guests? Now the breakfast. As we were staying in 8 hotels across California, this hotel and one other insisted on handing your breakfast to you in a paper bag to eat in your room. Two people sharing one desk chair in their room is no fun and no microwave in the room. No tables either in the dining area. Just pathetic. So if your coffee needs reheating while in your room enjoying the atmosphere, you must go and wait on the elevator, ride down to first floor and use theirs. I asked for an extra sausage link for breakfast and the server argued with me and said “one only”. Same with the coffee: “one only” and it was only half full at that. Extra cinnamon roll: “sorry just one”. Also, in the three nights we were there, the ice machine on our floor was out of order and we had to seek ice from other floors. For this, I paid $511.74. No maintenance staff I expect. The only suitable restaurants we found close was a Taco Bell and a Denny’s as well as a McDonalds. I could have stayed at a Motel 6 for about half what we paid and it was likely cleaner. Even the curtains were dirty and the one chair in the room had white spots one had to sit in. I have an idea what that was but I will leave it to the reader’s imagination. Just nasty is all. After driving 500 miles the prior day, I really did not want to argue with the staff about one or two sausage links and do not like being treated like they are doing me a favor packing me a “to go” bag. That is low class and is not the caliber hotel to be in the Costco Travel lineup in my opinion. Staff at the counter could not even tell me the time required to drive to the airport without looking at the internet. I tried to change our dates late at night and was told I had to call Costco Travel to change it or they would take my deposit. Of course, Costco Travel was closed for the day and we had no choice but to accept it. Bad Business. Also each cup of coffee they served, there were grounds in the bottom of the cup. I guess that would add to the caffeine level if a person ate the grounds when they finished their coffee. In my opinion, So if you want to stay in the midst of the homeless, in a dirty outdated hotel, breakfast serving the size an 8 year old appetite, eating in your room, poorly located and do not mind standing in your own juice to shower while the tub takes too long to drain, this hotel may be for you. Otherwise, I suggest a Hampton Inn selection. $511.74 for this trash heap in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I suggest you stay at Hampton in my opinion.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
OrsaKSA wrote a review Nov 2020
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia40 contributions42 helpful votes
Thanks to all the holiday inn management for not accepting to move my reservation 2 days after the original one. My flight was moved for 2 days, I didn't want a refund only to move the reservation, I explained as well that I was willing to pay the difference in the price if any. The answer was : is not as per policy. Congratulation in this period of crisis this attitude is exactly what we need to encourage people to travel. I advise not to book in this hotel as they are obviously not customer friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
michael s wrote a review Feb 2020
Newberry, Florida219 contributions45 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights while on business. It’s close to a few restaurants and the highway. They provide a decent breakfast starting at 6:30 unfortunately we had to be to work at 6. The elevator was broke down a ton.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hello Q1942CXmichaels, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We aim to provide simple pleasures for simple smart travel. I am glad that you found the location favorable and the breakfast options to your liking. I am sorry to learn though about the issues encountered with the lift. I will certainly share your comments with Maintenance and I am confident that necessary steps will be taken to ensure we avoid this from happening again. I hope you give us another try to make your next stay the best that it can be! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Jacqueline D wrote a review Jan 2020
Cebu Island, Philippines5 contributions10 helpful votes
I booked this hotel because i read reviews on tripadvisor and found out that this was the only decent hotel in the area. #2, I checked that they have elevator service. I was travelling with 2 senior citizens so elevator was a big deal for them (1 has heart problem and 1 has eyesight problem). when we arrived, everything was okay. we checked in late at night. problem started after we had our breakfast the next day. when we entered the elevator so we can go back to our room. we got stuck at their elevator for a couple of minutes. my husband had anxiety attack but tried to remained calm (because of the 2 senior citizens we were with) and he could hardly breath while we got stuck. when we told the receptionist (mr sagar rattee, but says "emmanuel" on his name pin - very shady) about it. no reaction, no apologies. (as if this thing happens to them on a normal basis). our room was on the 2nd floor and were traveling with 2 senior citizens. we didn't take the elevator anymore after the incident because of the trauma it caused us. so we decided to give up the room because we cannot have both 2 senior citizens go up and down the stairs because of heart problem and the other one has bad eyesight. by the this time, both elevators was no longer functioning. so all their guests has to take the stairs. the hotel won't refund us the money that we paid through hotels.com because it's non-cancellable. to make the long story short, they still didn't refund us the money and hotels.com was the one who gave us the refund and coupon code. our experience here was a total nightmare. from their elevator, their suppposedly manager in charge, mr. sagar who couldn't do anything or decide on anything and their manager - ms ellen mapue (who mr. sagar said was not in the property but just actually was just at the back). they only gave us 2 options which are: 1. we stay with them and they will have their elevator fix. 2. we stay with them even if they cannot fix their elevator. what a joke! never coming back to this hotel again. and it's not even cheap.. it's pretty expensive for a rundown hotel and management that seems like a joke to me. no hospitality, no service, no heart at all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: do not book.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ONTMDCGuy wrote a review Nov 2019
19 contributions39 helpful votes
If you are looking for an affordable, conveniently located hotel in the Van Nuys area of Los Angeles, then consider this Holiday Inn Express in Van Nuys. While one thinks of Holiday Inn Express as basic and no-frills, I was surprised by this one. It has nice, large rooms, very comfortable bed, great breakfast buffet, 24-hour access fitness center, swimming pool, and a very friendly and helpful staff. I only spent one night on a business trip, but I would not have minded staying longer and will consider coming back when in town for business.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
John P wrote a review Nov 2019
Canberra, Australia107 contributions86 helpful votes
I had to make a quick change of plans and found this hotel online. It's clean and well run, rooms are just the right size, and the guy behind the desk (Jerome) was very helpful and personable. He helped me with several things, even though he was working alone and busy. My room was clean and quiet, and everything worked perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express van nuys hotel los angeles, holiday inn van nuys, holiday inn los angeles, los angeles holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesNorth San Fernando Valley / North Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Let's Make A Deal (0.8 km), Galpin Auto Sports (0.09 km), and Eric's Guitar Shops (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Horseless Carriage Restaurant, Dr. Hogly Wogly's Tyler Texas Bar-B-Que, and Tommy's Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Greek, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Oakridge Estate (7.4 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.