We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mikado Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mikado Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of Mikado Hotel
 Click to rate
Clovis, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

If your considering this motel, look elsewhere. Very dirty , rated as a 3 star on Priceline. I will NEVER use priceline's express deal again... because this is what 3 stars will get you. It was in a horrible area, and we couldn't even figure how to open the door and the lock mechanism was broken. We weren't even offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missnor2002
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room is just a little bigger than a chain highway hotel but the bathroom is really inconvenient. The bathroom is crammed and shower is old. The beds and linens are good. The pool is just a small dunking pool with a little hot tub. The hotel sits between a highway and a busy city street so there is some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Torrance, California
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Room had an odd smell in it, the toilet seat was filthy. I wasn't expecting much especially since it is right on the freeway but I was disappointed. The room was $179 a night which is a lot for a very little. They have a free breakfast but when I went in to the restaurant they were mopping the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trojangirl90066
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I always loved this little place. Always book my mom into it when she comes to town. Convenient, next to freeway in Studio City.Sherman Oaks area. I love things Japanese, and although the room itself doesn't have any Japanese touches, just seeing the lovely garden and the quaint bridge transports you to Kyoto. This is formerly a Best Western Plus,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
La Jolla, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The hotel is old and dirty and in disrepair.IF you can get it for $40 a night or less that is ok.I called to tell them there was no hot water-there were holes in the drapes.and the linen was dirty and old.The room had not been used and was musty but the tub still had hair in. I think one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annl123
ReuelaS, General Manager at Mikado Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review concerning your stay with us. We are sorry to hear of what you have experienced about the no hot water, the drapes, the linens and the tub. These are the things that we don't want our customers to experience and we are going to use this a learning experience....

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Positives: Close to Universal Studios, easy to find, Whole Foods walking distance from the hotel, free wifi, and breakfast included is a bonus. Negatives: very loud both from traffic noise and the other hotel guests, feels old and run down, and the worst was lack of hot water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank labbayarea2014
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The rooms are outdated and in urgent need of repair. The water was poorly draining in the bathroom sink. The breakfast that was included in the price did not have much choice. Poor sound proofing , could here the noises from all sides.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ira V
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We chose this hotel because it was close to my cousin in Burbank. It is easily accessible from the freeway; parking was free and convenient; the room was clean, comfortable, and I loved the retro art-deco feel of it. The lobby is lovely and spacious. Upon check in, we were given coupons for the free breakfast buffet and discount coupons...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda A
ReuelaS, General Manager at Mikado Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a wonderful review of your stay. We are so happy that you're pleased with our services and amenities. We hope to see you next time you're in LA.

Oceanside, California
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Nice little hotel, good service, comfortable bed, parking a breeze, breakfast good. But when you are sandwiched in-between Hwy 101 and Riverside Dr, good luck getting a good night's sleep. I would rather have paid another 50-100 to get a room where the door doesn't open up directly to the road. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skcoj1
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while sightseeing the LA area. It has a nice lobby and pool area, friendly staff, a better than average REAL breakfast and free parking. Our room DID back up to the freeway but with the air conditioner on most of the noise was minimal. Our room was old but nice. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sally w

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#110 of 348 in Los Angeles
132 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#57 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#92 of 348 in Los Angeles
908 reviews
BEST WESTERN Burbank Airport Inn
#87 of 348 in Los Angeles
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Price Range: ₹ 9,162 - ₹ 12,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mikado Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Mikado Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure there is a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles trojangirl90066, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“they are all bad-its on the freeway and a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles annl123, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sorry can't offer any advice”
 of 5 bubbles skcoj1, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose 2 no floor by pool”
 of 5 bubbles Anna0604, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great breakfast and comfy rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ebonyg781, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5