We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Start your review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
 Click to rate
Redlands, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I never book hotels through discount websites and now I know why. They give you the worst room they have! First of all, you have to pay $30 for the hotel's valet service because finding metered parking is almost impossible on the street. Then, you have to keep putting more money in the meter to keep your car there overnight....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tia W
Alex Y, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

We want our rooms to be consistently up to our standards, Tia, regardless who you book through or which room you get. I'll make sure to look into each of the comments you laid out here to see if there are some upgrades to the room that we need to consider. I'm sorry you weren't as happy with your visit...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed one night to attend a wedding in town. Clean room with Keurig inside. We booked a village view so we looked out at Pacific Coast Highway. As others have mentioned the walls are a bit thin, but overall for the price it was a good value. Front desk staff were very helpful and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chickenmadtravel
Alex Y, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad we got to have you for that wedding weekend! I hope you guys enjoyed yourselves when you were here in Laguna Beach. Next time you venture this way, you know where to find us! Best, Alex Yi, Assistant General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for one night and spent most of that with friends away from the hotel so my review can only cover what we managed to experience. 1. Location - right in the heart of Laguna beach with lots of restaurants and shops close by. The hotel is on the main coastal road going through the town and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R9usl
Alex Y, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad that you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Laguna Beach. It's hard not to love this place, if you ask us! It's great that you found your stay with us to be comfortable both in terms of service and your room. As far as parking goes, we ultimately want you to have a choice other than street...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked on Hotels.com was expecting something completely different.... Our room faced PCH(no where close to the ocean) We didn't sleep because the traffic noise was so loud, the walls were so thin we could hear everything that went on next door. The Hotel was clean and does have nicer rooms closer to the beach. If you are going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
Alex Y, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

Of course we want our guests to be clear on the rooms they'll be staying in, Tanya, so I'm really sorry if yours wasn't what you were expecting. We have several different options so that our guests have the ability to choose which room works best for them, but I'm confident we'll be able to find a room that's more...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You need to stay here if you travel to Laguna Beach! We visited for a week to see both friends and family - the #1 must was having a hotel with ocean views. Wow! Honestly, the room was right on the beach and when it was high tide the balcony was literally over the ocean. However the beautiful view was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurel A
Alex Y, Owner at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, Laurel, it's hard to know where to begin here -- this feedback is so detailed! I know fellow travelers will appreciate it just as much as I did, so I can't thank you enough for taking the time to let us know how you guys enjoyed your stay here. From those views to the consistently helpful and friendly service,...

Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Pacific Suite for 6 nights in Dec/Jan. We also rented a beachfront king and a beachfront 2 Queens. We had stayed last year in the same rooms as well. Nancy Sperling took care of all of the reservations and was always very nice and very professional. A week before our arrival I gave her the names...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vbev
Alex Y, Owner at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

No one on the staff would ever intend to come off as anything other than polite and courteous, so I truly apologize that didn't come across for you. There are certain processes especially with credit cards that we keep in place for the safety of that credit card holder and us as a business. Taking a credit card number and...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Im not the kind of person who would usually complain but this place was unbelievable. I booked through Expedia and felt scammed as the Expedia photos show their beach front location. Unfortunately there's more buildings than that, and my room was a few blocks from the ocean facing the costal highway. Sound proofing was literally non existent. Traffic can be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JudyJones21
Alex Y, Owner at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

Judy, we would never intentionally mislead our guests, so I'm really sorry that you weren't clear on which room you were booking. The room you were in was only a building away from the ocean, but try the oceanfront rooms next time. As far as the room itself goes, I apologize for any excessive noise. That's good feedback to have,...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with a Groupon and we didn't know what to expect. The room is big and the balcony over hangs the beach. During high tide the waves crash within 5 feet of the building. You cannot beat the view. The hotel has a private stairwell from our building to the beach. All of our encounters with personnel( valet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
Alex Y, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

We think that those views sure do make waking up a pretty pleasant experience, Stephanie, and we're glad you feel the same way. I can't wait to see you guys back again next time -- make sure it's sooner rather than later! Alex Yi, Assistant General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Pacific Edge 2 years ago and enjoyed it very much, so booked it again this trip for 4 nights. However, the first room we were given did not have any table or desk (or anything that could be used for it) nor any chairs. The only place to sit was on the bed. The next day we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spwin
Alex Y, Owner at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry about the inconvenience of your first night, but I'm glad our team worked together to find you a different room to accommodate your needs. Thanks for being great guests and thanks for coming back to enjoy Laguna Beach. We hope to see you again. Take care, Alex Yi, Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in february 2017. We enjoyed our stay, here is a few plus and minuses. Comfy beds, great view overlooking the ocean! The hotel is right next to a road with alot of traffic. Right outside our room there where a strong smell of cat piss, fortunately the smell stayed out there and didn't reach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mersina K
Alex Y, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that, despite a few minuses, you guys enjoyed your stay overall, Mersina. It's great that our beach, beds, and bar area were enough to offset some of those other issues you had, but I hope you know we would have gladly looked for another room for you had we known there was a smell issue with...

954 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (697)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (33)
Viewed
Double Full Room (19)
Viewed
King Surf Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Village View Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.0 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
332 reviews
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
697 reviews
1.3 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
412 reviews
2.1 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,053 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,242 - ₹ 27,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you must go to this hotel ask for a quiet room with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles 240tiaw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is great!”
 of 5 bubbles R9usl, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't book a room facing PCH”
 of 5 bubbles tanyas172, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Skip this place and get a room at Surf & Sand for a little less than the Pacific Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles vbev, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would choose the Reef Building if noise bothers you, as the other building is near the restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles chriskitten8, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5