We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel

22617 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91364-1416
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (77)
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (160)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#148 of 408 in Los Angeles
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Woodland Hills. Perfectly positioned in the southwestern part of the San Fernando Valley, our hotel is close to Universal Studios California, Malibu beaches, Santa Monica, Warner Center Business Park and other area businesses which ensures convenience for both business and leisure guests.With Pepperdine University, CSUN, Pierce College and Loyola Marymount University also nearby, our property is ideal for those visiting family and friends or attending special events at these high education institutions. Being located on Ventura Blvd, allows our guest to walk to an array of diverse restaurants including Indian, French, Argentine, and Italian cuisines. .Visit the Westfiled Topanga Mall or take a beautiful drive on Malibu Canyon Road to beautiful Malibu to make the most of your stay with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Car park
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
234Reviews3Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 95
  • 46
  • 19
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sohail R wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Worst hotel experience ever. I arrived 3pm at check-in time and had to wait 30 minutes to get a room. they did not have a room available. So we waited 30 minutes for them to clean the room. And when we got into the room the bed sheets and the comforter were stained. We asked for housekeeping to come and change the sheets as they were stained. However after waiting another 30 minutes no one came to clean the room. As the room wasn’t clean we requested a refund as IHG has a clean promise. However, they refuse to refund my money. They said “the manager is not here”. While clearly there a manager was in the other room. The check-in lady had no idea what she was doing as she was new to her job. Would never ever book with them. Please stay somewhere else. They blatantly lie to our faces. Avoid them like the plague 🤧.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Please avoid at all cost
See more room tips
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Hi Sohail R, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience and it seems that we've missed the mark. I'm sorry to hear about the delayed check-in, the cleanliness issues with the room, and the quality of service received in addressing this let you down. What you described isn't the experience we want you to have or to any guests. I shared this with our hotel management. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken, so situations as this will not happen again. I also sent you a private message discussing this matter. We're grateful to have you as one of our valued guests. We look forward to hosting your stay again and show that the unsatisfactory part of your visit was an exception! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Discriminating1 wrote a review Oct 2021
Cambria69 contributions33 helpful votes
Our experience here was unlike any we have experienced with Holiday Inn Express in 20 years! First, it is very difficult to find the entrance while driving (our GPS took us to a Wendy's parking lot and after winding around and going back out onto the street we finally found the entry for the underground parking and check in. Better signage would have helped. Check in was fine, however, they required that $50 must be charged on our credit card before staying in our room, and then it would be refunded upon checking out. Granted this is the first traveling we've done since the Pandemic started, so possibly rules may have changed. It made us feel like this was the wrong hotel for us right away if clientele are so sketchy. The money was refunded at checkout. When getting into our room (we were extremely tired (our visit was for medical tests) and had driven a long distance. First there was 1 hand towell for 2 if us, no washcloths and only 1 soap for the bathroom (no shower soap). there was no decaf coffee stocked at the coffee area and lastly there was not one tissue in the kleenex box. And lastly, when did hotels do away with telephones in rooms? This was discovered when we tried to call the desk for the items we were missing. Thus, in case there was an emergency in your room you better have a phone and the hotels phone number on your phone. Although I could get the phone number, we decided we better go back down to the desk and ask for the items missing that we needed as we had no confidence they would ever get them to us. Also, we had asked for 2 waters at the desk and he said we didn't qualify, although we had built up quite a few points prior to pandemic we had no activity for over a year and a half. However, we have never been refused a water at any HI Express in 20+ years. Although we didn't complain the desk clerk started to offer us water out of the machine, when he realized they were out of water too. Lastly, he didn't have any Kleenex as their shipment hadn't arrived, we could understand that happening (but a trip to the store to get some maybe would seem to be good business practice in emergencies for any business) We are understanding people but this made us question HI Express for the future and definitely wouldn't ever stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We won't be staying here again.
See more room tips
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving us a review. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered with parking, the service provided by our staff, the request for water, and the limited in-room amenities. I also understand your concern about the $50 incidental hold. I am glad that it was refunded after you checked out. We want to ensure our guests always have a comfortable and seamless stay. I appreciate your time to let us know about your experience. I have shared your comments with hotel management, and I trust that they will address the entire team to discuss necessary improvements. I hope you will give us another try, the next time you're in the area! Safe travels, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
lagunanina wrote a review Sep 2019
Laguna Niguel, California49 contributions24 helpful votes
I am surprised about the good reviews for this Holiday Inn Express! Such an old hotel! Supposedly they are renovating, but we certainly were put in a room that was not! Mold all over the bathroom outside the shower and inside. A toilet with a toilet paper holder that you could not possibly reach without standing up, a chair in front of the bathroom that had to be moved every time we went in. (See photos below). A dark, dreary room outside in front of their small, narrow pool, with people shouting in the pool until late at night. Not enough lighting, no updated plugs for cell phones, tablets, etc. Old furniture and curtains on the windows that looked like they were hung in the 1950’s. Very disappointing and not up to speed with other Holiday Inn Expresses that we have stayed. We learned a lesson...look at the room first before staying! The woman handling the breakfast room was rude. They were out of pancake mix, and when I let her know, she said it was 10 minutes before closing, so she wasn’t going to refill the machine. Then she proceeded to collect all of the remaining food and turn off all warmers, toasters, etc. 10 minutes early. We were very happy to leave here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from JeffHIE_WoodlandHill, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Hi Mr. lagunanina, I did want to confirm that we are going through renovation. We have started on the top floor and are working our way down. We can unfortunately only doing a handful of rooms at a time, and I do hope you understand. Some of the issues you mentioned, like the lighting and the chair are being taken care of with the renovation. We have listened to the comments we have received before and are striving to make everything better and more modern. There will be USB outlets near the bed and the desk, more lighting throughout the room itself and a better layout of where the desk and chair are. As far as breakfast we do apologize in regards to our host. We will definitely have a meeting with her to discuss this and work on it. Thank you for your review.
Read more
MustLoveShepherds wrote a review Jul 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada39 contributions23 helpful votes
Jessica was very nice. Enjoyed speaking with her. Very good breakfast. Loved having a hot breakfast every morning before heading out for our day out. Variety of breakfast choices. Would stay again next time we are in town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from JeffHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with us as we appreciate all feedback given. We are glad to hear the Jessica was pleasant and you had a good time. We are also happy to hear that the breakfast was good for you every morning. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Read more
jp_alvarez wrote a review Jun 2019
Chicago, Illinois21 contributions13 helpful votes
Driving through and needed place to stay near 101. Check in was smooth. Ended up giving me a handicap accessible room since he said it was the only room left. It was on first floor right near pool and courtyard. There were at least 6 young guys sitting around a table talking and drinking it was after 10pm, so I thought that might be a problem but I just turned up ac fan in room and I couldn’t hear any noise after that. Carpet in room a little dirty looking but everything else seemed clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable so that was a plus! I’d consider staying here again if I was passing through.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
Response from JeffreyH2167, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jun 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with us as we appreciate all feedback. We are glad you had a good stay and that the bed and pillows were comfortable. We will take a look at the carpet and do a deep cleaning on it. We hope to see you again.
Read more
11israelv wrote a review Feb 2019
Tel Aviv, Israel3 contributions
I stayed 2 separated nights in the hotel. The rooms are very clean and cofortable. The bathroom as well, even though the stream from the shower head was not that good. The breakfast was nice. not more. not much of a variety. The price seems to me overpriced (about 200$ per singe room a night). All in all, definitely good convenient hotel, but if one is just passing through, there is no doubt there are less expensive options.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled
Destiny661 wrote a review Jan 2019
Los Angeles, California5 contributions2 helpful votes
My stay here was brief only 2 days. I did appreciate that they had free breakfast in the morning and a Wendy’s next door which was convenient. The room was clean and the housekeepers were respectful. My only problem is the manager , I believe her name was geeta or keeta, she was an Indian woman who is said to be the new GM. The woman is very rude and seems bitter . Will not come back because of that .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled
Craig-World-Travelle wrote a review Nov 2018
Agoura Hills, California1836 contributions550 helpful votes
Stayed here one night during evacuation from the Woolsey Fire. It was nice to get into room at noon as I had been up all night. Room was quite and comfortable and I slept great. Room is next to several places to eat. Free inside parking. Free breakfast was typical for this type of hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Price was reasonable even though I booked the same day and they were close to being sold out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled
Response from JeffreyH2167, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express in Woodland Hills. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. My team goes above and beyond for every guest. If you happen to be in the area again, please do reach out to us so we can be of service again. Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at 818 222 2299 or geeta@hiewoodlandhills.com. Sincerely, Geeta Kumar General Manager 8182222299 geeta@hiewoodlandhills.com
Read more
fcravo wrote a review Sep 2018
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts1 contribution
Service: All of the staff was very friendly from the front desk to the lady who tended the breakfast area. Location: Right on Ventura Blvd. Plenty of parking on-site with an underground garage. There is no fee for parking there. There is a Mexican restaurant right across the street and a Wendy's right next door. Other than that, not much to walk to. It took us just under an hour from LAX to get there through the traffic. Amenities: They offer a continental breakfast which is included with the stay. The breakfast has all of your basic continental breakfast items: oatmeal, fruit, muffins, pastries, etc. There is a pool on site but its pretty small, there wasn't many outdoor chairs to hang out by the pool. The Room: We stayed in the King double room suite. There was a small wet bar with a dorm style fridge. The room itself was spacious enough but in general, everything looked worn down. Drawers were broken and the wallpaper needs replacing. The beds were comfortable enough but the mattress needed to be replaced. The furniture was just worn and looked heavily used. The TV was unplugged when we got to the room which was just kind of odd. We had an issue with a roach in the bathroom and they took care of it right away but that just got us feeling like the place was mediocre. In the end, the lesson here is you get what you pay for. We were on a trip visiting family who lived locally and really just needed a place to sleep. Looking back, it was nice to have the two rooms with the kids but the room itself just had an worn out feel to it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel building. They have rooms that accessed from outside by the pool if you...
See more room tips
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2018
Hi fcravo, Thank you for choosing us on your family trip. While I am glad to know that you appreciated our staff, parking, and our location, I was also concerned that you were not impressed with our pool, room, and mattress among the others. Sorry for any inconvenience you might have experienced and sorry for the roach in the bathroom as well. This should not be the case as we only want you to have a memorable experience with us. I'll let our team know about your concerns for our improvements. Your honest feedback means a lot to us and we hope to get another chance to provide you a better stay next time. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
ChurchofBillMurray wrote a review Sep 2018
Ube, Japan52 contributions50 helpful votes
Look I do not expect amazing things at a Holiday Inn express. Really. You know what you're getting. A clean bed. Cold AC. Free bacon in the morning. The basics. And you won't get charged a ton for it. Or, in my case, you're going to pay for it on points and that won't be that much. Well this one failed the basics test. Let's start with the few good things. The common furniture seems pretty new as does the carpet and the room furnishings. It's not worn the way that some others can be occasionally. The bed was fine and the sheets were clean. And the bathroom seemed well maintained with plenty of towels. And that's where the good stops. Here's the bad. It started with the check-in. I'm platinum elite at IHG but usually that good for an upgrade or a free bottle of water. Or at least an acknowledgement when you get there. Nothing. I asked for a late checkout which I usually get with IHG. He said I'd have to wake up early and ask the morning shift. I said that would defeat the purpose of getting a late checkout to sleep in a little bit. He said he couldn't help me. Didn't matter. I wasn't going to sleep anyway. The AC in my room was a wall mounted one that sounded like someone was starting a tractor. Loud groaning startup, a kick when it hit and then this rumble. So okay, it's an older AC without a thermostat. It's going to be noisy. But that's fine with me. As long as it's CONSTANT noisy. If it's constant you can at least tune it out. Yeah not so fast. This one kicked on and off all night as it tried to adjust to the room temperature. Which meant ever 30 minutes this thing would rumble on and off and keep me up. It was just not good. So in that case I go to earplugs. I plug my phone into the lamp sockets and sleep next to it so I can hear the alarm and not accidentally sleep til noon. Nope. Both the lamp sockets were loose from use and wouldn't charge my phone. One also had a bulb out. Cut to me afraid to put in my earplugs for fear of oversleeping and not getting much sleep at all. I get up early in the morning because I can't sleep. I go down for coffee and bacon. That'll put things right. No bacon. This Holiday Inn express - as I would later learn - only does sausage OR bacon. Never both in the same breakfast buffet. Which is what EVERY OTHER HIE DOES. Anyway I checked out, I told all this to the checkout clerk. She offered to throw me 5K points for my bad experience. This after I paid 25K and 50 bucks for a night of no benefits, no bacon and bad sleep. I told her to keep it. Next time I'm going to the Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys. At least there you get a thermostat and bacon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: All the AC's are loud. Don't try to get one that's quieter. It's a lost cause.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Sep 2018
Hi there, ChurchofBillMurray! I came across your review, and while I'm happy you found our beds and sheets clean, I'm disappointed to see that your stay didn't go well because of the unsatisfactory service you received, AC noise and limited breakfast selection. I get your sentiments and I'm sorry. What you described certainly isn't what we want for our guests. I've noted your feedback and shared this with the hotel. They will make sure that actions will be taken so this does not happen again. Thanks for being a Platinum Elite member and for choosing to stay with us. We would like to make it up to you, so when you visit the area again, I hope you give us another try. Regards, Joel A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
$185 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn express hotel and suites woodland hills
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesWoodland Hills
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Psychic Solutions (0.1 km), Juniper and Lane (0.3 km), and Native Spirit Lodge (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anarbagh Indian Cuisine, Leo & Lily, and Brandywine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodland Hills, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Will Rogers State Historic Park (15.9 km), Nike Missile Control Site (12.1 km), and The Oakridge Estate (12.2 km).