We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5170 W Adams Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90016-2728
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Linger Longer: Save up-to 30% off!
Booking.com
$307
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Expedia.com
$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Preferred Hotels
$245
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Hotels.com$276
Travelocity$276
Trip.com$325
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#165 of 410 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 48-room boutique hotel with an authentic approach to hospitality, Alsace delivers an unbuttoned experience in LA’s historic West Adams. Here, your day-to-day is infused with inspiring architecture, dreamy desert landscaping, a boutique fitness studio, and a courtyard oasis and pool for sunning, soul searching, and making a splash.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycles available
Bicycle tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Patio
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Linger Longer: Save up-to 30% off!

Location

Full view
Contact
5170 W Adams Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90016-2728
Getting there
Los Angeles Intl Airport11 kmSee all flights
Bob Hope Airport19 kmSee all flights
Expo/La BreaLos Angeles Metro Rail11 min
FarmdaleLos Angeles Metro Rail16 min
See all nearby hotels
33Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NicoleC wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
Everything was great until I checked out and they stated I took gummy bears from the amenities in the room, a complete lie and I am so irritated that I am not the only one that this has happened to by reading the other comments. I should have trusted my gut and took a picture of everything before I left. I made sure I didn’t touch anything, not even the stated “free waters”. So if you stay here just make sure you document everything before you leave or you will be charged for whatever they feel like charging you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jola F wrote a review Sep 2021
Los Angeles, California6 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We very much enjoyed our stay in this new boutique hotel. The room was wonderful, bed was very comfortable, and we loved the chic interior design. The amenities were great, and the staff was amazing. Excellent property with a beautiful courtyard, nice size pool and conveniently located close to downtown LA.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Brandon Clay, Guest Services / Front Office at Alsace LA
Responded 27 Sep 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us here at The Alsace LA. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We value all of our guest feedback. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great week.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin O wrote a review Oct 2022
Newcastle, Ontario, Canada25 contributions1 helpful vote
What a wonderful spot! Hotel is in excellent condition. All required amenities. Christina at the front desk was a miracle worker. Top notch customer service. Hotel is very eco-friendly. Bed was very comfortable. We were able to park on the street right out front of 5e hotel. Lots of food options in the area. Would recommend without any reservation….a very definite diamond in the rough.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John R, Public Relations Manager at Alsace LA
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Kevin! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel to be in excellent condition. We're also thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with Cristina at the front desk. We're glad to hear that you found our hotel to be eco-friendly. There are definitely a lot of great food options in the area and we're glad you were able to take advantage of them. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
csaetc wrote a review Oct 2022
santa fe, NM13 contributions
Everything is always as it should be at the Alsace! Warm and welcoming staff accomodating your every need. Clean, bright and serene in the heart of the city. Family or business trip, couldn’t ask more for a home away from home. Thank you EVERYONE at the AlsaceLA!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John R, Public Relations Manager at Alsace LA
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review, Carolyn! It's very pleasing to hear our staff took great care of you. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hardworking team. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and clean accommodations to our guests and we strive to go above and beyond expectations. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Thank you again for sharing your review and for staying at Alsace Hotel Los Angeles.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Losi wrote a review Aug 2022
Brooklyn, New York8 contributions2 helpful votes
I can’t begin to express my disappointment with my less than 2 hours at The Alsace. Why was it only two hours? Well, after experiencing what was a confusing (and slovenly) check in experience with surprise charges for amenities that were no where to be seen, we checked into a room that looked different from what was booked on the site. This stay was intended to be a milestone birthday trip where we spared no expense. Instead, we ended up in the Home Depot section of the hotel with plants and debris sharing a corner a with us. The room itself was chic even though some of the furniture not moving was weird. It was a gorgeous room but alas, it was not the room we booked. It was half of the room at best. When leaving we saw them cleaning the room that we thought ought to be ours and thought this may have been a mistake. Mistakes happen. However, when we went to the confusing (and slovenly) check in staff they were not able to tell us why we were in the existing room and not the room being cleaned. They summoned a manager who was not confusing or slovenly but was uninterested in helping to resolve this matter. There was no sense of urgency. There were lukewarm apologies and no real explanation of why we couldn’t move rooms. I assumed from their behavior, they didn’t want us there. They only offered us $30 off our room. I am from Los Angeles. I have no need to stay in mid city. I am from the area. I am so thrilled by the new and cool businesses in the area. I was sooooo excited to stay here. But this is clearly just a place for influencers to take photos and leave. Hospitality is not their ministry. So, as a result we left. We went to The Dream Hotel, which ironically was a dream. I waiting months to write this review because I was so astonished at the experience and needed time to write with a clear mind. But as I recall this repugnant experience I am as annoyed as the day I left this place. I would never come back here and recommend others avoid it if they can. Serious work needs to be done to address the attention to detail and overall hospitality. Avoid at all costs unless you want aesthetic photos. They have nerve charging what they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Not a luxury experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John R, Public Relations Manager at Alsace LA
Responded 26 Aug 2022
We appreciate the feedback, elosi424. It's unfortunate your experience with our hotel was less than ideal. We're disappointed you had such challenges with our team and that we the room you thought you booked was not the one you originally received. Your experience is not on par with the high-caliber service we're capable of providing so we'll be sure to discuss your review and feedback with our management team. Thank you again for the valuable feedback. We do hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariam Iqbal wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
I decided to stay here for our anniversary trip and it was literally the worst decision I made. I stayed between August 11-14, and I’ve spent so much time talking to their managers(specifically Christina and Conner) about their incorrect listing and fraudulent charges and I’m still wasting time after getting home. This newer hotel is clean and nicely made in an up and coming part of town, and the staff besides Christina and Conner are great, but the service received from Christina and Conner was just abysmal. They had free parking listed on their google page, I booked through a third party(Agoda) and that also mentioned parking included included in the price, but they didn’t want to honor that even though they pulled up both google and agoda on their computer and saw the same thing. They got super defensive and did not want to take ownership regarding their google page, and basically said that they ‘have no control over that’. They said that they’ll not charge me for night 1’s parking, but if I wanted to park for the rest of my stay they’d charge me. So night 2 I parked on the street a couple of blocks away. On day 3, Christina told me she spoke to the owner and they’ll honor free parking I was like ok, they rectified their mistake even though I dealt with poor service from them, they were not apologetic about it, and failed to mention this to me the day before. Oh, they were also very quick to change the google listing to show paid parking under their amenities as opposed to free parking like it was the day before. Somehow they gained control over that overnight? I have screenshot of everything below. After getting home the next day(today), I saw a new charge from the hotel. I ended up having to deal with Christina again over the phone and she told me it was for the minibar. I luckily took photos when I checked in, and also took photos when I checked out, but she insists that I consumed items even though the photos show time and date stamps and is again, not apologetic at all. How am I supposed to know what items are supposed to be there and in what quantity? I mentioned to her that I was able to check in early on the 11th since the room was ready, maybe housekeeping never got around to restocking from the previous guests but still implied that I was lying and that I consumed them. I told her I’ll dispute it with my credit card since it is a fraudulent charge and she said “that’s your choice”. EDIT: I just spoke to her again, and she told me since they took care of parking they expect me to honor the mini bar charges? And that she does not want to waste her time anymore and i should take it up my credit card company and hung up on me while i was mid sentence. I had asked for a photo with a timestamp of the minibar supposedly stocked before my check in because she said that the housekeeping manager has records of everything on an ipad. She could not provide me a timestamped photo like I did and has decided to just show how terrible of a manager she is, once again. I hope the owner of this hotel sees this review and takes proper action. Moral of the story, don’t stay here unless you feel like just spending money for no reason. I spent about $700 for 3 nights, not included the parking and minibar charges that are on my card too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jolene C wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I had a very unfortunate experience at the Alsace Hotel. I booked a Premiere King Patio room for my birthday weekend. When we arrived we found the front desk staff to be very disheveled. They let us know there would be an additional "amenities fee" which was odd. I was fine accepting it, but it was strange that they couldn't articulate what the fee was for beyond Nespresso pods which from my understanding were included in the room from the outset? We took our luggage to our room (there was no cart or assistance offered) and immediately I felt that something was off. It seemed like a room with some random furniture pieces. The patio was next to an area that seemed filled with discarded junk from around the hotel and there was zero shade which made it uncomfortable to sit outside. I looked at my email confirmation the room I booked and realized it was completely different. There was no seating area, mini fridge, sofa, etc. It was truly half the room that I had booked. When walking to the front desk to address this I saw them cleaning the room next door which looked like the actual room I booked. The manager on duty first tried to tell me she heard I wanted "a room with a couch" which um yeah I'd like the room I paid for. She then acknowledged that they put me in one of the "smaller Premiere King Patio" rooms which was absurd because it was nothing like the room I booked. They later took a small bit of accountability, offering to move me to the room I paid for the next day and $100 off the total price which was laughable. Given that it was a 2 day trip, and I paid for the most deluxe room and was being asked to stay in a random junk room after being gaslit by the staff, this was a really unappealing offer. We decided to leave. This place wants to position itself as a higher end boutique hotel, but it's just not there yet. The hospitality, service, and overall experience was severely lacking. We got a suite at the Dream Hotel for around the same price and were treated wonderfully. I would not patronize the Alsace Hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John R, Public Relations Manager at Alsace LA
Responded 24 Aug 2022
We appreciate the feedback, 156jolenec. We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that our team did not go above and beyond to accommodate you and fulfill all of your needs. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our management team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meg wrote a review May 2022
Hermosa Beach, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
a gem!! we were a little skeptical because of the area, but it's up and coming and this hotel itself is BEAUTIFULLY done, it's soooo cute, it actually aligned with the photos we saw online - our room was ready when we arrived, clean, and comfy bed! we only stayed for 1 quick night so we didn't get to check out the pool and other amenities, but would definitely come back. the best part of this place, without a doubt, is the staff - even the valet guys, but especially Donald - one of the managers. He welcomed us with the biggest smile, gave us tips for getting around the city, was attentive to our needs and had the best attitude - so helpful and kind. pleasantly surprised and so happy to have found this gem of hospitality/service when others have really gone downhill with customer service since covid. 10/10 would recommend :) - The Straubel's
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Donald Collins, Guest Services / Front Office at Alsace LA
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. And I am very happy that you had a great time. We hope you come back to visit us soon and stay a little longer. Regards Donald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CascadesRanger wrote a review May 2022
Grants Pass, Oregon78 contributions53 helpful votes
We stayed at this property to attend the USC graduation which is only a few miles away. Unfortunately, there are better choices in the area at much better value. Pros: • Staff seemed friendly and attentive with one exception (noted below). • The property is quite new, so furnishings, fixtures and equipment are in great condition. • The property is in a neighborhood that is trying to reinvigorate itself. There are a few nice restaurants nearby. • Secured parking garage on site • All common areas and rooms were extremely clean. • We ordered take out and the restaurant forgot utensils. The front desk provided some nice disposable utensil sets. Cons: • It is billed as a “boutique” hotel, but it represents a poor value for the rates charged. I’ve stayed in the Waldorf-Astoria on the Bund in Shanghai, the Rosewood in Beijing, and hotels throughout Europe for far less and received much more spacious and well-appointed accommodations. • The room we had was terribly small, as small as any I have rented for ¼ the price. • The refrigerator just large enough to hold a few of the overpriced in room sodas and there was no microwave so all the leftovers from the great nearby Mediterranean restaurant had to be discarded. • There was no closet to hang clothes but only a small rack. • The key cards issues didn’t work in the elevator. We had to return to the desk and get the agent to re-activate the keys for us. They still didn’t work. Then upon arrival at the room the keys would not open the door. Another trip back down to the front desk. • There was no place to put luggage or even open it except for on the bed (which is a not a good idea as to sanitation or bed bugs. (TO BE CLEAR THERE WERE NO BED BUGS AT THE PROPERTY). They need to provide a collapsible luggage stand. • The fixtures and design of the room tried to be “trendy and modern” but the effect was non-functional. Small button or round tabs on which to hang clothing instead of hooks. • The bedside nightstands are extremely small and poorly designed. We broke two glasses by setting them too close to the rounded edges of the stands. • There was a nice interior courtyard with tables and space heaters. The evening was quite cool so we asked the front desk agent if we could have one of the heaters lit so we could eat outside, as there is absolutely no room to eat in the room. He replied that he couldn’t light them for us. • Street parking is available but sketchy. The parking garage is expensive. • In addition to the pricey room rates the hotel had the audacity to add a $15 amenity charge. • The bathroom was small but well finished but due to the extremely cramped size of the room the door had to slide rather than swing in or out. It didn’t provide a completely closed door for privacy. • The beds were too firm, and the linens were not soft and comfortable. • The complimentary morning service near the front desk consisted of lower quality baked goods, put out one or two at a time, and coffee. No tea, juice or even water that I could see There are so many other quality properties between LAX and the USC campus that I cannot recommend this as a great alternative, especially for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you can afford it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Eesen wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I was visiting LA for work and stayed at Alsace LA for 4 days and absolutely loved my stay. Service was fantastic, the staff is so friendly (can't remember the gentleman's name but both him and Nancy were great!), and I had a very restful time. The bed was comfy, the room was cleaned well, and the gym / fitness center is pretty good! It has dumbbells, a bike, treadmill, rowing machine, kettle bells, yoga mats, and another machine. Very convenient garage parking too. Highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$255 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alsace Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesWest Adams
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALSACE LA (Los Angeles) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Alsace LA
Which popular attractions are close to Alsace LA?
Nearby attractions include The High Note Culver City (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alsace LA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Alsace LA?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Alsace LA?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea, free instant coffee, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Alsace LA?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alsace LA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Delicious Pizza, Honey Bee's House of Breakfast, and Alta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alsace LA?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alsace LA?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Alsace LA?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alsace LA?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Alsace LA?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greystone Mansion and Park (7.8 km), TCL Chinese Theatres (7.8 km), and Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum (6.6 km).
<