We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tides Laguna Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Tides Laguna Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 407: English reviews
Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I want everyone to know that I look for the best in every situation and have never posted a negative review, but I feel obligated to share this with others. We were looking for a boutique hotel in Laguna Beach and chose The Tides based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was a poor decision. I'm wondering who writes these reviews? The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katesol
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Hi Katesol, Thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback on your recent visit to The Tides. To answer your question, the reviews posted on TripAdvisor are from verified guests that have stayed with us, the same way you wrote your review. You booked your room last minute on a very busy Martin Luther King Jr....

Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Tides is an older motel located in north Laguna Beach. Our first night we had a room right on the street which we found dark and damp however we were moved to a nicer room the rest of our stay. I believe it was room 108 which is close to the heated salt water pool. The staff are excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy D
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us Cathy and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback :) We hope to be able to host you and your family again!

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful oasis in this wonderful oasis in California. The staff were delightful and the accommodation was perfect. Our two rooms formed a suite and we were most impressed with the facilities provided. The pool and outside seating area with gas-fire provided a lovely relaxing and entertaining area only 5 mins walk to Main beach past numerous restaurants that meant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 80jamie
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback, it means a lot to us :) It was a pleasure meeting you and your wonderful family. We're so happy that you enjoyed our spacious pool area and convenient location. We hope to be able to host you again in the future :)

san francisco
Reviewed 10 November 2016

It's dog friendly, LOVE IT! I sure will return here again. The swimming pool, the bbq area, the fire place was a cozy space to lounge around outdoors. Plus the pool is heated, thumbs up! The room was charming, it was clean considering they allow dogs. They also provide post cards, amazing! I took 12 cards and mailed it to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank isis1076
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We're so happy you enjoyed your room, the heated salt water pool, fireplace and BBQ area. One of the things that guests love about our property is that we offer complimentary parking and are just a short walk to Heisler Park and downtown...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Accommodation in Laguna Beach is expensive and I think Tides offers good value for money. The room booked was small and dingy - no window in bedroom area. When we asked if we could up grade to a larger room the staff could not have been more helpful. We stayed in 2 different rooms both were spacious well decorated and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gin-Ginnie
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Hello Gin-Ginnie! Thanks so much for your candid review. We're so happy that we were able to accommodate you during your visit to beautiful Laguna Beach and glad you had a wonderful time. We hope to be able to host you again in the future :)

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I was given a room with two beds a little kitchen and a sitting area outside. Fabulous! I felt very safe there. Anderson and Stephanie were unbelievably helpful. My phone got wet yep...in the ocean. I was under stress anyway, by the end of my stay in felt much better. The bed was very comfortable! I walked everywhere. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you finally got to relax towards the end of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you had a wonderful rest of your Southern California trip and hope to see you again! :)

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

This was everything I hoped it would be & more! Last time we visited Laguna we stayed in a pricier hotel further down the coast but The Tides was a much better experience! Everything was perfect; location location location especially! 5 min walk to Heisler Park and the beach which were beautiful, especially at sunset. Shops and restaurants all within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellybroome
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and kind words Kelly! It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay and have fallen in love with Laguna even more. We hope you have a great rest of your trip and hope to see you again :)

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

After spending a lot of time in motels travelling the US, Laguna beach is our last stop before we go so we decided to spend a little more of our budget to stay here and I'm glad we did! Lovely little pool area that rarely gets busy - we had it to ourselves the whole day one day. There's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim1989UK
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

We're so glad you stayed with us also and that you enjoyed our location and value :) We hope to see you again!

Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I used to stay at another hotel, right across the street, that is way more expensive. I am happy I changed to The Tides, where personnel is exceptionally kind and of service and where one has comfortable, albeit older looking, rooms and free parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChefLuigiBo
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Thanks so much for choosing The Tides and for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again :)

Arizona
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The Tides is a very clean well maintained motel at the North end of Laguna Beach. Close enough to restuarants and night clubs without all the noise. For the young people it is only a hop skip and jump to the beach. There is free bus service between 11AM and 11PM to get you around the main street in town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMKennedy
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Tides. We're glad you were able to relax and enjoy our property and convenient location. We hope to see you again in the future :)

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (428)
Viewed
Room 103 (36)
Viewed
Room 105 (38)
Viewed
Room 108 (30)
Viewed
Room 202 (84)
Viewed
Room 203 (27)
Viewed
Room 205 (37)
Viewed
Room 206 (30)
Viewed
Room 209 (45)
Viewed
Room 214 (33)
Viewed
Salt Water Pool (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.0 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
264 reviews
2.2 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
672 reviews
1.0 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
396 reviews
3.4 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Price Range: ₹ 9,145 - ₹ 16,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tides Laguna Beach staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Tides Laguna Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the main level are close to pool and BBQ however you will get noise from rooms upstairs. Do not book the rooms on the roadway.”
 of 5 bubbles 987cathyd, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on second floor had best views”
 of 5 bubbles 80jamie, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“first floor closer to inner parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles isis1076, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we stayed on bottom floor in the corner but they do have second floor rooms that would give you an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles Butters121, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Call hotel directly to check if you have a noisy room. Avoid rooms 101, 102, 201 and 202 which is right on Pacific Coast Hwy.”
  • PCH, sidewalk, then my dark room entry area.
  • Old appliance. Corrosion or grease stating on refrigerator side.
  • Earplugs provided by hotel for noisy rooms!
 of 5 bubbles arnoldt771, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay