We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunes Inn - Sunset

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Dunes Inn - Sunset
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were planning to stay for four nights around Christmas time near Hollywood, but had to check out two days early due to several unacceptable issues. First, This hotel was said on Hotwire to be comparable to a Best Western, a Hampton Inn, or something similar. In actuality, this was much closer to a 1 star motel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven T
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

I am so pleased that such negative reviews as yours are few and far between. Indeed the vast majority of guests who write a review are extremely positive and do not attempt to damage our reputation. As far as the cleanliness of our rooms is concerned, there might be the odd isolated incident where the housekeeper may have missed something...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I feel bad giving two stars, but three would be too many. First impressions carry a lot of weight. Your first impression while checking in is the manager/cashier behind protective glass. This makes it seem as though there is a need for protection while at the hotel. I saw somebody responding to these reviews saying that there is always glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reingding13
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, from which I was sorry to see that, on the whole, you were not happy with your experience with us. I really don't understand where it would be more beneficial to replace the glass with dry wall. One has to see the customers to check them in! I agree that an open...

Macleay Island, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Great location, clean, however small things would make all the difference like coffee and tea making facilities, air conditioning a little noisy, garden out the front of room smelt like urine. I also found the elderly reception guy with an English accent a little rude in the three occasions over the week I dealt with him. But other than that,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaelgc34
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

It was a little upsetting to read your review. I am the "elderly" guy with the English accent to which you refer (I prefer the term "older" by the way. We pride ourselves in having very helpful and friendly staff at the front desk - and that includes me. I may not be as gushing as others and am more...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is an average motel style property in Hollywood. Non pretentious and good for a cheaper stay in LA / Hollywood Area. Reception man was very grumpy here, didnt seem to enjoy his job at all and the reception area was basic with bars on the desk and dirty looking. Rooms were clean, didn't smell bad though were very basic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher M
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

We pride ourselves in having friendly and helpful staff at the front desk so I was a little surprised you thought the person on duty at the time was not so. Perhaps he had an off day for which I apologize. Your comment about there being bars at the front desk is entirely false. There is a window, which is...

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights before heading down to San Diego great location central for everything the staff was very helpful the room was clean and free parking would definitely stay here again thank you guys

 Report
Helpful?
Thank we393
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel and for your recommendation. I appreciate you taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Parma, Italy
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a pretty nice location. The rooms really essential, are cleaned and minimal. It represent an acceptable option to sleep Arround holliwood district. 15 minutes walking from Chinese theater.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I agree, we are in a great location. I appreciated you taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Reviewed 10 November 2016

First of all, the front desk was very helpful and understanding. We arrived after pulling an all nighter, and only had two hours until our shuttle arrived for disney. Desperate for a shower, we were only kept waiting for as long as the room took to clean. Very clean and bathroom was well stocked. TV was workable, with many foreign...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara W
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review.

Drouin, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Stayed at Dunes for 2 nights while visiting LA, was walking distance to Hollywood Blvd, I wasnt comfortable walking this area at night, but cab was only $10 or so, great for walking around during the day, room was very clean, free wifi was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey A
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I greatly appreciated you taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel was the last stop on our 5 week long vacation and we had stayed in many other hotels. This was the second to worst. The room is clean, but very outdated, pretty sure the bed spread was from the 60's. The chairs in the room maybe from the 70's. It definitely needs an upgrade. The bathroom looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber E
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel from which I was sorry to learn that you had little good to say about it. Nevertheless, I thank you for taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Viborg, Denmark
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed her two times during our roadtrip in western USA. We started with one Night at arrival and ended with 3 nights at the end of our trip. We had a standard double room and that Was a very Nice room. Clean, good bed, refrigerator, hair dryer and a non smoking room. There is an aircondition, but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bastianmis
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Yes, I am sorry that the restaurant was closed for renovation when you were here. I agree, we are in a great location and that is a good selling point. Thank you for taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Single Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (117)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#112 of 347 in Los Angeles
644 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#132 of 347 in Los Angeles
581 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 347 in Los Angeles
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#67 of 347 in Los Angeles
851 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Hollywood

Neighbourhood Profile
Hollywood
Hollywood undoubtedly conjures up images of movie stars and high-end lifestyles, and to this day, tourists flock here from around the world to see the iconic Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre and to catch a glimpse of the famed Hollywood sign up close. Celebrity impersonators and crowds give these areas the feeling of an amusement park while many clubs and hotels fill up around the weekends for late-night partying - the Hollywood club scene is a haven for thumping music and table-side bottle service. But parties aren’t the only way to enjoy this area, many visitors come to the neighborhood to sit back with a picnic to watch a performance at the Hollywood Bowl and those looking to stay fit trek along nature trails in the Hollywood hills and in Griffith Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Address: 5625 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Price Range: ₹ 7,441 - ₹ 11,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunes Inn - Sunset staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Terrigal, Australia
Sandton, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Dunes Inn - Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book if you can avoid it.”
 of 5 bubbles stevent128, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Further from the street is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 453tamaraw, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles MisterMVA, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had an upper floor room I suppose ground floor are easier for getting your luggage in and out”
 of 5 bubbles Rufusdoug, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free parking, very rare for this area. Some hotels wanted $35 per night for parking.”
 of 5 bubbles Kimau1, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay