We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

HIExpress.comUS$ 144*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We reserved 2 rooms for 2 days in early July (the busy season). Our travel plans got us in early and we tried to check-in at 12:00pm (check-in is 4pm). They tried to accomodate us, but due to the busy season no rooms were available. However, the desk clerk indicated if we went to lunch we could call after and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Jake, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience. It’s not always easy to accommodate early arrivals this time of year but we try hard. I am happy to hear that we were able to do so for you. I’ve shared your comments regarding the high dust with...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our journey from Napa down the coast to San Diego. All of our accommodations were fabulous with the exception of The Holiday Inn. It was noisy, bed/pillows were uncomfortable, could not get an iron for 24 hours, and just not worth the exorbitant amount of money. The staff was super friendly and helpful when we encountered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clallie
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Clallie, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla and for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed our awesome front desk staff. It seems that we have the friendly and helpful skills, but are failing to consistently follow through and ensure satisfaction and comfort. Please accept my apology for your disappointing...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Best location in La Jolla. Park your car, unpack, and you can walk pretty much anywhere - nothing much is more than a mile or so away, including PB to the south. Two blocks down from La Jolla Blvd is Windansea - which is a consistently great beach for surfers. I prefer to go down to PB and rent a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff and Carol N
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Jeff and Carol, Thank you for the great review and recommendation. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us on your recent visit. We look forward to your return. Best regards, Larry Clark

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I are enjoying our stay here very much. It is an intimate setting close to the beach, with a comfortable courtyard pool area and nice rooms. A great location and the staff is great. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jazzmaster55
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Jazzmaster, It was our pleasure. I am sorry I missed you two this morning. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. Larry

Frisco, texas
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The property was average; motel style. The room smelt a little musty, and could have used replacement of the carpets. Breakfast was nice as was the pool are. Close to the ocean. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and very helpful; made up for the deficiencies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alikarim
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Alikarim, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit. I am delighted that you found our desk staff friendly and very helpful and the breakfast and pool nice. We have almost completed replacing the carpet in all our guest rooms. We have 4 remaining and I am very sorry we did not complete the project prior to...

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I'll make this short. Close to an pretty but little-used beach. Good breakfast. Very adequate rooms. Ask for a room away from road since its quite noisy. Some have to park in adjacent alley - not safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HammockSwinger
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear HammockSwinger, Thank you for staying with us and for the kind review. It is a little dark during the evening on Electric Avenue (the small street behind the hotel). However, we have ample extra parking available outside the lobby. I am sorry we did not make you aware of this availability. We look forward to seeing you on your...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Clean and near the beach. I was disappointed in the accommodations with a soggy carpet leading into the bathroom and "dingy" overall feel. Pool area is nice except a big sign on doors about people who have had diarrhea in the past 14 days are not to use the pool? Really? Won't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smayberry2013
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Smayberry, I know! But, it reminds everyone one that they are using a public pool and it is required by County of San Diego, Department of Health. So, we’ll have to put up with the signs. However, Yuck!, soggy carpet and “dingy feeling”…that is something you never have to put up with. I am very sorry. Please give me...

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here overnight in earl July. The extra gravel parking lot was needed due to a large truck we were driving. The front office staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and ready for our stay. The shower had a little bit of a funky smell to it-- I think it was the ocean smell. But everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m m
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear m m, Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Our extra lot is very convenient for large trucks and busses. I hope you will be able to enjoy the pool and breakfast on your next visit. We hope too see you soon. Best regards, Larry Clark

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I just stayed here for the long fourth of July weekend, and was generally happy. I mean, it is a Holiday Inn Express so my expectations were not super high, but I will stay here again when I travel to La Jolla. I have stayed at the Travelodge across the street several times and this is certainly a superior hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merry617
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Merry 617, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for over the July 4th weekend. What a tremendous weekend to be in La Jolla. We are very glad that you enjoyed our location, value, room size and amenities (refrigerator and microwave). Please accept my apology for the unnecessary trips to the front desk to secure room keys. I...

California
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The beds were comfortable. But I wish they had an offering with a king-size bed. The breakfast is very respectable. Hot tub nice. Pool clean. We were visiting family in Birdrock, and this hotel is just a few blocks from everything in Birdrock. We had rented a vacation home nearby once, but they can be expensive unless you have lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salconn
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Salconn, Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting your family and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast, location, pool and hot tub. We are very happy that you were able to get a good night sleep in our comfortable beds even though we don’t offer your...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
820 reviews
1.8 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
789 reviews
2.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
849 reviews
2.0 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
2.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Price Range: ₹ 10,723 - ₹ 20,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked two rooms. One was on the first level, street side, and one overlooking pool, which we preferred.”
U5709VCjimb, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay near pool if you have kids, if you want quiet, don't stay in these rooms”
m_k759, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room around the pool. Seems to be quieter there.”
newyorker1953, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't think you want to be on the "ocean side" that puts you next to a very busy street.”
MannyLiestold, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if you do not have to stay in la jolla you'll save $$$$”
BoyntonBeachSteve, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$ 144* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 211
Hotels.comUS$ 145
Hotwire.comUS$ 145
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates