We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
$255
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$256
Orbitz.com
Lol.travel$325
View all 22 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (249)
Room & Suite (113)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#129 of 409 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Hilton Checkers Los Angeles hotel is recognized as the finest hotel for the discerning business traveler in downtown Los Angeles, California. The Hilton is the downtown area's only deluxe European-style boutique hotel. Located in the heart of the business and financial district of Los Angeles, the historic Hilton Checkers Los Angeles hotel is only blocks from the LA Convention Center, Music Center, Staples Arena, The Broad, MOCA, and Disney Concert Hall. Guests at the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles hotel will experience our beautifully appointed guest rooms with an elegant residential feel. Featuring WiFi access, flat screen televisions, and refrigerators. On our open-air rooftop deck, guests of the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles enjoy breathtaking views of downtown's iconic skyline. Checkers Restaurant is open for breakfast, and is consistently rated by Zagat and Gourmet Magazine among the finest dining rooms in Los Angeles, California.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
263Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
47Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1688Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 614
  • 537
  • 286
  • 123
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Thomas Brod MD wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Filtered for "pool" in selecting this hotel. Turns out the pool was replaced with a PentHouse a year ago. Staff acted like we were fools for expecting a swim! Corner room on 5th floor was dark and on both sides walled in by other buildings. Breakfast was mediocre...although at least it was kitchen prepared (compare some places that offer a microwave oven and wrapped muffin etc). Basic amenities and cleanliness were fine. Oh and parking is $50/nite!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing us. We value your comments and rating. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations in regard to the pool and breakfast. We will also relay your comments to our team for their review and actions, We are also sorry you were not happy with our service and regret the inconvenience caused. Your comments show that we have room for improvement, and we assure you we will be more diligent going forward. We hope this unfortunate situation will not prevent you from staying with us again. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
Reem and Derrick wrote a review Mar 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia14 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Long ago [pre-covid] they had direct flights from DC to Hawaii, but no more, so a layover in LA was needed. Let me say that airport hotels are always a pain so we went into the city. Hilton Checkers was a breath of fresh air. Staff were super nice and hospitable. We arrived late evening and left the next morning, but had we not needed to catch a flight we would have extended. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious for us to do a little work before our flight (remember for us time was 3 hours ahead...) All ok all, we can’t wait to come back. Next time will definitely be for leisure. :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Althea Abdallah, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Thank you disu-strickland! We appreciate you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Hilton Checkers. We look forward to welcoming you as our guests on your next visit to DTLA.
Read more
Inah F wrote a review Jun 2022
Phoenix, Arizona2 contributions
I had the pleasure of being assisted by Sylvia. She went above and beyond with assisting me with an early check-in. I’ve traveled to many places and not one took the time to take my number and offered to contact me when a room becomes available! But Sylvia did and I will never forget that!! So helpful and kind over the phone. I was able to check-in with her at the hotel and she was quick and remembered me from our phone conversations of an early check-in. She was great! Thank you Sylvia for your amazing customer service ethics and genuine kindness! It’s people like her that really are the face of the company. I will be back for sure!! I also would like to send a great appreciation and gratitude to the valet! I’m wasn’t able to catch his name but if I could describe him, he was a Mexican man, shorter and was quick as a ninja getting our car to us and the kindest ever! He was amazing and always had a smile on his face even though the weekend we stayed was Pride Week and the hotel was extremely busy! He definitely deserves some recognition as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for the excellent review. We enjoyed having you as our guest at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. It is excellent to know that our associates made your stay even more memorable. Making our guests feel at home is what we love to do, and we will pass along your kind compliments to Sylvia and our valet staff. It was indeed a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in the area. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
Kirsty_Ruby wrote a review Jun 2022
Stirling, United Kingdom17 contributions24 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May 2022. The room was clean and a very good size, bed was comfortable. Staff at reception were chatty and friendly. Great location, only 5 minute walk away from 2 subway stations so it was easy to travel to Hollywood and Santa Monica. My only negative is that our room was not cleaned the entire time we were there and we were never given any fresh towels.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. While you were pleased with our location as well as our associates, we apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered with your accommodations. For the future, please know our Housekeeping services can be tailored per the guests' wishes, and you can reach out to our front desk to make your request. We are sorry if this was not communicated to you upon check-in. We encourage you to visit our website, which will give you all the detailed information while making your next reservation with us. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
HLT wrote a review May 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
My partner and I visited here as part of a 3 day trip in LA. The lady on reception was so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and clean, spacious and comfy. It was ideal, however the only down side was the location. As we did a few of the main sight seeing attractions, we were a bit out of the way, so spent a little more on taxis.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 25 May 2022
Thank you for choosing us at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles for your stay. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our accommodations as well as our devoted staff. That said, we regret our location was not suitable for your plans. It was a pleasure hosting you and your partner, and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
TravelNepenthe wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
The hotel itself is fine, but the front desk staff were unpleasant to deal with and unhelpful. At checkout, every person in line before me had an issue and the staff acted as if the guest was at fault (which they clearly were not). I lost the credit card I had on file with Hilton so had to replace it. I replaced it on the Hilton website before my trip, but for some reason that change did not make it to the hotel system and they tried to charge the cancelled card. The two people I dealt with at the front desk regarding this issue were judgmental and borderline rude. The hotel also misapplied a charge to my room and the person I spoke with about that issue kept suggesting that perhaps I or the person I was traveling with had eaten breakfast twice in the same morning (we did not). That issue still has not been corrected. I am a Hilton Diamond member, stay at Hilton properties at least monthly, and am usually happy with the service I receive. The service at this hotel was bad enough I felt compelled to write about it. I will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 19 May 2022
Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and for writing a review. We are so sorry for the mix-up you went through and the inconvenience it caused. Your total satisfaction is our top priority; therefore, we apologize for the lack of attentiveness on our part. We value your feedback as we continually strive to improve our guest experience. We are also reviewing your concerns with our billing department. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and also for your patience. You have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
Sergey K wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
- Shower was broken in my room, I told to front desk, they promised to fix it and obviously didn't fix anything. - Room was advertised as "with work place" but there was not desk or chair or anything resembling a work place. - No cleaning. COVID was excuse to not clean rooms. COVID is seems like over (they don't require masks anymore), so why rooms are still not cleaned up? - I have problem with my bill (overcharged $18.07 for breakfast) and no one picks up the phone. - There was no bottled water at check-in (I have Gold status). - Coffee maker in the room was just for a check box. It was in a shelf, not connected to outlet and there's no outlet to connect it. There's no even a table for it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 6 May 2022
Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and for sharing your feedback with us. Our main goal is to offer an exceptional stay for our guests with comfortable accommodations and responsive, friendly staff. After reading the details, we regret this was not your experience. We regret your disappointment with the lack of in-room amenities that could have proven helpful for you. Your comments have been noted as we continually strive to ensure a perfect visit for every guest. We are also sorry to know the inconvenience you are having with regard to the billing and that we have been unable to attend your calls. Your message will be shared with the appropriate individuals, and we assure you we will address your concern. Your patience is appreciated, and we hope to serve you again. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
Patthedrum wrote a review Apr 2022
Godalming, United Kingdom918 contributions313 helpful votes
My Wife and I recently stayed at the Hilton Checkers as part of a package involving stays in Las Vegas and a Californian Cruise from LA. It was part of our delayed 30th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. The Hilton Checkers could best be described as a Boutique European style hotel. We were very grateful to receive an upgrade to a mini suite from the lovely Althea Abdallah and were incredibly well looked looked after by the lovely Bea who made a complicated check in ( we were in a party of 8 people) very easy. My personal thanks go to these lovely ladies. The hotel is situated downtown which in honesty was unsuitable for our needs as we were tourists and needed to be nearer Hollywood etc., but this was no fault of the hotel ,it was our travel agent. The hotel is well situated for several restaurants,Maceys and several bars. The City itself had closed down for Easter break so things were generally very quiet in town. The hotel serves a nice ,if somewhat expensive breakfast and the dinner menu is very good and reasonably priced should you not wish to venture out. The rooms are furnished and decorated to a very high standard and the bathrooms are very nice and are cleaned to a very high standard.It was however very noisy in the early Mornings,this was not helped by our close proximity to the lift. The staff are very nice and helpful and the car valet who I have seen criticised on these pages was nice,welcoming and very helpful. There are bus stops right outside the hotel and one is for a tour that takes you all over LA ,however the hotel is 30 minutes minimum away from Hollywood and the beaches etc so in my opinion not good for tourists like us. In summary the Hilton Checkers is a very nice hotel,worthy of its 4* rating,probably more suited to the business customer,but great if you want to visit Downtown LA.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to post your detailed comments. Your comments regarding our comfortable accommodations, excellent location, delicious food of California-inspired dishes with French and Asian inflections, complimentary hot breakfast, and the service our associates delivered extended to you are very gratifying to read. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our team, especially Bea, for making your anniversary trip so memorable. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to your next visit to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
honeymoonhunter09 wrote a review Apr 2022
Towson, Maryland43 contributions12 helpful votes
My family and I stayed at Hilton Checkers one night to go to a Dodgers game. Had it not been for one awful experience I would have rated this hotel 4 stars. We arrived early and were checked in to a room that was comfortable (though with views of neighboring buildings). The valet was super helpful and kind. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. The problem occurred with breakfast on the morning of check out. My husband and I had the breakfast buffet with our 3 young kids on Easter morning. We sat ourselves and served ourselves. The total bill for 5 breakfast buffets came to about $125. It was a delicious meal. I did not write in a tip since it was a buffet but just signed my name and room number. I realized after leaving the restaurant that I had written the room number of the hotel from the night before so I immediately messaged the hotel to make sure it was appropriately billed. They found the receipt and noted that my total was about $150. That number seemed high and they informed me that it included tax and tip. I informed the front desk at check out that I did not write in a tip for breakfast. She went to check the bill and came back to tell me that I wrote in a $15 tip and it was in my handwriting. I told her there was no way (this was just an hour before) and someone in the restaurant must have written a tip in as I intentionally left no tip since it was a buffet and I wasn’t served. She essentially called me a liar saying that her “staff would not do that.” She removed the tip but was so incredibly rude to me. This experience left me with such an awful taste in my mouth. One could argue that I should have tipped but that misses the point that I didn’t but someone attempted to take a tip anyway. I will never set foot in that Hilton again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 24 Apr 2022
We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate your feedback. Although you had a comfortable and relaxing stay in your cozy room and liked the service provided by our valet team, we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We will share your message appropriately as we are committed to enhancing our services on all levels. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
HiranW wrote a review Mar 2022
Simi Valley38 contributions26 helpful votes
I checked in last night around 11PM. The service is horrible. The Valet guy was mad that he had to give us a valet ticket .... No assistance on the curbside. The valet is actually inside the Hotel right next to the front desk and never comes out. The front desk is equally not welcoming. They made a big deal online and said that I was upgraded because I was Hilton diamond but I am looking into a blank wall outside the guestroom The heater in the room does not work. I had it at 85 and the room was cold. The Hotel is newly renovated but the service is horrible!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are big tall buildings next to it, so watch where they put you
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 9 Mar 2022
We appreciate the evaluation of your stay, and we want to apologize for not meeting your expectations while you were here. Your feedback will be used to help us improve our service to future guests. We hope you will choose us again as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$234 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton hotel los angeles, hilton los angeles, los angeles hilton
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Nearby attractions include Angels Flight Railway (0.3 km), Wells Fargo Museum (0.4 km), and Mrs. Fish (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Conveniently located restaurants include SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa, Bottega Louie, and Karl Strauss Brewing Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Checkers Los Angeles offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Angels Flight Railway (0.3 km), El Pueblo de Los Angeles (1.4 km), and Hollyhock House (6.6 km).
Is Hilton Checkers Los Angeles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.