We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (16)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Choice Privileges member rate available
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#177 of 360 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Hindi and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
366Reviews17Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 131
  • 84
  • 39
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
andy d wrote a review Feb 2024
Columbus, Ohio37 contributions23 helpful votes
Our biggest disappointment was the pool was not heated, making it essentially unusable during the winter. We booked here based on that claim that it was heated. Didn’t get an answer if it was a temporary problem, or was just outright listed incorrectly on booking. The hotel itself was just as described. 3.5 stars seems about right. Nice location about 15 min walk from Universal. We did get good service from staff, whe. Needed. Room was fine. The lock was broken, which troubled us a bit. Otherwise it worked well for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t book based on using the indoor pool, unless the weather is warm . The walk to universal is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Dear Guest, We apologize for the disappointment regarding the pool not being heated during your stay, especially if it was a factor in your decision to book with us. We understand how this can affect your overall experience, and we're sorry for any inconvenience it caused. We'll investigate the issue to ensure accurate information is provided to future guests. However, we're glad to hear that you found our hotel to be as described and that you received good service from our staff when needed. Your feedback about the broken lock is concerning, and we'll address this promptly to ensure the safety and security of our guests. We appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patrick C wrote a review Feb 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota102 contributions51 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is a nice hotel. A nice hotel in an awesome location. I don’t want to give anyone wrong impression by talking up this tilt’s location. This hotel is nice. It’s clean. The staff is professional. Rooms could be bigger but they’re roomy enough. Checkin: fine. Checkout: fine. Parking is funky. It might be more than you want to spend if this hotel was in a standard location. But… Tilt is in an awesome location! You’re close to Hollywood. You’re close to the hills. Close to the zoo. Close to the observatory. The neighborhood has all the shops, stores and restaurants you’d want. And… You are so close to universal. Like ridiculously close. Could you be closer. Sure. But you’d also pay more (for amenities you’re probably not using cause you’re doing tourist stuff). So, yeah price per proximity: I totally recommend staying at Tilt.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 5 Feb 2023
Hey Patrick, It is great to receive feedback from you regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you had a positive overall impression of your visit. We are glad that you liked our accommodation and the location and found our property clean, the rooms spacious, and the staff professional, and it's nice to read that you had a satisfactory check-in/check-out experience. We also hope your stay was relaxing and you had a good night's sleep at our property. Thank you for recommending the Tilt Hotel to prospective guests. This means a lot to us. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David E wrote a review Jan 2024
Los Angeles358 contributions115 helpful votes
GREAT GREAT GREAT We stayed in Jan 2024, and we would DEFINITELY stay again. We are a family with a toddler and the hotel felt VERY safe. The location was AMAZING. We could WALK to Universal Studios. Also, we could walk (but it was a bit long) to Miceli's and In-and-Out. It was clean. Staff was absolutely lovely. So happy with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: AS long as you don't mind a 20min walk you can walk to Universal Studios. The only real downside...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that your stay in January 2024 was great and that you felt the hotel was very safe for your family with a toddler. We're delighted that the location, within walking distance to Universal Studios, suited your needs perfectly. It's fantastic that you found the hotel clean and the staff lovely. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
natalia g wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
This hotel is low end. It’s hidden and it doesn’t have a family feel to it. They don’t have pictures of the outside of the hotel for a reason. We stayed 3 nights and no one came to change the sheets or to give us more towels until the 3rd night. We also got this strange call from the lobby while we were visiting Disney land saying if they can check our rooms to see if our lights worked… weird. Also the walls are very tin so we couldn’t get good sleep because people upstairs had kids running around. Not good if you need to rest for a full day in a theme park and come to the hotel tired.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Natalia, we sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay with us. We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations in several areas, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's concerning to hear about the issues you encountered with housekeeping services, as well as the unexpected call regarding the lights in your room. Rest assured, we will investigate these matters internally to ensure they are handled promptly and appropriately. We also understand the importance of a restful night's sleep, especially after a long day at a theme park. We apologize for any disturbances caused by noise from other guests and will look into ways to mitigate such issues in the future. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to improve and provide a better experience for our guests. We hope you might consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future better. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to reach out to our management team. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abigail B wrote a review Oct 2023
Memphis, Tennessee8 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent location close to Universal studios. Easy check in and super friendly hosts. We booked a family suite which was actually just adjoining rooms. The rooms smelled like they had been disinfected and were very clean and recently renovated. Starbucks across the street was a great breakfast option. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking charge $25/night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 16 Oct 2023
Dear guest, It's great to hear about your positive experience during your stay at the hotel near Universal Studios. Your feedback is valuable and appreciated. We're pleased to know that the location was convenient for your visit to Universal Studios and that the check-in process was easy with super-friendly hosts. It's also great that you found the family suite to be accommodating, clean, and recently renovated. The mention of the rooms smelling disinfected and clean is reassuring, as the comfort and cleanliness of our guests are a top priority for us. The Starbucks across the street being a good breakfast option is helpful for other travelers considering their dining choices. We're honored that you would not hesitate to stay here again if you were in the area. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in the future and providing another enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jessica G wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Stayed after a long night at Universal. So many issues. 1. The elevator was hit or miss for the doors to open. Had to push the door open button over and over for it to finally open most times. 2. The doors to the room were too small for the doorway and you could see in at the bottom and slightly around the edges. Had to put towels in front of the door to cover the opening. 3. We had a two room “suite”’ the main room had a window looking out into the HALLWAY. It had shutters on it that you had to make sure were closed perfectly or give the other guests a show. 4. NONE of the plugs in the room worked besides the one the alarm clock was plugged into. Every light has two “plugs” but do not hold the plug let alone hold power. 5. The sprinklers were falling out of the ceiling. Will never stay or recommend this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Hi Jessica, We're truly sorry to hear about the numerous issues you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is deeply concerning, and we apologize for falling short of your expectations. The problems you mentioned regarding the elevator, room doors, window, electrical outlets, and sprinklers are certainly not up to our standards, and we take these matters seriously. Rest assured, we will thoroughly investigate and address each of these issues to prevent such problems from recurring in the future. We understand your disappointment, and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We appreciate your feedback, which helps us improve our services, and we hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future to experience a more pleasant stay. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dan M wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions
The place was ok and the room nice. It was within walking distance of Universal so that was very positive. There was a good place to eat across the street. They said there was breakfast included which turned out to be a bar. The coffee was surprisingly good. The staff was nice. My big complaint was the fact that I may have left something in the room. I called since we were still in town and asked about it. A man called me back and easily could have said I did leave it or I didn't. He just said to call him back. I did at least 6 times and NO ONE ever returned my call. I thought it was very rude of them and I still can't figure out why they refused to return my call. All I wanted to know is if I left my sunglasses there. It was a simple question to answer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be beyond careful when checking out to make sure you left nothing in the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We're glad to hear that you found the location convenient for visiting Universal and that you enjoyed the nearby dining options. We apologize for the inconvenience and lack of communication regarding your inquiry about your sunglasses. This does not align with our usual level of service, and we're sorry for any frustration it caused. We will address this matter with our team to ensure that such issues are handled more effectively in the future. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate your understanding. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elaine M wrote a review Jul 2023
Seattle24 contributions3 helpful votes
There were 6 of us family members with adjoining rooms. We were quite pleased with the room. We were told breakfast was included, if you call snack bars breakfast. It was better than nothing. The coffee was good and juice was available. It was very close to Universal and a quick walk. There were a few restaurants nearby where the food was good. Here is where my problem comes in. I was so sure I hadn't left anything behind but once we got to Disneyworld I couldn't find my sunglasses in their case. I called the office and left a message as to whether the cleaning crew had found them and to please let me know. I received a call back from a gentleman there but instead of saying yes or no, his message was to call him back. Six or more calls later to them, no one ever answers or calls me back. I was and am very annoyed. Why couldn't he have said in his message he left whether they had found them or not. I could have gotten them back while still there. I find this very rude of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be VERY CAREFUL you don't leave anything behind because you will never get an answer as to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Heatherly, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to see that you were pleased with the room! However, I apologize for falling short of your expectations, and the communication issue has been addressed. I hope we can have the opportunity to provide you with a five star stay next time you are in the area!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HappyJana wrote a review May 2023
Las Vegas, Nevada839 contributions371 helpful votes
Sometimes hotels are walking distance but not walk friendly. The walk from The Tilt to Universal studios is safe and easy so you can save money over parking at the park. The customer service was above and beyond. There is a pool and free breakfast. I think we will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 11 May 2023
Hey Jana, Thank you for the positive rating. We appreciate it. We are glad that our hotel offered you a safe, easy walk to Universal Studios, and it feels great to know that our customer service impressed you. We also hope you enjoyed the pool and complimentary breakfast. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Momofautistic2 wrote a review Apr 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The hotel manager commented a felony by opening mail that was overnighted to me. I didn’t give him permission to open it and it wasn’t addressed to him either. Moreover it contained a credit card with my personal information and card information in it. He removed the credit card and papers and put them in a plain white letter envelope and tossed them in a desk drawer where his other employees had access and read it. I have to cancel several cards now bc of this. Considering everything from the blood stains on the broken curtains to the violation of personal civil rights to the jogger who was mugged on the street and told to leave bc the manager didn’t want the police there, it’s NOT a good place to stay. It’s also false advertising with regards to the 12-minute walk to Universal Studios. It’s 12 minutes through fast traffic and steep inclines to the BACK END of City Walk. You still have to walk almost another 20 minutes to the front entrance of the theme park. Save your money. Save yourself. Don’t stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay somewhere, ANYWHERE else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Los Angeles area.
PRICE RANGE
₹16,184 - ₹24,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express los angeles - universal city - cahuenga hotel los angeles, holiday inn los angeles, los angeles holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TILT HOTEL UNIVERSAL/HOLLYWOOD, ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION (Los Angeles) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Nearby attractions include Universal Studios Hollywood (1.2 km), iFLY Indoor Skydiving - Hollywood (1.0 km), and Universal CityWalk Hollywood (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., Voodoo Doughnut, and Joe's Falafel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, Thai, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greystone Mansion and Park (6.2 km), TCL Chinese Theatres (3.0 km), and Hollyhock House (5.9 km).
Is Tilt Hotel Universal/Hollywood, Ascend Hotel Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.